Home » Basic » The End in the End (12×12)

The End in the End (12×12)

end.jpg

Booth’s face = me right now

 

Well guys, this is it. The end in the end. The culmination of a dozen years of bones, crimes, murders, explosions, tumors, squinterns, and the crazy crazy fans who helped keep this ship afloat for so long.

TWELVE YEARS.

I’m feeling positive today, uplifted. Yes, its been a weird ending…but what fandom gets TWELVE YEARS. (I guess Law & Order and The Simpsons…) but besides them, its a small club of shows that make it this long.

My first Bones experience was Santa in the Slush. What a way to get introduced to the show, right?!

steamboats

wow

 

And then we went through all the ups and downs. We’ve heard it called lightning in a bottle and magic. I think those are accurate. I have never done as much Internet-ing as I have for this show for any other show and I probably won’t again.

I mean, shoot, the Internet was still a toddler when Bones premiered! Isn’t that crazy!? How much as the world changed since then?!

I am thankful I found you all in the Bonesverse. Starting with IMDB, finding Bones Theory, making our own platform when both of those kind of disappeared.  I have super loved chatting with you and making these Internet friendships over our favorite show.

(If you haven’t read or seen, we plan to keep this website going with Bones-and Bones related-content. I’ll make a post about some ideas floating around later.)

But for now, here is our final (sob) new episode chat. Feel free to post your memories and thoughts about this end in the end.

Thanks to the Bones cast and crew (even the ones I don’t like so much lol) for 12 years of fun and drama and hair pulling out and smiles and groans and squees. 🙂

 

bones

70 thoughts on “The End in the End (12×12)

  1. I second everything you said bnb! Waaahhhh!!!! I am so sad Bones is ending! I am also sad we did not get an amazing final season! Basically when I watch and compare it to past seasons, it sucked! No quality B&B scenes, killing off Max, trashing Aldo, not good thanks to MP & JC! So we shall see tonight if the series finale brings us ANY happiness or just more tragedy and ruin and no B&B quality scenes, romance or kisses. That is what MP thinks is good for ratings and good for the fans. Wrong!!

  2. Lol, in honor of our final Bones episode *sob*, I am bringing back the Bones Viewing kit for tonight. It was reserved for episodes of B&B lovliness, kisses, etc!!
    One is from Rbay…Where is she btw?!!!!

    So here is our Bones viewing kit, on last time!

    I need to make a Bones Viewing Kit in preparation for April 2nd. Let’s see:

    -Set DVR
    -Paper bags (for hyperventilation…and/or snacks)
    -Defibrilator (obviously)
    -Glasses (so I don’t miss a single detail)
    -Paper towels (because Kleenex’s won’t be enough for me haha!)
    -Pillows and blankets (to pad the surfaces around me in case I convulse or faint)
    -Laptop (for instant imdb and BT postings, of course)
    -Cell phone (so I can make sure its turned off. no one needs to call me during this!)
    -Water (gotta stay hydrated)
    -Throat lozenges (so my throat can be soothed after all the screaming/freaking out)
    – a presigned sick certificate of my doctor added – which will declare me unfit for work for the rest of the week –
    -A snack and drink of choice (alcohol is acceptable. Take a shot when needed!)
    -Hand fan for fanning one self when over heating.
    -Need to add to my Viewing Kit:
    – nail file/emery board for chewed up fingernails!

    Rbay’s kit:
    I would recommend stocking your kits with plenty of the following items:

    1. Kleenex
    2. Valium (take ’em if you got ’em)
    3. spare remote in case you throw yours at the screen
    4. small pillow to muffle your screams of outrage or despair
    5. for those of you who watch in the dark, a small flashlight to shine right in the eyes of family members who think to disturb you while watching
    6. chocolate. Chocolate can be very soothing when you’re stressed out
    7. knee pads (in case you get the urge to fall to your knees and pray)
    8. A hammer to smash any cell phones that dare to go off during this critical hour.
    9. booze (to help deaden the pain)

    Tissues – Christine going a total of 7 months in her young life without her daddy!
    Rum – To deaden the sad feelings of Booth’s disillusionment over the government.
    More tissues – Brennan going 4 months without her hubby! [sad2]
    More rum – Easing the pain of having to wait until the 24th!
    Xtra strength Tylenol – for the tension headache Booth’s prison term is giving me
    Remote Rubber Padding – so when I toss it at my HDTV it doesn’t smash it
    Prayer Rug – To pray for the patience to not jump through the screen and open up a can of whoop-a$$ on the telephone hang-up guard. [angry10]
    Small Pillow – To scream into for any reason that comes to my mind.
    Fireworks – To celebrate Booth getting out of the hoosegow.

  3. Aw that post reminds me. RIP, emoticons from the IMDB board. I’m gonna miss you, too. #BonesFinale #IMDBfinale #everythingisending #boo

  4. I started watching Bones in S7. My mom and my sister had been watching it from the beginning, but the summer before S7 my sister called me and told me I really had to start watching because “something big” was happening. I had already seen the bit where Brennan told Booth she was pregnant and I was curious, so I started at the beginning on Netflix. Wow. I had no idea what I was in for. I was hooked immediately, and I experienced all the ups and downs of S1-S6 in a very short space of time.

    I always say that I’m not sure I would have survived Hannah in real-time. It was bad enough while binge-watching, but at least I could move through those episodes quickly. If I had been watching that as it unfolded, waiting a week between episodes, I’m not sure I would have stuck with it.

