Home » Basic » Man on Death Row (1×7)

Man on Death Row (1×7)

“A Man on Death Row”
Episode 1×07
Written By: Noah Hawley
Directed by: David Jones

BOOTH: Name?

BRENNAN: You know my name.

BOOTH: Bones, you are making an official request to the FBI to be allowed to carry a concealed weapon. I have to follow protocol.

BRENNAN: It’s ridiculous.

BOOTH: Fine, then we’re done here. Do you wanna get some coffee…?

BRENNAN: My name is Dr Temperance Brennan.

BOOTH: Reason for wanting a gun?

BRENNAN: To shoot people.

BOOTH: Not a good response.

BRENNAN: It’s the truth.

BOOTH: You know, I’m writing “self-defense in the performance of my duties pursuing suspected felons as contracted out to the FBI.”

BRENNAN: So I can shoot them.

BOOTH: Ever been charged with a felony?

BRENNAN: Charged, or convicted?

BOOTH: Charged.

BRENNAN: You know I have.

BOOTH: I have to ask the questions.

BRENNAN: Bureaucratic nonsense.

BOOTH: Nevertheless, name of the arresting officer?

BRENNAN: You… Special Agent Seeley Booth. Do you need me to spell that for you?

BOOTH: I can sound that out.

BRENNAN: So when do I get the gun?

BOOTH: You can’t have a gun.

BRENNAN: Why not?

BOOTH: Because you were charged with a felony.

BRENNAN: Write down that you were wrong to charge me.

BOOTH: Oh, there’s no space for that.

BRENNAN: Why’d we go through all of this if you were never going to give me a gun?

BOOTH: You have a constitutional right to apply for a weapon. I would never deny your constitutional right.

BRENNAN: But I need a gun!

BOOTH: Rules are rules.

BRENNAN: Tell them that I shot a murderer who was going to light me on fire.

BOOTH: Which is why you weren’t convicted. But you did shoot an unarmed man. I… I can’t ignore that. I swore an oath to protect society from people who shoot people.

BRENNAN: It was only his leg, and he’s in jail for the rest of his life, how much is he gonna use it anyway?

BOOTH: You have the right to an appeal.

row8

BOOTH: Bones, you don’t need a gun. If anyone needs shooting, I’ll do it.

BRENNAN: What if you’re injured or dead, and someone still needs shooting? Well, I’m not hoping it’ll happen, I’m just stating a possibility.

BOOTH: Come on, you know what, Bones? You’re a professor; you’re not an FBI agent. Use your mutant powers… just talk people to death.

A defense attorney comes onto the scene and we hear a name that has a prominent place in Bones lore.

AMY: You remember Howard Epps?

BOOTH: Not likely to forget him.

AMY: Howard Epps deserves five minutes of consideration from the man who put him on death row.

BOOTH: I arrested Howard Epps, okay? It was the jury who sentenced him to die.

She gets Booth to take a meeting with Epps.

BOOTH: I’d ask how you were doing, Howard, but I guess we both know the answer.

row3

EPPS: Agent Booth. Did you come to apologize?

BOOTH: I’m not the one who beat a 17-year-old girl to death. Your attorney wants me to look you in the face.

EPPS: Why?

BOOTH: She thinks you’re innocent.

EPPS: She’s right about that. I didn’t kill anybody. Unlike you, the sniper.

row4

Oh, Booth. No one lets you forget that.

 

But back in the lab, important things are being discovered. Hodgins and Zack are racing beetles!

HODGINS: What if they get mixed up?

ZACK: I can tell them apart. That’s Jeff, and that’s Ollie. I win.

HODGINS: What do you… what? That one was mine.

ZACK: You had Jeff, I had Ollie. Ollie won. You owe me a buck.

HODGINS: You want in on the action, Angela?

ANGELA: No, thank you. I’m going to go have sex.

ANGELA: (to Brennan) Sure you don’t want to come? Troy can call a friend.

