Home » Basic » Woman in the Car (1×11)

Woman in the Car (1×11)

“The Woman in the Car”

 

Writer: Noah Hawley

Director: Dwight Little

car4

STACIE: I’m Stacie Goodyear and joining me on Wake Up, D.C. is Dr. Temperance Brennan.  She is the Author of the best-selling mystery novel “Bred in the Bone” and she’s also, now tell me if I get this wrong, an anthropologist who works with the F.B.I. to solve crimes?

BRENNAN: Yes, that’s correct.  I use the bones of people who have been murdered, or burned, or blown up, or eaten by animals or insect or just decomposed.

STACIE: Well that’s exciting…uh…Dr. Brennan your book has sold over 300,000 copies.  How do you juggle twin careers as a best-selling author and a crime-fighting scientist?

BRENNAN: Well, I do one, then the other.

STACIE:   And is the work enjoyable?  I mean, the part involving rotten bodies?

BRENNAN: Enjoyable?  Well, satisfying, yes.  Like cracking a code.  Bun in general, when you’re looking at someone who’s been brutally murdered . . . it’s complicated.

STACIE: Doesn’t leave you much time for a personal life, does it?

car5

Right on cue, Booth enters the scene.

car6

BRENNAN: It’s true I’m more focused on my career right now…

car7

Smile, Brennan!

 

 

car8

Can’t resist that charm smile!

STACIE: Most of our viewers are parents at home with their preschool-aged children. What will you tell your kids about the horrors that you see everyday?

 

BRENNAN: I’m not going to have any children.

STACIE: Really?

BRENNAN: Yes, really.

car9

And….there goes the interview.

 

Off to the crime scene…

BOOTH: One burned backpack, child-size sneaker plus the right side of her seat belt went missing, sliced away.

car3

BRENNAN: You think it was a kidnapping?

BOOTH: I have to act that way.  The first 48 hours after a child abduction are crucial.  That’s why you’re here.  You I.D. that victim, that tells me what kid I’m looking for.

Goodman comes in with a newcomer, of which Hodgins instantly dislikes.

car10

GOODMAN: Miss Pickering will require a few minutes of everyone’s’ time to perform a routine security review.  I expect everyone to be cooperative…

HODGINS: I’m not swearing any damn loyalty oath.

GOODMAN: …And civil.

PICKERING: Didn’t I see you on television this morning, Dr. Brennan?

BRENNAN: How could I possibly know what you watched on television?

GOODMAN: Maybe work your way up to Dr. Brennan.

Brennan tells Booth she has an idea.

BOOTH: You know if this works, I’m gonna buy you a puppy.

BRENNAN: That would be inadvisable…You never told me how I was this morning.  I asked, “How did I do?’  You said, “We’ll talk about it in the car.”  We never did.

BOOTH: Was it your first TV interview?

BRENNAN: Yes.

BOOTH: It was fine, you know, for your first interview.

BRENNAN: That was a qualified response.

BOOTH: What?  No.  It was lively.

BRENNAN: Lively?  What kind of word is that?

BOOTH: It’s an adjective. Though ironically, most works that end in a “Y” are adverbs, like “Ironically.”

BRENNAN: Okay, what did I do wrong?

BOOTH: Next time, tell a funny story. Oh, and never, never say you don’t like children.

BRENNAN: I didn’t say I don’t like children.  I said I don’t want any.

BOOTH: On TV it’s the same thing.

Booth and Brennan hit the field. Brennan notices a car seat in Booth’s car.

car11

BRENNAN: Arrest someone really small lately? Car seat in back?

BOOTH: I had Parker for the weekend

BRENNAN: I don’t know how you do that.

BOOTH: Install a car seat in an F.B.I. vehicle?

BRENNAN: Bring a kid into this world, knowing what you know.  I’ll bet Parker was an accident, right? Because his mother wouldn’t marry you?  What?

BOOTH: It never occurred to you that might be a sensitive topic?

BRENNAN: Well, you could’ve gone with the very small felon story.

car12

LOL!

BOOTH: It’s better for Parker being in the world, someday you will see that.

BRENNAN: I won’t.

BOOTH: You’ll change your mind.

BRENNAN: I don’t do that.

BOOTH: You will.