    I’ll have to give Hannah credit for getting me into the online world of boards and Tumblr and, eventually, Twitter. I had never done that for any other TV show, but I was so confused by what was happening with Booth and Hannah and Brennan that I wanted to see what others were thinking, so I ventured online. Of course, we know that the online world is a whole different kettle of fish. The first folks I encountered were thinking differently than I was, and I was so upset. These folks thought that Booth should have stayed with Hannah, or that Booth and Brennan just slept together that one night and never again, that they were a fling, etc… I was horrified (because I was B&B all the way) so I kept searching until I eventually found other opinions.

    I honestly can’t remember the first board I found, and what order I found others in after that, but I do know that I lurked for a long, long time. Eventually I decided I wanted to join the conversation. That’s when I got the rude awakening that there are unlikeable people in this fandom. There are people who think they own Bones, and that they, and they alone, dictate how/what/when/where people are discussing Bones. Sigh. I won’t be sorry to leave that part of Bones behind. But, on a happier note, I also discovered wonderful people (like all of you on this board, the Bones Theory board, and for the most part those on IMDB). The conversations I have had on these boards has been an invaluable part of the Bones experience for me. So, thanks of all of you who have read my rantings and responded with thoughtfulness and kindness. Thank you for your insight that has sometimes helped me to see things in a different and better way. Thank you for being there when we complained about plot or cast or writers or show runners, because misery is always lightened when it is shared.

    A word about fan fiction — I know I probably wouldn’t have lasted with Bones if it hadn’t been for all the wonderful, creative fanfic writers who help fill in all the enormous gaps in the Bones storyline. Hart had a unique way of delivering his story, and that included leaving lots of things off-screen, to our perpetual frustration sometimes! I have a pretty creative mind, but sometimes the gaps were just too large, and it was too time-consuming, to try to create the rest of the story by myself, but I found that fan fiction was the solution to that problem. These writers have lovingly added to the onscreen Bones world in ways that have enriched the experience, so thank you.

    I’m also grateful to the people who took the time and effort to set up and run the Bones boards that were friendly and provided thoughtful insight into the show, most notably Bones Theory (thank you Sarah, wherever you are) and most recently to BnB, who set up this site to give us a place to talk after the demise of the IMDB boards. Thanks for giving us a home so we could discuss (complain about ha, ha ) these last few episodes!

    I’ve been reading all the goodbyes this morning on Twitter, Tumblr, Instagram, etc… and it’s sad. Many people are promising to stay in touch, but we all know how this works. Our beloved cast will move on, separately, to other projects…a few already have. We’ll see DB with a new female co-star (NO!!!!) and eventually maybe ED with another guy. Hart’s book will come out and might be a big success, or eventually we might see him running another TV show, with a different cast. We will try to still discuss Bones, but with no new episodes we’ll eventually lose interest. Fan fiction will stop being published, and some writers will probably delete everything they’ve written (many already have). Bones boards will get taken down. Like the ending of any other intense life-experience, the ending of Bones is bittersweet. I’m so glad I got to experience this show, but it hurts so much to let it go.

    So on to the finale. Hopefully we’ll love it to the moon and back, but I’m afraid that we might be on here tonight and tomorrow complaining about opportunities missed, bad plot line, etc.. but that’s ok. That’s the Bones journey, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

  5. Estella, what a beautiful post! You’re gonna get me all emotional again!

    I’m sad because Bones started right after I graduated college. So it’s kind of been with me all through my adult years. It feels weird to think that we will not be entering into yet another long hiatus, but this is final and permanent. I don’t know what to do with myself after this, legitimately.

    I can’t quite remember when I got hooked on online Bones chatting. It was around season 5 I think. I remember the Keepers of the Cocky thread on IMDB and that was what got me interested. I loved seeing if other people thought the same as me or not. It got addicting, though I never really got into the fanfiction world. Pure head canon for me. lol

    I’m super glad we are all together here and I hope we continue to chat for a long time! I am happy to continue this as long as we want it 🙂

  6. Estella that was beautifully said, and it encapsulated a lot of my feelings. We all came to Bones at different times and places, but it has been fun sharing our thoughts and ideas. It’s kinda like college graduation, remember the good and take it with you! Bones will always be a special TV show for me. I joined the online community early s5 and experienced the implosion of s6! It’s been a wild ride for sure. I think I will enjoy more of the fan fiction during this adjustment period.

    I hope we do love this finale to the moon and back……it’d be a first for MP/JC! 🙂 But I agree, if it’s not the best, that’s ok too. We will survive and it has been a fun journey, bumps and all!

    This would be a great spot to gather updated info about where the actors are in the future.
    Thanks for setting this up BnB.

  7. “So on to the finale. Hopefully we’ll love it to the moon and back, but I’m afraid that we might be on here tonight and tomorrow complaining about opportunities missed, bad plot line, etc.. but that’s ok. That’s the Bones journey, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.”

    Waaaahh!!!
    I remember I started watching Bones I saw three episodes end of season five then I start watching it full-time in season six.. I found the IMDb that summer and I think I read everything that AA had posted. I also started watching the earlier seasons to catch up to speed. I remember my first post on the board I was asking three questions now that B&B were expecting expecting a baby and going to be a couple.
    Lol, I remember 1. I wanted to know where they would live?Booth or Brennan’s apartment?
    2. I wondered would they now start calling each other by their first names.
    3. Would they now kiss each other.