BRENNAN: I’ve been waiting months for these. It’s a partial skeleton from southern France. The Institute…

ANGELA: You know, the whole point of the week is the weekend. This is not the cabaret, my friend. Life is the cabaret. Come to the cabaret. It’s like describing the moon to a mole.

HODGINS: I demand another beetle, alright? Jeff’s got a groin pull.

ZACK: Arthropods do not possess groins. Pay up.

row5

 Love that squint squad!

Booth comes in and asks Brennan for help on the Epps case.

BOOTH: It’s a weekend deal. Off the books. But if you have plans…

BRENNAN: Wait. This is a personal favor you’re asking?

BOOTH: Not for me, for Amy.

BRENNAN: Well, your personal favor would be for Amy, but mine would be for you, strictly speaking.

BOOTH: Please do me a favor. Please?

Brennan’s response is very telling. She jumps right in to do this favor for her partner. She turns Angela down, but can find the time for Booth!

BRENNAN: Any remains withheld from burial?

BOOTH: Not after the last appeal.

BRENNAN: I’d need X-rays from the ME and the coroner. Originals, the copies are useless. Bone scrapings, lab results, tox screens.

BOOTH: All the evidence will be here within an hour.

BRENNAN: I’ll ask the others, but I won’t order them. They might have plans.

BOOTH: It’s Friday night, and they’re racing beetles.

Hodgins gets confused by Booth’s involvement in this case.

BRENNAN: Because Booth was the agent that arrested Howard Epps in the first place.

HODGINS: Wait. You’re trying to save someone you arrested for murder?

Booth and his code of honor always seem to be clashing with his self-preservation. While he talks with the victim’s parents, Brennan works with Epps’ defense attorney. And the subject of Booth is on their minds 🙂

AMY: So, are you seeing each other?

BRENNAN: Who?

AMY: You and Booth.

BRENNAN: No. No, we’re working together.

AMY: Cause I’m picking up a bit of a sex vibe.

BRENNAN: No, that’s tension. He has a girlfriend.

AMY: Figures. Should’ve jumped him when I had the chance.

BRENNAN: You’re really interested in Booth?

AMY: You aren’t?

BRENNAN: No.

AMY: Well then why are you helping him?

BRENNAN: Because he asked me. He said please.

AMY: Come on. You think he’s hot.

BRENNAN: No. Not at all. This is a very interesting case.

Booth is feeling the heat at work…

CULLEN: You want to start, or shall I?

BOOTH: I’m sorry sir, I…

CULLEN: I’ll start. I’m thinking of suspending you for freelancing on a death penalty case we cleared seven years ago.

BOOTH: My intention was just to tie up a few loose ends.

CULLEN: If you want to question him, fine. Is that the end of your involvement, Agent Booth?

BOOTH: Not exactly. They’re moving to exhume the victim’s body, sir.

CULLEN: On whose recommendation?

BOOTH: The young idealist lawyer… and Dr. Brennan.

CULLEN: Got the squints involved. Well, if she shoots anybody this time, I sure the hell hope it’s you.

Booth and Brennan share the same zeal for the truth…

AMY: Judge Cohen, I have the arresting officer right here. The primary investigator.

COHEN: Agent Booth. Have you suddenly decided that Howard Epps is not guilty?

BOOTH: No.

AMY: Booth!

BOOTH: I think there are doubts, and when it comes to an execution, there shouldn’t be any doubts.

__________________________________________________________________________________________

AMY: This is so barbaric. When are they gonna put a stop to the damn death penalty?

BRENNAN: I believe in the death penalty.

AMY: What?

BRENNAN: There are certain people that shouldn’t be in this world. The people who hacked hundreds of innocent children to death in Rwanda, beheaded them at their desks at school. The people who did that? They should be executed.

AMY: So why do you care about Epps?

BRENNAN: Because the facts have to add up. Drop me at the lab, please.

Even in their search for the truth of the case, Brennan needs to find out more of Booth’s truth.

BRENNAN: I need a shovel…Are you gonna help?

BOOTH: Well I would, but this is a $1200 suit.

BRENNAN: Are you kidding me? I haven’t slept in 48 hours and you’re worried about your suit? Get over here.

