Home » Basic » The Man in the Morgue (1×19)

The Man in the Morgue (1×19)

“The Man in the Morgue”

Episode 1×19

Written by: Elizabeth Benjamin & Noah Hawley

Directed by: James Whitmore, Jr.

man13

Brennan finds herself in trouble after helping out post-hurricane Katrina. She is unsure of what happened to her as she speaks to the doctor and detective.

DOCTOR: Looks like someone stole your earring.  Ripped it right out of the lobe.

BRENNAN: I don’t know what happened to me. Detective Harding, I didn’t know who else to call.

DETECTIVE HARDING: I need blood samples on this clothing. Maybe we’ll get lucky and they won’t all come from you.  Still hazy on the details?

BRENNAN: I’m not hazy on the details.  I…I don’t remember anything.

DETECTIVE HARDING: Nothing?

BRENNAN: Um, Dr. Legiere knocking over a tray of instruments at the morgue.  Then…mm…nothing.

DETECTIVE HARDING: That was the day before yesterday.

BRENNAN: I requested a rape kit.

DOCTOR: No sign of sexual activity forced or otherwise.

Booth charges in, all his focus on Brennan.

man3

WOMAN #1: Sir, sir, you can’t go in there.

BOOTH: Bones, you okay?

man4

BRENNAN: Booth, I told you not to come.

DETECTIVE HARDING: Who’s this?

BRENNAN: He’s FBI.  We’re sort of partners.

DETECTIVE HARDING: Guy flies down from D.C.?  You’re more than “sort of.”

Brennan shows Booth her missing earring.

BOOTH: You’re worried about an earring?  You should really be worried about losing a whole day.

BRENNAN: I know.  It’s stupid.  But these earrings were my mother’s.

DOCTOR: Amnesia caused by any traumatic event, injury or drug, can erase memories before the event, not just after.

BOOTH: Great, we’ll just wait for a tox screen.

DOCTOR: It’s gonna be at least 24 hours.

BOOTH: (getting upset) 24 hours?

DOCTOR: Well, most of the labs in the area were destroyed by the hurricane.

DETECTIVE HARDING: We’ll find out what happened.  You just take care of your…uh…partner.

man2

Oh, he will.

 

 

The lab has been working on x-rays that Brennan doesn’t remember sending them.

BRENNAN: I sent you the X-rays of a murder victim?

BOOTH: How’d he die?

ANGELA: Is that Booth?

BRENNAN: Yes.

ANGELA: You’re hopping the Streetcar Named Desire with Booth?  Oh, I love this.

ZACK: Obviously, they’re working the murder of John Doe 361 together.

BRENNAN: Precisely.

LOL

BRENNAN: No.  And it’s a murder. Oh, I’m hungry.

BOOTH: Well, when was the last time you ate?

BOOTH: Oh, my bad.  You have amnesia.

(This appears to be the same set used for the Royal Diner in Washington, D.C., used in season 2.)

man5

Brennan has memories of a voodoo connection. They investigate.

SAM POTTER: It’s a gris-gris bag.  It’s a mojo.  This one is meant to silence the dead so they can’t speak.

BOOTH: Well, usually dead people are pretty much silent on their own.

BRENNAN: Voodoo embraces the premise that spirits can speak to us from beyond the grave.

 

SAM POTTER: Voodoo is all about the balance of the forces.  That wind, the flood, this death – it’s all out of balance now.  Katrina was Armageddon for the ones who love balance.

SAM POTTER: Dr. Brennan, a lost day?  Perhaps a spell was cast on you as well.

BRENNAN: No disrespect, Sam, but it’s not my religion.

Then they discuss in the car…

BOOTH: Voodoo.  Who’s going to believe that stuff?

BRENNAN: It’s a religion.  No crazier than – well, what are you?

BOOTH: Catholic.

BRENNAN: They believe in the same saints you do, and prayer. What they call spells, you call miracles.  They have priests.

BOOTH:   We don’t make zombies.

BRENNAN:   Jesus rose from the dead after three days.

BOOTH:   Jesus is not a zombie.  All right?  Man.  I shouldn’t have to tell you that.

man6

 

Back home, Angela is getting concerned.

ANGELA:   Why haven’t you come home?