    Hard to believe that was six seasons ago! And we got the answer to all those question. As for number three, well we did get kisses season seven through 11. 😘

  8. “So it’s kind of been with me all through my adult years. It feels weird to think that we will not be entering into yet another long hiatus, but this is final and permanent. I don’t know what to do with myself after this, legitimately.”

    It is weird that we are not just entering a hiatus. We’ve had many of them the last few seasons but we always knew that Bones was returning! This is final!! Is still hard to accept. 😢😢😩😩

  9. MP tweeted-
    Tonight #Bones writers will gather and live tweet the West Coast airing – cause that’s where we live. Thanks again to the best fans ever

    My question fI tweeted for the writers is why not one kiss the season from B&B?

    • MP and JC won’t face the music on this…they just ignore questions and/or stay off of social media. At least Hart would come out and fight.

  10. I am commenting through my tears:

    *The poor, poor lab. Breaking my heart to see the logo of the Jeffersonian under all the rubble
    *Poor Christine and Hank….these kids have been through a lot lately!
    *Camastoo gets the award for worst honeymoon
    *Booth and Hodgins sad because their wives are hurt….
    *Good thing Hodgins’ wheelchair didn’t get damaged
    *Glad Hodgins’ reassured Booth, someone needs to
    *Oh no, limbo is destroyed! So sad.
    *Angela and Hodgins are so sweet
    *Booth and Brennan’s trip down memory lane TEARS, I’M CRYING NOW
    *Why are the Kovacs so into a dad they barely knew?
    * “Squints of the world unite, baby”
    * “Where you go, I go”
    *WE GOT A KISS OH MY GOSH YOU GUYS
    *Yay one more “one good shot” from Booth with a Brennan assist!
    *Oh my gosh there’s only 10 minutes left….this is going too fast!!
    *Everything changes.” –STOP HODGINS IM SOBBING
    *Caroline yay we love you
    *Aubrey’s staying? Oh, and there’s Karen to help! lol
    *VNM’s sign!!!!!!!!!!!
    *Hodgins and MSVH riding a bike, with young Zach, too much
    *Max!
    *I knew Cam and Arastoo were adopting!!!
    *I hoped it’d be Hodgins! King of the Lab!!!!!!!!!! I’m so happy!
    *Final night shot of D.C.
    *PARKER SHOUT OUT!
    *Sweets’ book all published and official!
    *Jasper!!!
    *4:47 is when the bomb went off…hm…..guess that works. Still curious about HH’s idea though!
    *PIE AT THE DINER
    *I’m smiling and I’m crying

    Ok, ok, this was pretty good. I’m so full of emotions though, who knows what an impartial person might think, but I’m smiling and crying and all the things at once. Good thing, jmg reminded us about our Bones Viewing Kits. What did you all think????

  11. I liked it. It was sentimental and had good call backs. I loved Booth’s talk with Brennan. I loved her wanting to be with him. I was surprised she was out in the field but her ability to help him make the shot was good.
    I thought it was positive. B&B go on like always!
    The parting shot with them walking off together paralleled the pilot so that was going good too!

  12. Between last week’s episode and tonight’s all I could think is this is how the final season should have been like all season. The callbacks to previous seasons and moments were so well done and flowed so well in the dialogue and scenes it didn’t feel tacked on and there just to be there but felt so natural and basically BONES.

    David did a wonderful job directing I’ll have to think about it once I come down off this emotional roller coaster I’m on but this might be my new favorite episode directed by him.

  13. Well, here goes! The last thoughts while watching a new Bones episode ever. Waaaahhh!!! 😩😩😢
    The only hope I have for a decent episode is the fact that DB directed the season finale. His episodes are amazing

    – The lab is destroyed! I heard that DB is happy about that. His dream to blow up the lab. 💥
    -Caroline ” you make sure you bring their parents back”
    – Booth called her Temperance. 😩
    – Something is wrong with Brennan! Maybe she will speak normally this episode, LOL. She has a concussion?
    – well at least the evil writers did not have Angela lose her baby.
    – Booth is in a panic to get out. Nice moment between Hodgins and him about Booth being a sniper.
    – I had to laugh when Cam starts talking about the results of her CT scan. Seriously when did they do that! Out in the field, I don’t think so.
    – How said that Briennan cannot remember what to do with the evidence. That was always her mission. Her heart and soul.
    – Booth in a black FBI T-shirt, yay. Kovac’s wife is lying.
    – well so far B&B are spending most of their time apart this final episode. 😡
    – Oh, B&B are together in his office. A hug! That’s probably all we’ll get. 😰 Hugs and shoulder bumps.

    -Aww. Nice reminiscing from Booth telling Brennan who she is. Nice callbacks. ” you’re the Roxy to my Tony”. Awww! “Who else is going to sing hot blooded with me”. Booth you’re killing me! He looks so hot telling her ” all I know is I want to spend the rest of my life with you. You’re my partner, don’t forget that.”. A kiss would have been the icing on the cake to that sweet scene”. 🎂😘

    – Oh! I just spotted David’s mother handing him the files. Nice also in that scene to see Christine and Hank with Brennan
    – Ahha, Janine is Kovacs brother
    – Booth is a little choked up in the car talking about doing his duty and it’s his choice every time he takes a shot. “I take responsibility for that”. This is their attempt to have him deal with his Cosmic balance sheet.

