Home » Basic » A Boy in a Bush (1×5)

A Boy in a Bush (1×5)

[From a podium on stage, Dr. Brennan is giving a lecture to a large group of anthropology students. Behind her shines a slide showing a variety of what look to be skull fragments.]

boy22

BRENNAN: …the F.B.I. and the Jeffersonian have forged a mutually beneficial, if somewhat tense, relationship which survives to this day. Thank you.

boy21

GOODMAN: Thank you, Dr. Brennan. Are there any questions?

After a few student questions, Booth just can’t stay out of it!

boy18

BOOTH: I have a question regarding role of the F.B.I. in your book: Who do you base the brilliant and insightful Special Agent Andy Lister on?  Because, you know, I’m pretty sure it was me.

boy20

boy19

BRENNAN: What are you doing here, Booth?

He’s there to fetch her for a case, but stops at the sight of her new car.

boy17

BRENNAN: What? My publishers gave it to me.

BOOTH: Gave it to you?

BRENNAN: Book sales are pretty good. It’s supposed to be a nice car.

BOOTH: Gave it to you?

BRENNAN: How about I drive for once?

BOOTH: No, I cannot show up at a crime scene in that.

BRENNAN: Why?

BOOTH: Because it would detract from the gravity of my F.B.I. presence.

They find out the victim is a child and the squints have a hard time with the remains. Meanwhile, there’s  party planned and everyone’s invited!

GOODMAN: These are invitations to a banquet.

BRENNAN: You called a special meeting to invite us to a party?

GOODMAN: Don’t this of it as an invitation, consider it a summons. It’s for donors. When I said you should think of this invitation as a summons, I understated. It’s a subpoena. A grand-jury subpoena. Ignore it at your own peril.

BRENNAN: You’re not gonna fire us if we don’t go.

GOODMAN: No, not fire you, but I can move your parking spot to Lot M. Enjoy the shuttle ride.

Early Brennan is great at showing her humanity:

boy6

BRENNAN: Something wrong?

ZACK: These are the smallest remains I’ve ever worked on.

BRENNAN: That’s a valid observation, Zack, but it’s not helpful to the investigation.

ZACK: Sorry, Dr. Brennan.

BRENNAN: I was at Waco, Branch Davidian compound. I helped identify children who had been killed in the fire. Seventeen of them.

ZACK: So, you’re saying I’ll get used to it?

BRENNAN: No, I’m saying you’ll never get used to it.

ZACK: So, I’m always going to feel terrible?

BRENNAN: What helps me is to pull back emotionally. Just… put your heart in a box.

ZACK: I am not good with metaphor, Dr. Brennan.

BRENNAN: Focus on the details.

ZACK: Details. Yeah, I can do that.

While they progress on the case, Angela tries to get to the bottom of Hodgins’ anger with the party invitation…

ANGELA: I get that you’re a little off-kilter. Mad at the government, conspiracy of dunces, all that. Maybe even furious that you’ve had to mount a little boy’s jawbone inside a box to find out what killed him. What I don’t get is why going to a banquet makes you angry. Anger is only fear, turned inwards.

However, she is struggling with her own job at the Jeffersonian in general.

boy10

BRENNAN: Are you thinking of leaving the Jeffersonian?

ANGELA: I’m not really this person.

BRENNAN: What person?

ANGELA: I’m not like you. I’m not driven by the need for justice and all that. I’m a good-time girl.

BRENNAN: We have good times.

ANGELA: Cracking jokes over murdered skeletons is not good times.

ANGELA: This is the longest I’ve ever had a job. That’s because of you.

BRENNAN: If this is about hours, or time to do your own art, then-

ANGELA: Just let me work on it, okay? I’m an artist. I used to draw naked guys. Now I draw dead guys.

BRENNAN: I’m afraid Angela might quit.

BOOTH: I’m amazed she stuck it out this long.

BRENNAN: Why?

BOOTH: Oh, because she’s human. I’m sorry, Bones, it’s just that, you know, uh… Angela didn’t get the same training that the rest of you got on, uh, planet Vulcan.

BRENNAN: I don’t know what that means.

BOOTH: She’s more sensitive.

ZACK: Who’s more sensitive?

BRENNAN: Angela.

BOOTH: She likes puppies and kitties and ducklings, and, you know, Jell-O shots and, you know, dancing on bars.

BRENNAN: I know that. She’s my best friend. And Angela’s not the only person in the world who likes baby animals.

ZACK: I never got the big attraction.

During the investigation, they find out that the victim’s mother is not his biological mother; she took the child from an addict. Booth pursues the proper channels, but Brennan is unhappy.