BOOTH: Fine. Can I get a shovel? Thanks.

row7

HOLSTERS.

 

BRENNAN: What would you usually be doing?

BOOTH: What?

BRENNAN: If it were a normal weekend.

BOOTH: You want to discuss this now?

BRENNAN: Compared to you with your multiple sex partners…

BOOTH: You know, that’s none of your business, okay? I’m not having sex with Amy, and I have never ever cheated on any woman that I’ve ever been with. Never!

BRENNAN: I just asked what you’d normally be doing.

BOOTH: I’d be at a movie, dancing… being with somebody that I care about. (which he’s doing right now even though its a crime scene!) You?

But this truth fest is interrupted by finding skulls.

BOOTH: Epps. It was Epps. He snatched April from the park after she ran from Ross, and brought her here to his killing grounds.

BRENNAN: Why did he take her back to the park?

BOOTH: He watched them have sex; he saw them argue. Epps knew suspicions would fall on Ross, and he took her back.

BRENNAN: And stole her car.

BOOTH: We got played.

BRENNAN: What? How?

BOOTH: Either way, Epps wins. We find Ross, the execution is stopped. We find these bodies…

BRENNAN: The execution is stayed until these murders are investigated.

BOOTH: If I don’t make this call, he’s gonna be dead in half an hour.

BRENNAN: But these women, they deserve to be heard. It’s what we do, Booth.

EPPS: And I owe you too. I read your book. When I read you were working with Booth here, I knew you were just what I needed.

row2

Fierce Brennan breaks his wrist in response.

BRENNAN: You gonna arrest me for assault?

BOOTH: From what I saw, purely self defense.

BRENNAN: Maybe I shouldn’t carry a gun after all.

BOOTH: Hell, you can have mine.

Time for a Sid’s post-case wrap up!

BRENNAN: Are you in trouble with your boss?

BOOTH: I’m sorry for wrecking your weekend for nothing.

BRENNAN: No, not for nothing.

BOOTH: Come on, you know what I mean. You know, all that running around, it didn’t change anything. Epps was guilty. He was always guilty.

BRENNAN: There was doubt. We had an obligation to respect that doubt. We all share in the death of every human being.

BOOTH: Very poetic.

BRENNAN: No, very literal. We all share DNA. When I look at a bone, it’s not some artifact that I can separate from myself. It’s a part of a person who got here the same way I did. It should never be easy to take someone’s life. I don’t care who it is. What? What?

BOOTH: You know, you’ve been practicing your Nobel Prize speech just a little too much.

Sid hands Booth his favorite snack! Pie predated the diner!

SID: Apple pie, hot cup of joe. To simple pleasures, my friends. Simple pleasures.

 

And once more, because it’s funny-

row1

 

Thoughts, feelings, observations? I just love how Brennan can’t stop trying to figure out the puzzle of Booth and how Booth feels like he always has to defend his lifestyle to her. They both protest so much!

15 thoughts on “Man on Death Row (1×7)

  1. I guess I had forgotten just how many times Booth faced judgement for being a sniper. Even from creepy murderers. And yet his sense of honor still couldn’t let Epps be improperly convicted. I also adore how much Brennan resisted Angela’s weekend plans but had no problem spending time with Booth, once she realized he was asking her for a personal favor.

    Also, Angela gave up her man and Hodgins/Zack gave up their bug races just to help Brennan. So they were already helping each other out.

  2. I absolutely love the exchange about the gun permit. It’s so funny and sexy. So much tension in the air. Epps and the lawyer are definitely playing with Booth’s psyche in this one. Epps knows how to push buttons. And in the end, both B&B were caring about the other. Booth about ruining her weekend and Brennan about whether Booth was in trouble with his boss. I sure miss when the bosses were a factor in their lives instead of the ones we got later!

  3. I’ve always been Team Brennan and identified with her, maybe because I’ve always had a crush on Vintage Brennan, but we share the same belief about the death penalty. I’m a bleeding heart liberal to the core but I have no problem with the death penalty applied in specific cases. So, Plus 1 Brennan!