    -OMGEEEEEE! A KISS!!!!! A quick henpeck, but A KISS nonetheless with a “I love you” from Booth 😘 Lol, rewind!!

    -yay, Brennan fixed Booth’s hand just in the nick of time! Normally I would complain that Brennan is even at this shoot out, but she needs the screen time with Booth! 👍🏼

    Only 10 more minutes left! I have really been dragging this episode out since it’s the last one 😩

    – Oh Caroline! “Seeley Booth, get your broad shoulders over here” Yum
    – looks like Aubrey and Karen are going to be getting together.
    -Waaaah! Vincents picture!
    – there’s even a song playing in the background to add to the melancholy. 😢😢. I just Shazam to and this song is called “Almost Home” by Moby The lyrics are very sad and appropriate. ” i’ll decide in a moment’s time to turn away leave it all behind…” OMG this is so sad.
    – The dolphin necklace! 🐬 I guessed right! Brennan and Max. So many feeeels! 😩
    – Well I am happy that Cam is not pregnant but they are adopting. That’s nice.
    – Great for Hodgins. He is now officially, temporarily, King of the Lab!
    -Oh and Jasper too! He made it through the explosion! Awww!🐖🐖. And Sweets book. Yes I wish he was there too.
    – So for 447 is the moment when everything almost ended but it didn’t. MP’s version for sure not HH’s.
    Uncle Aubrey has the kids at the diner and off B&B go to pick up their children.

    It would have been more satisfying at the end had B&B shared a kiss again as they reminisced but well at least we did get one during the episode. 😘

    I am still in denial that Bones is officially over for good. So sad. At least we had 12 years and we did get to see B&B get married and have a family together. That is satisfying. 👍🏼😀

    • This is an amazing review! Favorite part:

      “The investigation is still happening. Unlike Booth and Brennan, I cannot emphasize enough how much I’m not paying attention to it. Which is a compliment! The Gravedigger herself could claw her way out of the grave, and I would not have the emotional energy for her headless ass right now.”

      Hahahahaha This gal is great! Thanks for sharing it!

    • Loved this review, and I agreed with a couple of things:

      “For Booth and Brennan, 4:47 is what keeps happening, usually when they’re on the precipice: of losing each other (season 4 finale), leaving each other (season 5 finale), or getting together (after Vincent’s death). They could have ended, but they never did.”

      I’m surprising myself by finding that I’m ok with this 447 explanation. I even kind of like it. It makes sense. I would still like to hear Hart’s thoughts on it, but I’m ok with how it was handled.

      “It’s a pop-up children’s book about all of them, but they’re farm animals for some reason. It’s a little out-of-left-field but very cute.”

      I also felt this came out of left field. It was still sweet though.

      • Agreed. I felt OK with the explanation given. Still curious as to the original intent though! Because sometimes the 447 wasn’t when they were immediate danger, right? So I would like to know…but yeah, this worked too.

        Yeah the children’s book was random. I was expecting Angela to say she was quitting her job to be a children’s illustrator or something…but they were so cute and happy all huddled together on the stairs I can forgive it. But yeah it was like, “huh”, did I miss something?, when they were explaining the book.

    • Also, this:
      “But it is a truth universally acknowledged that pseudo-arguments between Booth and Hodgins must end in That Face David Boreanaz Makes When Booth Is Secretly Very Touched.”

  14. Well, I actually liked it. Lot’s to think about and discuss tomorrow and beyond.

    “Between last week’s episode and tonight’s all I could think is this is how the final season should have been like all season.”

    Yes. Couldn’t agree more. The entire S12 should have been like the last two episodes.

    One thing that happened tonight made me extremely grateful, and it’s no doubt why the show lasted for 12 years…ED and DB exchanged the following tweets:

    @David_Boreanaz 1h1 hour ago
    Thank you @emilydeschanel for your love, laughter and partner in crime while making this little show that did! Snacks forever. #Bones

    @emilydeschanel 1h1 hour ago
    Thank you @David_Boreanaz for everything over the years! So lucky to have you as my partner for all these years!

    It’s such a testament to both of them as people and as professionals that they were able to finish this incredible 12 year run on such good terms. Credit also goes to the the environment created at the top by Hart Hanson and Stephen Nathan. It stands out because it is so rare that we see this happen in Hollywood. Loved this.

  15. **This is an interesting interview. Thoughts?*

    ‘Bones’ Series Finale Postmortem: Showrunner Michael Peterson
    Oriana Schwindt

    Patrick McElhenney/Fox
    March 28, 2017 | 07:00PM PT

    There are any number of ways to end a series. There’s the flat cut to black; the reveal that this has all been a dream. Most of them involve some level of controversy after the fact. But when it came time to end “Bones” after 12 seasons on Fox, showrunners Michael Peterson and Jonathan Collier wanted to send their characters riding off into the sunset fully intact. And so we ended not with a bang or a whimper, but with Booth and Brennan bantering into the black. Peterson called up Variety to discuss the very last episode of “Bones” — and why it may not be the very last episode of “Bones.”

    Unlike some finales, we don’t get a special last line of dialogue — it’s more akin to the end of a regular episode. When did you decide that was what you wanted to do?