BOOTH: She confessed to kidnapping.

BRENNAN: Margaret Sanders did nothing more than respond to the anthropological imperative. She saw an orphan, and reacted.

BOOTH: This is not a National Geographic study, okay? This is the suburbs.

BRENNAN: Why would she kill the boy? She obviously loved him.

BOOTH: There are situations, right? The kid gets sick, he doesn’t turn out to be what you wanted. I bet that you could give me a dozen examples of societies that have killed their own young.

BRENNAN: What about Shawn and David Cook? Where do they go now?

BOOTH: Back into the system.

BRENNAN: Do you have any idea how bad the foster care system is?

BOOTH: Do you? What do you want to do, hmm? Do you want to kidnap them, the way that she kidnapped Charlie?

BRENNAN: I want you to let them go home to Margaret Sanders.

BOOTH: It’s not gonna happen.

At the lab, they start to uncover the mystery that is Hodgins…

ZACK: I mean, what makes you think I know Hodgins better than anyone else?

ANGELA: You’re roommates.

ZACK: I live above his garage.

ANGELA: But you see a lot of each other.

ZACK: Not really.

ANGELA: He drives you to work.

ZACK: I’ve never been up to the main house.

ANGELA: The main house?

ZACK: It’s at the opposite end of the driveway on the other side of the tennis courts across from pond.

BOOTH: Well, he must be one of those Hodgins.

ZACK: Who are ‘those’ Hodgins?

BOOTH: You know, the Cantilever Group Hodgins?

ANGELA: Oh my God.

ZACK: The same Cantilever Group that generates more G.N.P. than Europe?

ANGELA: Get this. They are the single biggest donors to the Jeffersonian Institution.

BOOTH: That makes Hodgins your boss.

ANGELA: What do you guys even talk about when he drives you to work?

ZACK: I mostly sleep. Hodgins mostly yells at the radio.

Booth has to interrogate the victim’s brother…but both he and Brennan have to struggle with their emotional connections to the situation.

boy3

BOOTH: Shawn, you know what that is?

SHAWN: A scar?

BOOTH: Yeah. Got it when I was playing soldier with my brother Jared.

SHAWN: Did it hurt?

BOOTH: Yeah, it hurt. But it was an accident. You got any scars?

SHAWN: My dad did it with a cigarette.

BOOTH: He shouldn’t have done that.

______________________________________________________________________________________

BRENNAN: Foster kids are powerless. They’re treated like garbage. You’re in a position to do something about it, and all you have to say is ‘He’s not being aggressive enough’?

PROSECUTOR: Dr. Brennan, you know this boy may very well have beaten a child to death with a rock?

Booth, sensing this is personal and important to Brennan, helps out:

BOOTH: Bones, I thought you’d like to know that Shawn and David are in emergency care. Pulled some strings, you know, to make sure they- they get to stay together.

BRENNAN: That’s good, thanks.

BOOTH: It’s the best I could do.

BRENNAN: Yeah, I understand.

BOOTH: No, you say you understand, but you don’t. Not really. I mean, if you don’t like the rule, you ignore it, right?

BOOTH: I can’t have that. And if you want to do this-

BRENNAN: Do what?

BOOTH: Work on cases, you know, with me. Outside the lab. If you wanna do that, I need to know that you will respect the law.

BRENNAN: Tell you what, if I can’t respect the law, I can at least respect you.

BOOTH: Well- Yeah, that’ll work, too.

Hodgins tries to get the nosy but well-meaning squint squad off his back:

HODGINS: The reason that I do not want to go to that banquet is that the other members of the ruling elite will make a big fuss about seeing me. My secret will be out and my life, this life that I love, will be ruined. I’m asking you, please, please just let me be Jack Hodgins who works in the lab.

Brennan insists on questioning the victim’s brother.

BRENNAN: You have to get Shawn to tell you where he took Charlie when they left the mall.

BOOTH: He won’t talk to me.

BRENNAN: Let me do it. I know what to say.

BRENNAN: Do you remember me, Shawn?

SHAWN: The museum lady. The one who’s so smart.

BRENNAN: Yeah, I’m pretty smart. Smart enough to know that you didn’t kill Charlie. You don’t have to say anything, Shawn. Just listen. They give you a garbage bag to carry all your stuff, like they’re telling you everything you own is garbage. And then you have to go to a new school in clothes that smell like garbage bags.

SHAWN: All the regular kids know you’re a foster kid. How do you know what it’s like?