 

carr

Yup.

 

Out in the field, they find a suspect who’s running away.

car13

BOOTH: F.B.I.!

DRIVER: U.S. Marshals!

BRENNAN: Forensic Anthropologist!  That’s why no gun.

car14

Hahahahaha.

Back on the case…

BRENNAN: You believe the boy is already dead?

BOOTH: I have to assume that he isn’t.

BRENNAN: Why make that assumption?

BOOTH: Because it gives me something to look forward to instead of dread.  Given a choice, I avoid dread.

BRENNAN: Okay.  That’s logical.

BOOTH: Is it?

BRENNAN: Why dread something that hasn’t happened yet?

They watch a video of the missing boy and his father riding a bike.

car15

BRENNAN: I’m just wondering what is the benefit from watching this video.

BOOTH: You put faces to names.  You get a sense of human beings.  Come on, Bones.  You’re the anthropologist.  What does this tape tell you?

BRENNAN: Learning to ride a bicycle is a kind of right of passage.  It has anthropological significance.

BOOTH: Really?

BRENNAN: It carries meaning beyond the simple mechanics of learning to ride a bike.

BOOTH: Are you being psychological?

BRENNAN: Definitely not.  Psychology is about the individual.  I’m speaking to a set of cultural proxies and mores.

BOOTH: What the hell are you talking about?

BRENNAN: The father is tight.  He’s holding his arms, touching his mouth—

BOOTH: So he’s nervous.  So what?

BRENNAN: Look at the boy.  He’s relaxed.  He’s not afraid.

BOOTH: So then, why was the boy stalling, huh?

BRENNAN: He’s not the father is.  The son understands that on some level, and he’s enabling his father to reach some level of comfort.  It’s a symbiotic relationship.

BOOTH: Relationship…that’s psychology.

BRENNAN: The boy trusts his father absolutely.  He’s confident.  The Father wishes he didn’t have to do this, but he’s accepted that he must in his role as a Father.  What?

Is Brennan reading emotions and body language? Isn’t that Booth’s thing? When did she lose this ability?

Meanwhile, Angela is getting questioned by the security person.

car16

PICKERING: Twenty-five address in six countries in eight years.

ANGELA: That’s weird right?

PICKERING: What where you doing in all those places?

ANGELA: Different things.  Mostly looking.  I’m an artist.

PICKERING: When was the last time you saw your husband?

ANGELA: My husband?

PICKERING: Yes.

ANGELA: Oh. Oh.  Wow.  You mean that actually took?  Really?  It didn’t seem legal.  We were in Fiji.  You know there was a fire dance.  You know how those things can go, right?

And Hodgins ISN’T being questioned…

HODGINS: Why aren’t you interviewing me?

PICKERING: It won’t be necessary.

HODGINS: I knew it.  They think my dossier is complete.  They think they know everything about me.  Well they’re wrong!

ZACH: Be happy they’re leaving you alone.

HODGINS: Harmless?  I’m harmless.

PICKERING: Yes.  You don’t pose a viable threat.

HODGINS: Well, that’s insulting.

PICKERING: If you want me to interview you I will.  But I’ll only discover what’s already been found.  You are benign.

HODGINS: I am not benign lady.  I’m not harmless. I’m malignant. I’m a loaded cannon…I know things that would make your blood curdle.  Including a formula that literally curdles blood!

car17

Now it’s Zach’s turn-

car18

PICKERING: Mr. Zach Addy I require your full attention.

ZACH: No you don’t, but I’ll give it to you.

PICKERING: I need to establish that you are not a threat to the security of this country.

ZACH: I’m getting a degree in forensic anthropology another in engineering.  What are you afraid of?  That I’ll build a race of criminal robots who’ll destroy the world.

PICKERING: Do you have that kind of fantasy often?

ZACH: Very often.

PICKERING: Does it concern you that such adolescent are a sign of emotional retardation?

ZACH: I’ve been told.  I’m working on it.

PICKERING: And can you understand why that concerns us?

ZACH: Not really.

PICKERING: Hypothetically, you have a piece of information.

ZACH: Secret and meaningful information?

PICKERING: Yes.  The security of the nation is at stake.  Could I bribe you to give it to me?

ZACH: No.