    It’s way tough. I was so honored when they were like, “You and Jonathan get to be responsible for the finale.” That’s great. But then you think, “Oh, we’re responsible for the last line of dialogue for the series, maybe I shouldn’t have said yes.”
    But in the end, we felt it would be best to do one those fade outs where they’re doing their back and forth. Sometimes it’s scripted, and sometimes it’s David [Boreanaz] and Emily [Deschanel] doing their thing. David asked for some room for him and her to do their thing, in the finale, and we said absolutely.
    .
    And you wrapped this in December. Has it sunk in yet?

    It’s complicated. There’s continual denial, because we live in a time when “24,” “X-Files,” all these shows are brought back. And so you go, it’s the end, but it’s not the end.
    I was on the show for eight-and-a-half, nine years — that’s a lifetime in TV. Once we figured out what we wanted to do a 12th season, I always give credit to David: He said to go back and rewatch Season 1 and embrace who those characters were. It was ultimately about Booth dealing with his guilt and Brennan trying to figure out who she is.
    That became the driving force of Season 12: Booth dealing with the worst kill he had to make in his career, and Brennan losing her father and really having to look at how she defines herself in regards to family, and redefines herself now that she’s with Booth. So once we had those things figured out, the final episode just wrote itself, in a weird way: Booth dealing with this Kovac danger and Booth helping Brennan through losing her ultimate identity, her intelligence, and realizing how much more she is. It’s satisfying because it’s honest to the characters. So I wasn’t as nervous. [Executive producer] Stephen Nathan came up with the story, and Karina Rosenthal came back to contribute and help make the finale as character-driven as humanly possible.

    Did you ever consider leaving Brennan without her intelligence, at the end of the day?

    Not really. I think it’s more important that the lesson was learned — that she is more than just her intelligence — than the ultimate damage.

    Were there any stories you didn’t get to that you really wanted to see onscreen?
    It really was tough for us. When we took over, the plan was to see this thing through to Season 18. There’s something about the storytelling, about these characters, that we could’ve written them forever. There’s a million stories, but at the same time, what Fox gave us by saying, “This is the last 12 episodes,” is, we got to focus on what we could get in versus what was left behind.
    Although I will say, we didn’t ever find a skeleton in Bora-Bora, and I’m deeply resentful of that. [Laughs] No, the way Fox handled it, I give them a lot of credit. There’s shows that just kind of end and they were very respectful to us.

    You have killed off a main character before — John Francis Daly’s Sweets — and maimed others. Were you thinking of doing that for the finale?

    I don’t know if I’ve forgiven us for Sweets. The network asked us if we wanted to do anything like that, and we called up [creator] Hart Hanson and agreed at the end of the day that we’re just not that show. We did it that one time, but we wanted to be the “riding off into the sunset” kind of show and stay true to that DNA. Why does the audience watch? Why do they love it? It’s about this makeshift family. You can blow up the house, but not the people.
    Everyone saw the trailer for the finale and started freaking out. I give credit to Fox for putting together an effective trailer. When you start getting calls from family members going, “What have you done?” that means you’re doing things well. Or you’re a horrible person.”

  16. I loved the B&B scenes for sure. It is nice to hear that DB and ED improvise at times. The conversation in the office brought me to actual tears. And the end was cute….going through her bag. Booth was so cute and Brennan going oink oink for Jasper! It was all so sweet.

    I have to agree with the sentiment – why didn’t they do this at least a few more times this season. Why save it all up for one episode? It went too fast….I wanted more. I guess that’s what they want in the end. Leave you wanting more.
    I haven’t determined how to create hyperlinks here but this article is good:

    http://deadline.com/2017/03/bones-series-finale-spoilers-reunion-emily-deschanel-david-boreanaz-hart-hanson-interview-1202053413/

  17. I think they’ve finally reached some self-awareness:

    –“I don’t know if I’ve forgiven us for Sweets”
    –“When you start getting calls from family members going, “What have you done?” that means you’re doing things well. Or you’re a horrible person.”
    –“Why does the audience watch? Why do they love it? It’s about this makeshift family. You can blow up the house, but not the people.”
    –“the final episode just wrote itself, in a weird way…Booth helping Brennan through losing her ultimate identity, her intelligence, and realizing how much more she is. It’s satisfying because it’s honest to the characters. So I wasn’t as nervous.”

    I agree with you that I wish they written the characters this way the whole time after HH left, but at least they grew some self awareness by the end and realized they shouldn’t totally screw us over. Hopefully, they won’t forget this for their next show. Just be true to the show and the fans. Then everything works out and “writes itself” 🙂

  18. “The conversation in the office brought me to actual tears. And the end was cute….going through her bag. Booth was so cute and Brennan going oink oink for Jasper! It was all so sweet.

    I have to agree with the sentiment – why didn’t they do this at least a few more times this season. Why save it all up for one episode? It went too fast….I wanted more. I guess that’s what they want in the end. Leave you wanting more.”

    Me too NWChic!! When Booth was tellling Brennan who she is in his office,…I posted a pic on the Thank You thread! Just tears of happiness and sadness that it was ending!!!!

    I must say also, Booth in the black FBI shirt and in all his FBI tactical gear with a big gun was just yummy!! 🙂
    Lol, I am at a loss now!! For 6 years Bones has been a big part of my life. Going on the boards to discuss it, dissect it and squeeeee over it! Watching new episodes, enduring long hiatus’…..