    I love the opening sequence in this episode. It’s very Rock Hudson/Doris Day-esque. Quick, sharp, funny and on point! I like the case here, too. I didn’t buy Epps’ protestations of innocence at all but how it all played out was a great ride. The icky pedophile sleeping with the teenage girl being more concerned about his reputation than what might have happened to her, the half-naked judge, Booth and Amy had great rapport, Angela and her “come to the cabaret!” (a line I’ve quoted in real life more times than I can count), scion of wealth Hodgins playing with beetles on a Friday night, Cullen!!! (Am I the only one who gets this actor confused with Mitch Pileggi from ‘X-Files’?) I miss Cullen! I read a fanfiction once (can’t remember who wrote it) based on the premise that after his daughter Amy’s death, Cullen and his wife met up with Sully and opened a bar in some island location. That’s as good an idea as any, I think.

    For my money, Epps was the best serial killer on ‘Bones.’ He was menacing and threatening, and oozed danger. Pelant had the potential for greatness, especially after that fantastically creepy first Pelant episode, but then he devolved into Super Bad Evilest Villain Ever and was more cartoon than person. I’m not sure I even remember what happened to him, although I may have stopped watching by that point.

    I didn’t rewatch this episode over the weekend but this recap makes it certain that I will add it to my list for the week! Great job, as always!

  4. Yet another fantastic S1 episode! So much goodness it’s difficult to discuss because you could write about every scene. Things that stood out to me:

    – I love, love, love that opening scene where Booth is taking Brennan’s application to carry a gun. For one thing, he looks fantastic. The interplay between the two of them is suitably snarky. Everything about that scene was wonderful.

    – Again, we get some early history on Booth…his problem with anger in his early FBI days, and his sniper past and the fact that he is a “killer.”

    – Booth did seem to like lawyers, didn’t he? Rebecca, Tessa, and Amy…lol.

    – Is Brennan just a little bit jealous of Booth’s interest in other women? Certainly not on a conscious level, but I think subconsciously it bothered her.

    – We start to see Brennan defending Booth’s actions to others, as well as her soothing him about what he has done.

    – We see Booth’s respect for Brennan growing.

    This episode was written by Noah Hawley, who of course has gone on to fame with Fargo. As we discussed on the old IMDB board, Hawley wrote all of the Epps episodes (The Man on Death Row, The Blonde in the Game, The Man in the Cell) which clearly makes a huge difference from the later Bones serial killers.

    I couldn’t help but notice that Amy looked a lot like Hannah…they could be sisters.

    • That is uncanny!!

      😱

      I missed Noah when he left Bones. He really had a great handle on the characters. Give them gravitas with a lot of heart.

  5. From “The Man on Death Row”
    “BRENNAN: There was doubt. We had an obligation to respect that doubt. We all share in the death of every human being.”

    From “The Soldier on the Grave”
    “BOOTH: You know, we all die a little bit, Bones. With each shot, we all die a little bit.”

    So, B&B were already more similar than not, right?

    Also, I miss Cullen. His presence allowed us to see more of Booth’s world. I wish he had stayed around for the entire series.

  6. So, B&B were already more similar than not, right?

    Most definitely! Their similarities throughout the series were intriguing for sure. I never thought of them as opposites.

    I could have done without the pictures! LOL Hated the second so much, I would never willingly watch anything she was in! They both have that typical hollywood blonde vibe, although I remember Amy with red hair. 🙂

    • Yes, the actress (Rachelle Lefevre) did have red hair on the Bones episode. When I looked for a picture of her it seems that she goes back and forth between red, strawberry blonde, or blonde hair. Of course she looks most like Kathryn Winnick when her hair is blonde. According to Wikipedia they are both Canadian.

      I’m not a fan of Kathryn Winnick either. I didn’t watch Vikings, which is her show on the History channel. However, I am a huge fan of Stephen King’s “Dark Tower” series and she has been cast in the film adaptation that is coming out in August, so I will be watching her in that!

