Home » Basic » The Man with the Bone (1×18)

The Man with the Bone (1×18)

 

 **Had a hard time finding pics for this one!**

 

Episode 1×18

Written By: Craig Silverstein

Directed By: Jesús Salvador Trevino

 

BOOTH: Welcome to the dungeon.

BRENNAN: Why do the F.B.I. always stick their morgues in the most depressing basement they can find?

BOOTH: Don’t be such a snob, Bones, okay? Not everyone gets to play in a multimillion-dollar lab, you know, with skylights.

BRENNAN: It’s because as a society we feel the need to hide death away. The people who deal with the dead are … viewed as freaks.

BOOTH: I don’t know if it’s the basement thing but this guy you’re about to meet, Harry, he’s a little twisted.

BRENNAN: You probably think I get some kind of rush when I work, that I’m somehow titillated.

BOOTH: Ah, choice of words, Bones. Choice of words.

_________________

HARRY: Agent Booth.

BOOTH: Harry Tepper, meet Doctor Temperance Brennan from the Jeffersonian.

HARRY: I’ve read her.

BRENNAN: Hello.

HARRY: She’s good. Read your novel too. The heroine’s very aggressive.

They bring Bones in to figure out what a body is holding in it’s hand. It’s sent to the lab.

BOOTH: Tertiary syphilis. Whoa… Wow, that’s the worst.

HODGINS: It was a common ailment in the seventeenth century.

BRENNAN: Which is where the bone dates from.

BOOTH: Say what?

ZACK: We ran a radiocarbon dating test. The finger’s over three hundred years old.

When he finds out where the body was found, Hodgins is all over it.

HODGINS: That’s where the money pit is.

BRENNAN: Money pit?

HODGINS: Legend is … Assateague Island is where Blackbeard buried his treasure.

He thinks he has figured out where the old bone is from…

HODGINS: Pirate.

BOOTH: Pirate?

ZACK: Pirate?

HODGINS: It’s a pirate.

The guys get all excited about the possibilities…

BRENNAN: Why are you guys smiling?

BOOTH, ZACK and HODGINS: Pirates!

ANGELA: It’s a guy thing, sweetie.

Brennan tries to understand the treasure hunters.

bone4

BRENNAN: Wha – people would do that? Sane people? Look for treasure?

BOOTH: Well, isn’t that what archaeologists do?

BRENNAN: Archaeologists are scientists who use evidence on which to base their explorations … not some pirate movie they saw when they were ten.

BOOTH: Yeah well, that, uh, 300-year-old bone that we just found sort of, uh changes things now, doesn’t it there, matey?

Bones interrupts the treasure hunters at the scene.

bone3

BRENNAN: F.B.I.! You’re all under arrest!

BOOTH: Come on, Bones, you don’t get to say that. I’m the one with the badge.

HARDEWICKE: The F.B.I.’s involved now?

BOOTH: Oh yeah, you know, murder on federal land. We like to, uh, poke around a little.

ROSE: Murder?

BRENNAN: *acting tough* Yeah. Murder.

Back at the lab, Hodgins is squeeing with joy at the prospects.

HODGINS: Blackbeard’s curse, man.

ZACK: A curse? We’re scientists.

HODGINS: Look at this. 1902. Two men disappeared while digging. Never found their bodies. Ho-ohhh, that’s very “curse-y”!

ZACK: So you believe in pirates.

HODGINS: Pirates aren’t Santa, Zack. They did exist, they did have treasures, and they did bury it.

ZACK: You know, I had an eye patch when I was six.

Hodgins offers to help them look for evidence.

HODGINS: I am a certified cave diver, which means I can go deeper than two hundred feet. I dove Mayan Blue, Dos Ojos, Tortuga …

BRENNAN: Ever dive Naharon?

HODGINS: Once.

BRENNAN: I named Naharon.

Drop the mic.

HODGINS: Well, then how can you say no to me?

Pick the mic back up. lol

 

BOOTH: You dive too?

BRENNAN: Yeah. I have the time because I don’t own a TV.

Drop that mic again and leave it!

Bones and Angela ponder the case.

ANGELA: So you believe there’s treasure?

BRENNAN: I believe there’s greed. That’s the real curse.

Hodgins dives and finds a complete skeleton.

 bone7

BRENNAN: He suffered from scurvy as well as tertiary syphilis.

BOOTH: What’s with the “tertiary”? Isn’t plain old syphilis bad enough?

ZACK: Scurvy, syphilis…pirate.

HODGINS: There is anthropological evidence which supports the claim that Blackbeard executed his burial crews after they were done digging.

BRENNAN: Okay. Let’s … say it’s a pirate.

HODGINS: Yes!

BRENNAN: This would be an extraordinary find.

The millionaire involved in the search is giving Goodman trouble about the investigation.

GOODMAN: This is going to be a headache. He has some very important friends.

BRENNAN: You know, I don’t understand why he’s so upset. It’s not like he needs the money.