    *Sobbing*
    Thank you Bones, for the happiness, love, laughter, friendship, purpose, and a dance.

  19. After thinking about it all night, I still think that I pretty much loved everything about this finale.

    A couple of MINOR cons:

    – I really wish B&B had walked away in the final scene arm in arm. Something just seemed off about Brennan carrying a bag and a box while Booth was empty-handed. But it was still sweet!

    – I wish Sunnie had had even a line or two. It was frustrating to see her in Booth’s office but not see any interaction with Booth.

    – no home scene, but I think they had already torn down the house set?

    On to the Pros:

    – Jasper…wow. So nice they finally brought that back
    – Finally a kiss. A peck really, but it was saved by the soft “I love you” to each other
    – Hodgkins’s joy a being “King of the Lab”
    – Angela’s baby is ok!
    – Cam and Arastoo taking time off to adopt three older boys…beautiful. Thinking about Cam mired in the grunge of three teenage boys does my heart good!
    – The B&B scene in Booth’s office wrecked me. That’s when the tears started for real. I agree with a different poster…that scene could have gone horribly wrong but David managed to deliver it perfectly. So, so Boothy and so sweet.
    – loved the forehead touching at the end of that scene
    – Cocky belt buckle!
    – The picture from Parker…”that’s my boy”!

    I love that they ended it with them just going forward (although I’m not buying that the lab can be rebuilt in 2 weeks…lol) with their lives. I love that. No big changes, no one really leaving. We can just think about them going about their lives as they have been for the last 12 years.
    It certainly leaves things open to an eventual reunion (although my hopes about that are significantly dimmer than they were based on DB’s remarks) but I can’t imagine Fox would rebuild that set for a brief run of shows.

    I love thinking about DB and ED improvising some of that episode. I wonder if we will ever find out which parts they were? Probably not, but it’s fun to guess.

    I saw this in a comment on the TVLine Bones Finale article, and it sums up my feelings:
    “This did not feel like a goodbye or a series finale, but more like a “see ya later.”

    I *love* that. I think it was the perfect way to go out.

    Overall response seems to be overwhelmingly positive, although I see a few complaints sprinkled about here and there. I think MP/JC managed to pull this one off, with the help of Stephen Nathan and Karine Rosenthal.

  20. Besides all the delightful callbacks, the joy Hodgins felt when he was declared King of the Lab was one of the big highlights for me. I was literally grinning from ear to ear! I think I even yelled King of the Lab with him. It’s kind of a blur. But I loved it so much.

    (My only complaint is why wasn’t the whole season this good, but that would take away from this episode, and I don’t wanna do that. It was pretty great.)

    And I am so so so glad they let David direct the end. He gets it. And I really do love his camera angles and his overall style. He makes all his episodes feel grand and epic.

  21. From the review that Phoenix447 posted :

    “The last thing in Brennan’s bag is one analog clock, lightly singed, frozen at 4:47. It stopped when the bombs went off, and Brennan wants to hang it in her new office. “Why would you want to be reminded of the moment when everything almost ended, Bones?” Booth asks. Brennan smiles: “Because it didn’t.”

    I don’t know about you all, but this is the only resolution I needed to the “mystery” of 4:47, which has been popping up in Booth and Brennan’s lives for years. The meaning that matters is the meaning they take from it, which is also a good lesson to take from this finale: Everything ends, but endings are rarely absolute.”

    They did not really explain the origin of 4:47, but reinforced that it is always present during important life events for B&B.

    “That brings us to our last Bones scene, set to John Lennon (out the blue you came to me/ and blew away life’s misery). Booth — wearing his cocky belt buckle — strolls up to a bench in the Jeffersonian garden and sits beside Brennan, who isn’t quite ready to leave the lab. ”

    Wow, I was in such a state I did not even notice music paying or Booths belt buckle! When I can take it, I will rewatch the whole episode again paying more attention.

  22. I know right!! Agrees-

    ” think MP/JC managed to pull this one off, with the help of Stephen Nathan and Karine Rosenthal.”

    AND director DB’s input.

    “– I really wish B&B had walked away in the final scene arm in arm. Something just seemed off about Brennan carrying a bag and a box while Booth was empty-handed. But it was still sweet!”
    I think it did mirror the first episode where they were walking away together, BUT I agree, NOW they should have been arm in arm or Booth’s arm around her.

    – I wish Sunnie had had even a line or two. It was frustrating to see her in Booth’s office but not see any interaction with Booth
    I thought the same thing!! We got a BTS pic of DB holding Hank, but I would have liked Christine to have said something! Brennan was holding Hank and Christine next to her after “the speech”, but it was in the background. Agreed. They should have had some interaction there. I love when Christine calls him “daddy”.

  23. “Like the ending of any other intense life-experience, the ending of Bones is bittersweet. I’m so glad I got to experience this show, but it hurts so much to let it go.”

    That says it all Estella 😩

  24. The main thing for me was that B&B got their happy ending…that they continued on with their lives we just don’t see it….obviously it was left that way for any future reunion show….they can just jump back in….though I wouldn’t of been opposed to Booth getting a promotion to Deputy Director. No one deserves that more than him but I can see how his partnership with Brennan would be sacrificed for it and that’s not their goal…partners to the end

    The office scene was perfection. Like you guys said. 👊❤

    Brennan’s car scene with Booth saying she is always at this side & he never has to apologize? That’s how to write Booth & Brennan in a crisis. Not Sully episode. I repeat NOT Sully episode. Maybe we have to put it down to Brennan’s grief? IDK. But I will be forever salty how they kicked Booth to emotional curb for him.