BRENNAN: They bounce you from place to place, and it’s never home. Sometimes the foster parents are nice.

BRENNAN: The man you took Charlie to, the man who hurt him, he knows that. You didn’t know that he’d hurt Charlie, but he did. And then he told you that Margaret would blame you, that she’d hate you. But this man is lying to you, Shawn. I can make sure that you go back to Margaret.

SHAWN: How? You work at a museum.

BRENNAN: I have a friend at the FBI. If I ask him to, he will make sure that you and David get to live with Margaret again.

Brennan makes a bold promise that Booth has to now see through.

BOOTH: Oh, man.

BRENNAN: But you have to tell me who hurt Charlie.

BOOTH: I’m gonna need your help to keep the promises she made to that boy.

PROSECUTOR: Hey, I- I can’t promise-

BOOTH: Mrs. Johnson, my people and your people are gonna have to make this happen.

SHAWN: What if Margaret doesn’t want me anymore? Charlie was her real son.

BRENNAN: Charlie wasn’t her biological son either. Charlie was just like you: someone that Margaret chose to love. I don’t think we should let that man take you and David and Charlie away from Margaret, do you?

BRENNAN: We should stop him. You and I should stop him.

boy1boy2

(I miss when Brennan was a human. How would she have handled this in seasons 10-12?!)

BOOTH: Look, I’m sorry.

BRENNAN: For what?

BOOTH: You have personal experience in the system.

BRENNAN: I was a foster child until my grandfather got me out.  (<———oops!)

BOOTH: Yeah, when you said ‘They take you away from your brother,’ I kind of had the feeling you weren’t talking about David Cook.

BRENNAN: Booth, I’ll tell you all about it one day, but tonight I have to get dressed for a party.

And now, for a famous line in Bones history:

boy14

boy23

Booth steps in again, this time to help Hodgins.

boy15

BOOTH: Dr. Goodman, we need Hodgins in the lab tonight. FBI needs this analyzed by morning.

HODGINS: Uh, I’ll get right on it.

GOODMAN: Wait a minute, what case file is this?

BRENNAN: Am I supposed to know about it?

ANGELA: Booth mentioned it to me earlier today.

BRENNAN: That’s good enough for me.

GOODMAN: Fine. You’re off the hook, Dr. Hodgins. Let’s not keep the limo waiting.

boy 12

HODGINS (to Booth): Thanks.

And now, for a little bit of B&B togetherness….

boy13

BOOTH: You look nice. Better than nice, you look, uh… very…

BRENNAN: Thanks.

BOOTH: Bones, how did you know I was gonna keep your promise?

BRENNAN: What promise?

BOOTH: To get Shawn and David back with Margaret Sanders.

BRENNAN: Maybe I was lying. To catch the bad guy. I learned that trick from you. The end justifies the means.

BRENNAN: Booth.

boy7

 

Awww…

9 thoughts on “A Boy in a Bush (1×5)

  1. This episode shows why we fell in love with Bones! The character development, the humanity of Brennan, the obvious chemistry between B&B, the wonderful voice and character of Dr. Goodman. Love it!
    Booth was dazzled by Brennan when he saw her in that dress! It took his breath away. Something that was missing in the last two seasons. ( I guess blazers and boots did not take his breath away! LOL )
    We see that Brennan is respectful of Booth’s believes about heaven.

    “(I miss when Brennan was a human. How would she have handled this in seasons 10-12?!)”

    Well we can only imagine what she would have said! Some of her discussions regarding Christine were cringe worthy, i.e.the tooth fairy. 😬

    Love walking down memory lane with early B&B! Their attraction was obvious from the beginning. 😍

    Another great scene study Bnb! We appreciate all your hard work for us. 😘😘

  2. I always forget that this episode ends with “the dress,” as I like to call it. Such a gorgeous look for Brennan, head to toe, makeup to dress. It’s my head canon for every dress up occasion ever for her ever forever.

    This episode sticks in my mind for the Cook brothers and how Brennan was able to get through to Shaun when no one else could. I just used that moment in a story, actually, when Brennan just sat down beside him and got him to talk by simply relating to him through their shared experiences. “Unable to empathize Brennan,” my ass. (Sorry, I’m retroactively ticked off at S6 Sweets.)

    This recap was a great reminder of all the other fabulous moments in this episode. Hodgins’ wealth revealed. Dr. Goodman’s deep African American tones (and his reaction when Angela hugged him!) (I miss you, Dr. Goodman!) Angela’s comment that Brennan is driven by the need for justice coexists nicely with Brennan’s own remark later on that she “sees a face on every skull.” (And btw, if you’ve never read Covalent Bond’s fanfiction “A Face on Every Skull,” you are missing greatness. It is a beautiful story.)