BOOTH: But he has partners that do. Macy and Hardewicke were gonna split what they found.

BRENNAN: But Macy is dead.

BOOTH: Exactly. Leaving Hardewicke with a bigger piece of the pie.

Meanwhile, the bones go missing, leaving a furious Brennan.

bone2

BRENNAN: Bones don’t just disappear. I thought this was a secure facility. YOU assured me this was a secure facility. I could be working at Stanford, you know. This never would’ve happened at Stanford!

GOODMAN: We spend three-quarters of a million dollars annually on security.

BRENNAN: Obviously that’s not enough. I want my bones! (To Booth) Did you find my bones?

BOOTH: Oooh, maybe you just wanna, you know, chill a little?

BRENNAN: Chill??

BOOTH: Yeah, you know, take a pill?

BRENNAN: Listen, duuude … my lab was violated, my bones are stolen, so I think I’ll remain warm for a little while longer.

They find out the bones recovered from the water were not original to the site, but stolen and placed there.

CULLEN: Okay, let me see if I get this straight. The pirate bones you recovered came from the Jeffersonian to start with.

BRENNAN: Correct.

GOODMAN: 300-year-old bones stolen from our own pirate exhibit.

CULLEN: And then recovered by one of your own people?

BOOTH: Doctor Hodgins.

CULLEN: – who brought them back to the Jeffersonian … where they were stolen again?

BOOTH: Re-stolen … sir.

CULLEN: You got a security problem, Doctor Goodman.

GOODMAN: And when I find out who did this, you may have a murder problem.

Angela looks at the security tapes and finds a gap.

bone6

GOODMAN: Is there any way to tell if those tapes have been doctored?

ANGELA: Yeah. Since they’re physical magnetic tapes, not stored digitally.

GOODMAN: I always did like analog better. Now I know why.

ANGELA: My point is, is that I’m only an amateur at this, and I’m sure the security department is better equipped and trained –

What? She’s not an expert?! lol

The crew figure out one of the divers was the killer. But he has Hodgins back down in the cave.

BOOTH: Hey, Dane.

DANE: Oh hey … what’s up?

BRENNAN: We know it was you.

BOOTH: Bones, please.

BRENNAN: Why? You have a gun. What’s he got?

BOOTH: He’s got somebody in the shaft.

HODGINS: How far down am I?

DANE: You good enough to take that shot before I cut this air hose, ranger?

BOOTH: Pretty good.

BRENNAN: What? Just pretty good?

BOOTH: Please. I’m working.

HODGINS: (still underwater) Oh, my God. Can you see this, Dane?

DANE: What is it?

BOOTH: Why don’t you take a look?

DANE: Yeah. I do and you’ll shoot me.

HODGINS: Dane! Can you see this, man?

BRENNAN: It’s a gold coin.

DANE: Yeah. It’s, uh, probably something else they stole from the museum and threw in there.

HODGINS: This is real! It’s a big –

Booth shoots the monitor.

BRENNAN: You want to see it, you’re going to have to bring Hodgins up. Please. He’s down there because he believes. He’s no different than you, no different than your brother.

BOOTH: Bring him up.

BRENNAN: Do it for your brother.

Back at the lab, they wrap up the case and the boys go past to playing pirate.

 bone1

ZACK and BOOTH: Arrgh!

HODGINS: Arrrgh, matey!

 

Not an epic episode as far as character development or major changes, but we get to see Hodgins’ obsessions in a cute and fun way, not so much angry conspiracy ways. We get to see everyone gel as a team. B&B are still feeling each other up–I mean, out–when they are out in the field.  I think is a pretty solid ep overall.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Man with the Bone (1×18)

  1. ” **Had a hard time finding pics for this one!**

    Not the most popular Bones episode. But I agree, it was solid.
    -Loved sniper Booth shooting the monitor.
    -Hodgins was like a little kid going down to look for gold coins.
    -Again, I miss Dr. Goodman!! Loved his voice
    -Dr. Brennan misses her Bones!!
    ” We get to see everyone gel as a team. B&B are still feeling each other up–I mean, out–when they are out in the field. I think is a pretty solid ep overall.”

    Agreed!

  2. I miss Bones too!! Now that we are into September, it is hard to believe after 12 seasons, no new Bones….Waaaahhh! 😩 😩

  3. Nothing special about this episode so it is not one of my favorites.
    The guys were enjoying their boyhood dreams of being pirates or finding pirate treasure etc…

    The one interesting thing is how believably creepy they make the coroner in this episode! LOL I mean, it’s not the high end of the medical field.
    Then the next season HH waltzes in with a sexed up Coroner who supposedly has administrative abilities sleeping with Booth! Yea – not believable! Coroner’s are not usually the top doc’s AND I would never want one in on my emergency surgery! (aka s8 when Brennan was shot). They literally had nothing for the character to do that episode, so they threw her into the operating room! I found it insulting to my intelligence, but I digress! LOL

Leave a Reply