      • When I first heard that casting news, I thought KW was going to be Susan Delgado and it almost spoiled the whole movie for me. Thankfully, she’s just Jake’s mom so I’m hoping we don’t see much of her (or have to listen to that god-awful voice much).

  7. While I’ve read plenty Stephen King over the years, I haven’t read the Dark Tower series so, thankfully, I will be able to pass on this show. You guys will have to tell me if she’s as bad as she was in Bones! I will await your reviews. To be fair, to come in and play that part (Hannah) wasn’t going to make her many fans, have to give her that! LOL

    Have to say that even Amy after one encounter with B&B could pick up on the ‘sex’ vibe…..but not so much for Hannah. I still say she didn’t care enough to even sense the ‘vibe’. Hannah was getting exactly what she wanted….sex….nothing else….she also wasn’t putting much else into the relationship. She had to go ask Brennan what gift to give Booth as a thank you for letting her move in….that’s like advertising that she didn’t know him! Oh well, water under the bridge! LOL

    • “While I’ve read plenty Stephen King over the years, I haven’t read the Dark Tower series”

      I’ve read a lot of SK novels as well, but didn’t get into The Dark Tower series until recently, despite a friend urging me to read them for years. I absolutely love them…it’s like nothing else you’ve ever read. I’d definitely recommend the series.

      “Have to say that even Amy after one encounter with B&B could pick up on the ‘sex’ vibe…..but not so much for Hannah. I still say she didn’t care enough to even sense the ‘vibe’.”

      Yep…it funny that Hannah was barely more developed as a character than Amy was, which shows you that they were trying to tell us that she was temporary. It was just so hard to accept it when it was happening though…lol.

      “Hannah was getting exactly what she wanted….sex….nothing else….she also wasn’t putting much else into the relationship. She had to go ask Brennan what gift to give Booth as a thank you for letting her move in….that’s like advertising that she didn’t know him!”

      Yeah, even though it’s very difficult (still) to watch the first half of S6, it’s clear that TPTB were showing us that all Booth/Hannah really had was sex, whereas Brennan was the one who really knew him. I think it’s so sad that in this episode (The Man on Death Row) we saw that Brennan already knew exactly what Booth needed (in that conversation at Sid’s) and she was more than capable of being there for him, but she just couldn’t see it for so long.

      “Oh well, water under the bridge! LOL”

      Definitely! Now Brennan gets it all with Booth…sex and so, so much more!

  8. “Yeah, even though it’s very difficult (still) to watch the first half of S6, it’s clear that TPTB were showing us that all Booth/Hannah really had was sex, whereas Brennan was the one who really knew him.”

    I too find it still very difficult to watch the first half of s6. That HH chose to extend his silly story boggles my mind!

    ” I think it’s so sad that in this episode (The Man on Death Row) we saw that Brennan already knew exactly what Booth needed (in that conversation at Sid’s) and she was more than capable of being there for him, but she just couldn’t see it for so long.”

    Those deep seeded insecurities both B&B suffered from. They both knew….but didn’t think they could do it. Each with their abandonment issues….so very much alike!

  9. “For my money, Epps was the best serial killer on ‘Bones.’ He was menacing and threatening, and oozed danger.”
    Agree! When I first saw this episode, Bones was in season 6, but Epps creeped me out and how he “played” B&B. I was on the edge of my seat during the episode! Also loved when Brennan broke his wrist. She was more kick arse in the first 2 seasons.

    “I could have done without the pictures! LOL Hated the second so much, I would never willingly watch anything she was in! ”
    Me too!

    “Those deep seeded insecurities both B&B suffered from. They both knew….but didn’t think they could do it. Each with their abandonment issues….so very much alike!”

    Love early B&B, but am glad we know it all worked out, eventually!

  10. – love the pic of Booth and his shoulder holsters. 😍
    -I think in the first season also they were establishing that Booth being a sniper is causing him a lot of angst. A recurring theme that finishes up with Soldier episode, and continues to haunt him into the last season.

Leave a Reply