    I can see Stephen’s N finger prints all over this episode and it was the better for it, we got the loving, kind & supportve B&B we all know and love. There was a warmth there I felt missing for most of S12.

    Brennan’s brain started to heal the moment Booth needed her. That was pretty sweet. I loved that!

    Hodgins being an administrative is a stretch, esp when I think of Cam always having to reel him in about over spending & doing experiments that weren’t necessary. Idk. I think Clarke would of fit better. But that’s just me

    Aubrey not going to LA? Can I have the hour back of my life wasted on him in 12×10 for this plot?

    I absolutely adored Caroline & Booth scene were they hugged and she was yellng at him how hard it was to to have a brave friend like him…I adore their relationship…And so glad we got that moment btw them

    Anyone else feel like Booth should of been in the last lab scene picking up Brennan so to be included with his squint squad? I did. It would of been fitting call back to early Bones

    I enjoyed the episode. It was a fitting Bones series ending with a lot of heart & hopefulness ❤

  25. “I can see Stephen’s N finger prints all over this episode and it was the better for it, we got the loving, kind & supportve B&B we all know and love. There was a warmth there I felt missing for most of S12.”

    Agree! Others have said why didn’t we have these kind of episodes all along.

    It would have been nice if Booth were included in the lab scene at the end. Picking things up with Brennan would’ve been a nice touch. The song that was playing in the background, seeing Vincent’s picture, just made me cry. 😩

    “I enjoyed the episode. It was a fitting Bones series ending with a lot of heart & hopefulness ❤”

    Yes, but I still feel very sad that it’s over, waaaahhh!!’ Bones has been in the background of my life for seven years now and it is just I’m not ready for it to be over. I am still in denial that there is not going to be any more “seasons spoiler threads”. 😩😩😩😩😩😢😢😢

  26. Great insights all around! It does take time to have it all sink in.

    ‘That’s how to write Booth & Brennan in a crisis. Not Sully episode. I repeat NOT Sully episode.’

    Exactly Shanny! I wish someone would have asked MP about that HUGE mistake of s12. It was ridiculous. When Brennan is in crisis, she needs Booth. Period – end of story. It was such a rip off to have B&B NOT discuss what Max meant to THEM and their Family. I mean Sully could have shown up at her birthday party or something, but he did not in any way belong in the story when they chose to show him. He was shoe horned in like Betty White. For stupid arranged conflict and to garner some press. Stupid ploy and waste of opportunity to have more great B&B moments. It was insulting to long time viewers……but because everyone was happy with the finale….no one pressed MP. gggrrrr

    ‘Aubrey not going to LA? Can I have the hour back of my life wasted on him in 12×10 for this plot?’
    This is too funny! I was feeling the same way. I would have loved to have watched family Booth do housework rather than Aubrey’s many stories at the end. Why the other whole story? They have really been pushing Aubrey stuff, I really think they are hoping there might be a spin off for Fox if Fox becomes desperate.

    I sure wish SN would have done more collaborating during the entire season…..but so glad we got a good ending. There were times when things looked pretty bleak. 😃

    • “Yes, but I still feel very sad that it’s over, waaaahhh!!’ Bones has been in the background of my life for seven years now and it is just I’m not ready for it to be over. I am still in denial that there is not going to be any more “seasons spoiler threads”.

      Same, Same. 12 yrs for me and it feels like a hiatus, part of my brain thinks its coming back…but I know its not ….IKR?! No more spoilers, no more ep stills….I really miss all cast sharing their BTS pics too😭😭

    • “I would have loved to have watched family Booth do housework rather than Aubrey’s many stories at the end.”

      I am laughing so hard at that!!!

      😂😂

  27. Thank you for the Caroline & Booth gifs! Awe I love that moment ❤

    SAME! I want an explanation on the hot mess that was the Sully ep, it was like Karine got to write her own personal fan fic on her crush Sully, it certainly wasn’t for the good of the show & a total disservice to B&B as a couple. Ugh. I need to wipe it from my memory.

    “I sure wish SN would have done more collaborating during the entire season…..but so glad we got a good ending. There were times when things looked pretty bleak”

    THIS! “Where you go, I go” I know this was SN. The MP/JC of S12 would of had Brennan sent to outer Mongolia to keep her safe from Kovac. Anything to keep B&B separate… LMAO…I can see the difference with SN, really can. THIS IS B&B

  28. ‘Aubrey not going to LA? Can I have the hour back of my life wasted on him in 12×10 for this plot?’
    This is too funny! I was feeling the same way. I would have loved to have watched family Booth do housework rather than Aubrey’s many stories at the end. Why the other whole story?

    Same same. When Aubrey said he wasn’t going to LA I was like well that was a waste of the entire 10 episode, they could have focused more on Brennan and Booth and let them talk about Max. Or they could have given us scenes between Brennan and Booth discussing her doubts about Wendell instead of wasting it on a story that went nowhere.

    • It kills me that B&B never discussed Max’s death or what he meant to their family in any meaningfull way. The only time they discussed him was the Grandpa milkshake scene. Or maybe Brennan briefly discussing her speech for his funeral. Right? Ugh. That is not how you honor a character like Max. He deserved better. We all deserved better.