PICKERING : Threaten you?

ZACH: No.

PICKERING: What if I made a rational argument, very persuasive?

ZACH: Merely persuasive?

PICKERING: Irrefutable.  I make an irrefutable argument as to why you should give me this piece of information. Would you do so?

ZACH: Not without checking with Dr. Brennan or Angela first.  See what they’d say, maybe Agent Booth if he talked to me, he probably wouldn’t.  I’d check with Dr. Hodgins but he’d say it was all part of a conspiracy so I mostly only take his advice on women.

So when did Zach chuck all of that out the window to believe a creepy guy who makes teeth bombs?

Booth and Brennan are back on the case. Brennan gets playful.

BRENNAN: You just told me not to jump to a conclusion!

BOOTH: No offense intended.

BRENNAN: You were right.  I usually get to tell you that.

BOOTH: Well our relationship has taken a whole new turn.

With a new tip, they go out again in pursuit.

BOOTH: Secure the building, no one in or out.  Usually, I enjoy your company, Bones.  It’s times like these that you give me a little something else to worry about.

BRENNAN: You enjoy my company?

Relationship growth, awwwww….

They find the father and make a deal that he’ll testify if his son is found safe.

BOOTH: Mr Decker, you and Donovan, you have a code word?  Something to let him know that you sent me?

DECKER: Paladin.  Tell Donovan, “Paladin.”

CULLEN: Paladin.  Defender of the faith, protector.  Suits you Booth.

BRENNAN: You know what?  You tough guys are all very sentimental.

They get sent a finger in the mail.

car20

BRENNAN: Who does this?  Cuts the finger off an eight-year-old boy.

BOOTH: Mercenaries.  Professionals.  They don’t feel a thing.

BRENNAN: I feel things Booth.

BOOTH: I never said you didn’t Bones.

BRENNAN: I’m a professional, too.  I do better work if I only see the finger and not the child.  It doesn’t mean I’m like them.

BOOTH: Look, I know that Bones.  But what I also know is that they made a big mistake sending us that finger.

BRENNAN: Why?  Because it made you mad?

BOOTH: No.  Because you’re going to use it to catch them.  So, you gather up your squint squad.  Let’s get to work.

The squints find some intricate evidence.

BOOTH: We’re looking for an abandoned gas station or mechanic shop.   You know you guys are geniuses.

ZACH: How do we find that?

BOOTH: I work for the F.B.I., idiot.

HODGINS: Way to go Zach.  We went from genius to idiot in 3 seconds.

That scene just cracked me up!

Meanwhile, Brennan is getting interviewed.

PICKERING: Can you tell me what you were doing in Cuba?

BRENNAN: Only if you tell me first.

PICKERING: I beg your pardon?

BRENNAN: I don’t know your security clearance.

PICKERING: Well, what is your security clearance?

BRENNAN: You should check with the state department.

PICKERING: I’m from the state department.

BRENNAN: Then that should make it easy for you.

PICKERING:When you were in Cuba, did you meet with a man named, Juan Guzman?

car21

BRENNAN: Hello. It’s Dr. Brennan from the Jeffersonian.  You told me to call you if anyone asked about . . . you know, him.  Someone from the state department named Samantha Pickering.

PICKERING: Pickering. Yes sir.  Yes.  I’ll wait . . . I’ll wait here.

car22

BRENNAN: Any more questions?

PICKERING: No.  Uh, no.  In fact the entire review has been suspended.  I’m to wait here for someone to come and destroy my notes.

Don’t mess with Brennan. Now, for some partner learning time.

BRENNAN: You can triangulate her position?

BOOTH: Yeah to within 75 square miles.  There was six abandoned gas stations in that area.  There were five urban one rural.  S.W.AT.’s team gonna check them all out but I think it’s the rural one.

BRENNAN: Why?

BOOTH: Because I use to do this kind of work.

BRENNAN: What, rescuing people?

BOOTH: Or being the person they needed to be rescued from.

BRENNAN: Oh.

They are conversing with SWAT about what to do.

car23

BRENNAN: What about me?

BOOTH: Wait outside.

BRENNAN: But I don’t wanna miss anything.

BOOTH: Bones these guys aren’t like anyone you’ve every come up against.  Please, just be someone you aren’t for the next ten minutes and hang back.  Please.