    This is a great episode. Thanks for the fabulous recap!

  3. Sigh. Just watched this episode and wow, it had it all!

    First, we see Brennan ending her presentation with a joke about the Jeffersonian and the FBI. She had a sense of humor back then, it just got lost along the way to S12.

    Things to love about this episode:
    – Wonderful Dr. Goodman. I did end up liking Cam, but oh how I miss Dr. Goodman.
    – angry Hodgins
    – Hodgins and Zach friendship
    – early, artsy and conflicted Angela
    – cocky Booth
    – serious yet kind and considerate Brennan — respecting Booth’s religious beliefs even though she doesn’t agree with them, caring for Zach who is having a hard time with the case, and loving a little boy
    – the musical montage as the case wraps up

    I love that looking back (and knowing what we now know) we can see the beginnings of the B&B relationship:
    – Brennan already has complete faith in Booth
    – Booth is starting to see the depth of this woman, which goes far beyond her seemingly arrogant exterior
    – in the last bit about the door ding on the car, we see that although Booth irritates Brennan, she also can’t help smiling just a little bit over his antics
    – Booth is stunned by Brennan in that dress, just like he will continue to be for the next 12 years (and on into the future, right?)

    So much to love about this episode. It’s difficult for me to understand how MP and JC could re-watch S1 (at DB’s request) and still end up delivering S11 and S12. I just don’t get it.

    I looked up the writers: Steve Blackman & Greg Ball

    Steve Blackman wrote 3 eps for Bones, several for Fargo, and interestingly enough has written one ep for Altered Carbon, which is Tamara Taylor’s new show. I guess Hollywood is a small world?

    Thanks for the recap bnb!

  4. “So much to love about this episode. It’s difficult for me to understand how MP and JC could re-watch S1 (at DB’s request) and still end up delivering S11 and S12. I just don’t get it.”

    Do you recall the S1 episode where B&B had one scene together, wasn’t it just the best….OH wait never happened! Exactly what S1 of what show did Peterson & Collier rewatch, it wasn’t Bones

    *me thinking of 12×10: 😈😬😡😠😒😷💩*

  5. Thank you for the recap , just as good if not better than the episode!!

    *For some reason I love Booth playing the computer game & fixing it for the kids, at that stage we didn’t know about Parker. And it give an insight into Booth & softness to the wise cracking FBI agent edges

    *Booth’s first time talking about Jared, always wondered if he got the scar the way he said he did

    *Brennan’s connection to foster kids was beautiful. One I wished had been threaded throughout the later seasons. I thought Emily really did a great job.

    *Tell you what, if I can’t respect the law, I can at least respect you – then Booth breaking the pencil, which triggered Brennan to figuring out cause of death, I always loved that scene because it really showed that Brennan trusted Booth, not so much the establishment but him. But always him.

    *Booth turning up with the oh so important FBI request just so Hodgins could legit not go to the event. They are Booth’s people whether he likes it or not & he will have their back!! Haaaa.

    *How could Brennan say that Agent Andy wasn’t Booth with a straight face. Woman has it bad!

    *End B&B scene no words to say how simple & beautiful it was 💑😭 It’s like Hart said “Their very cells loved each other long before their big brains and hearts became aware of it.”

  6. “Exactly what S1 of what show did Peterson & Collier rewatch, it wasn’t Bones”
    That is very apparent 😡

    “How could Brennan say that Agent Andy wasn’t Booth with a straight face. Woman has it bad!

    *End B&B scene no words to say how simple & beautiful it was 💑😭 It’s like Hart said “Their very cells loved each other long before their big brains and hearts became aware of it.”

    Love it Shanny! 😘😘👍🏼

  7. Agree with the good comments. One of the reasons I really love season 1 so much,each episode was complex and so rich with feeling. Zach and Hodgins added the humor. They didn’t need to play Brennan up so much as socially inept for a joke or needing to learn a ‘lesson’. Brennan was allowed to show glimpses of her heart to Booth. Also when she ‘knows’ that Booth would do the right thing by the boys, it displayed all the trust in him she already felt. Her anthropological insights had already discovered so much about him that she loved. Amazes me this was only episode 5!!

    I have to admit, while I loved seeing her get dressed up for once, the pony tail was not the look I would have chosen for her night out! S1 was so well written. Comparing it to seasons 11/12 is really a sad joke. Bones was a formula by then with very little variance to keep it fresh.

Leave a Reply