      I still don’t get why they killed Max off, the only person to benefit from that storyline was Eddie/Sully bank balance.

      *thinks of S12 finale to cool my S12 rage” 😉😉

  29. The finale doesn’t *quite* excuse MP/JC for all of S12, but it does go a long way toward making me a little bit less angry. I agree that the only reason the finale was “old-style” Bones is because of SN…we know that MP/JC never got B&B. Also have to give some credit to DB. As Hart said in his tweet to bb, director Boreanaz knows his Bones history.

  30. I adored the finale so much, it honestly cooled alot of my season 12 rage. If they had not given me that perfect ending, I would’ve smashed people with RBay’s 2×4. And they ended it with the walk away as I had hoped. So I’m in a happy place finally. Basically season 12 didn’t happen in my mind, except for the finale episode. It was mostly filler anyway and the Max/Sully stuff doesn’t exist in my head canon, so I’m just hitting the mental fast forward button till the finale. Watching all the retrospective stuff and interviews has put me back in a happy warm Bones bubble again and I’m ignoring the crappy stuff. It’s nice!

  31. Estella, I agree that DB should get some solid credit. He’s always been a big supporter of classic Bones and he “gets it”. Also I just really think he’s a good director. His big sweeping shots into scenes make the episodes he does feel more epic. I hope he gets to do more of that in his new show as well. One thing I appreciate about DB, and Johnny echoed that, is that he honed his craft over the years on both sides of the camera. He doesn’t just show up on set and read lines. Bones would have missed out on some great stuff if DB hadn’t become an integral part of the BTS process.

  32. “Basically season 12 didn’t happen in my mind, except for the finale episode. It was mostly filler anyway and the Max/Sully stuff doesn’t exist in my head canon”

    I agree completely. In my head Max didn’t die and Sully didn’t come back at all. In fact, I think i’ve already forgotten most of S12 and a lot of S11!

  33. Three more random things I loved about the finale:

    – Apparently DB and ED improvised some of the dialog in that last scene. I’m guessing it was the bantering about getting older, but it doesn’t really matter. What i love it that they created a part of that themselves.

    – It took Booth being injured, and needing Brennan to help him, to get her memory working again. I LOVE that. She will always come through when he needs her and vice versa.

    – I loved that he called her Temperance. That does things to me for some reason, and it was nice to have that in the finale.

  34. Absolutely David gets so much credit for his input & creativity, he gets the best out if the actors, gets the emotions…Every episode he does shines in Bones history, I honestly think they are all fan favorites to some degree. Wouldn’t shock me either if the little B&B peck was his idea, cause you know that’s what married people do! *don’t tell some people in the fandom, cos 🚫💋*

  35. I know that the B&B peck & “I love you’s” was David’s idea, absolutely. MP & JC were determined to not give us one kiss, & DB vetoed that idea!

    ” I loved that he called her Temperance. That does things to me for some reason, and it was nice to have that in the finale.”

    Yes!! Only Max and Booth can call her Temperance. When Booth said it, there was such a sense of sweetness about it. I love that he called her that one last time!!

    And a call back to pie! Lol-

    Still in denial that we are not in a hiatus!! Waaahhh.

  36. “I agree completely. In my head Max didn’t die and Sully didn’t come back at all. In fact, I think i’ve already forgotten most of S12 and a lot of S11!”

    Max AND Aubrey are at the diner with the kids feeding them pie. 🙂

  37. “Max AND Aubrey are at the diner with the kids feeding them pie. 🙂”

    Absolutely! Max and Aubrey and going to be the babysitters from now on. Love it!

    So the “giffers” have been hard at work making some absolutely stunning gifs of the finale. I have to share the one. DB’s chiseled profile and sad eyes…wow! And I agree with the poster…the sadness in both of there eyes is ED and DB. This is their last scene together…:(

  38. “I have to share the one. DB’s chiseled profile and sad eyes…wow! And I agree with the poster…the sadness in both of there eyes is ED and DB. This is their last scene together…:(

    OMG, SO SAD!!!!! Love DB’s profile however!

    “#even though that wasn’t a sad scene #booth was quite cheery #so that’s david being sad #and emily too actually wtf #and this just hurt me a lot #I HATE LIFE #S12 #booth x brennan”

    IKR!!!!!! Sad, sad sad!!!

  39. David shared this on Instagram of his mom. I knew she was going to be in the episode and recognized her immediately! She looks great…I think she is 80yrs old. So now, DB’s entire family has been on Bones! Emily her hubby and oldest son Henry were. Too bad her 1yr old, Calvin,did not play Hank!

  40. I see this sort of kiss and it’s so natural, I keep wondering why the season didn’t have any of this until the bitter end? I wanna know why! Who is the keeper of the Bones secrets! LOL Wonder who knows the truth? 😏

  41. DB needed to direct every ep .. He gets it. 💋

    * amuses me the positive posse whining (as they use to call any POV not theirs) about Aubrey & Karen…boo hoo…I for one am glad that the pathetic ripoff B&B 2.0 is dead in the water 🙌….I couldn’t stand them.

  42. Aww…Brennan with Hank & Christine!! So nice to see!

    Lol, and as AA used to say…Arm porn!

    One of her gifs – “Arm Porn” from Twister

Leave a Reply