This time, Brennan agrees. Booth goes in.

car24car25

They save the boy, and now its time to wrap it all up.

car26

BOOTH: We’ll let the grand jury figure that out.  We did our job.

BRENNAN:   It’s not often I get to help save someone before they die.

BOOTH: Bones, every time you catch a murderer, you save his next victim.

BRENNAN:   This is different.

BOOTH: Yeah.  Still glad you don’t have any kids?

BRENNAN: Yeah. Why?

BOOTH: Looking at that boy and his dad.  I just thought you’d change your mind.

BRENNAN:   No.  Still glad you do have a kid?

BOOTH: Gladder today than yesterday.

BRENNAN:   Doesn’t make any sense.

BOOTH: Yeah, it’s complicated.

car27

Atta boy/girl 🙂

 

 

 

This episode had a lot of Booth gun action. Here’s a bonus one from mid-episode:

car19

7 thoughts on “Woman in the Car (1×11)

  1. Thoughts about this episode:
    -“BRENNAN: I’m not going to have any children.” Lol, Never say Never…!

    -“BRENNAN: Bring a kid into this world, knowing what you know. I’ll bet Parker was an accident, right? Because his mother wouldn’t marry you? What?” OMG, Brennan! Never one to sugar coat an issue. But…we now know that Booth & her had Christine before they were married. Again, never say never.

    BOOTH: You’ll change your mind.
    BRENNAN: I don’t do that.
    BOOTH: You will.
    Love it! Hindsight is 20/20

    -“So when did Zach chuck all of that out the window to believe a creepy guy who makes teeth bombs?” Lol, bnb!
    Love the Booth as a dad interaction. Early B&B premonitions about their children! Booth gun action in FBI vest is always welcome!
    2 more pics-

    I remember seeing this ep. for the first time and loving that Booth was a father.

  2. 👍👍👍

    One of my favorite episodes in S1. Still stands strong throughout the 12 seasons. Everything just popped. The characters, the case, the relationships. Booth & Zack & Hodgins lab scene still cracks me up. Booth rescuing the little boy 😭 Cullen was a gem “PALDIN”. The kid’s finger sent to the FBI was pretty hard hitting of Bones writers in those days & the heartbreak of the little boy & his family, in S12 they would of had Aubrey make a joke he wanted a hotdog now *eye roll* I digress… B&B were so great their chemistry was zinging , Brennan getting to see just what being a father meant to Booth and more insight into his life before the FBI all adding more layers to their partnership & love/friendship *love this episode*

    Again – PALDIN 😭

  3. “, in S12 they would of had Aubrey make a joke he wanted a hotdog now *eye roll* ”
    That is for sure! They certainly had better writers in the earlier seasons. First time I saw that ep. I gasped over the kids finger being sent to them!!

    I also loved this exchange:
    BRENNAN: Any more questions?
    PICKERING: No. Uh, no. In fact the entire review has been suspended. I’m to wait here for someone to come and destroy my notes.
    I remember thinking that Brennan was very powerful in her role/job. One phone call is all it took.

    ” B&B were so great their chemistry was zinging ”
    Again, something that went missing the last 3 seasons! I know HH left, but for gods sake, they couldn’t find writers that could write B&B chemistry??!! I think, MIchael Peterson, put the kibosh on any B&B romance. Which was a damn shame!!!! 😭
    We got ripped off the last few seasons of any B&B romance, and lack of interesting cases, for the most part.

  4. The show is really starting to hit its groove by now in this season. We’ve developed both main characters enough that we understand why Brennan wouldn’t want kids and we know why Booth is so passionate about pursuing this kid. It starts to dig into the side characters more, like with the squint interviews. B&B are finding their partner groove. Both are feeling each other up….I mean out….and even though they disagree about bringing children into the world, they both care about truth, justice, and getting bad guys. I liked when Brennan listened to Booth and his expertise at the end when he said these guys are really bad, don’t go in. He could concentrate on the kid and getting him to safety and not worry about her in there too. I just liked how in the moment, she understood the danger and just nodded to him. They respect each other’s work, even if they don’t always agree, there is that respect level really forming between them.

Leave a Reply