BRENNAN: Pretty soon, Ange.

ANGELA:   Is Booth there socially?

BRENNAN:   No, of course, not.

ANGELA: All right, what’s going on?

BOOTH:   Okay, Bones has amnesia because a voodoo murderer put a spell on her to keep her from solving the murder of John Doe 361.

BRENNAN: That’s a huge supposition.

ANGELA: That’s fine if you don’t want to tell me.

A doctor Brennan worked with turns up dead. Booth spots her earring at the scene and swipes it. On their way out, the detective threatens them.

DETECTIVE HARDING:   I’m gonna tear this place apart.  If I find one piece of evidence that ties you to this scene, I will take you into custody.

Later, they talk.

BOOTH:   Can I make a lifestyle suggestion?

BRENNAN:   Go ahead.

BOOTH:   You know, vacation.  It’s from the Latin, “vacatio.”  It means, you know, “freedom” or “release.”  You might want to consider that next time.

(Booth displaying that hidden intelligence!)

BRENNAN:   Learning Latin?

BOOTH:   This is the opposite of vacation.  No wonder you snapped, went insane and totally lost your mind.

They conference with the Jeffersonian to chat about clues. Booth is feeling sassy.

ANGELA:   Uh, I tried to make a digital positive, but it didn’t work.

BRENNAN: Why?

BOOTH:   Voodoo probably.

ZACK: That makes no sense.

BOOTH: Voodoo.  It’s probably voodoo.

ANGELA:   Voodoo?

BRENNAN: Okay, quit saying voodoo.

BOOTH:   Yeah, because, you know, it’s not a factor.

LOL.

HODGINS:   There’s evidence of particles on the bones, but there is no way for me to know what they are.

ZACK:   Probably dirt.

HODGINS:   Yes, thank you, Zack.  But dirt is a meaningless word.

Say it with me guys “diatomaceous earth!!” haha

HODGINS:   Is it sandy?  Hm?  Silty, “humusey”?  Is it clay?  Is it more organic than mineral?  Is it soil?  Is it pulverized gravel?  What minerals are in it?  Are the minerals crystalline?  See, these are all details a person cannot get off an X-ray no matter how long he stares at it.

B&B are discussing the case.

BRENNAN: It could have been me.

BOOTH:   Do you remember that?

BRENNAN:   Look at it objectively.  Graham Legiere was killed between 11:00 p.m. Tuesday and 3:00 a.m. Wednesday.  Not only do I not have an alibi, I…I can’t even explain to myself where I was.  It could’ve been me.

BOOTH: No, it couldn’t.

BRENNAN:   Yes.  Wha…how do you know?

BOOTH:   I just know, okay?  I’d bet my professional career on it.  I already did.

BRENNAN:   What?

BOOTH:   Nothing.

BRENNAN:   What did you do?

BOOTH:   Bones!  Stop.  This is the last time and place that you want to be rational, okay?  Let’s just be wildly emotional and assume that you didn’t psychotically murder a coworker who invited you over for dinner.

The door bursts open and Detective Harding rushes in with several other policemen behind her also with guns. Booth instantly pulls his own weapon out.

DETECTIVE HARDING:   Put down your weapon, Agent Booth.

BOOTH: Put down your weapon.  There’s no threat from us.

DETECTIVE HARDING:   You’re holding a gun on me.

BOOTH:   Yeah, well, you know, my finger here is not on the trigger.  It’s the best I can do under the circumstances.

DETECTIVE HARDING: Holster your weapons.

Don’t mess with Booth when he’s feeling all fierce!

The detective wants to arrest Brennan.

DETECTIVE HARDING:   Now, please.  Step away from my collar.

BOOTH:   I’m afraid I can’t let that happen.

Brennan gives herself up.

BOOTH:   Bones!  Geez!

BRENNAN:   It’s better if nobody else dies while we get to the bottom of this.

BOOTH:   Well, you know what, I wasn’t planning on dying.

BRENNAN: It’s not you I worry about.  Ow.  You’re welcome to the room.  It’s paid for.

ENTER CAROLINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

man

JULIAN: I hope you’ve kept your mouth shut.

BOOTH:   Hey, Temperance Brennan, Carolyn Julian.  She’s your lawyer.  She’s from the U.S. Attorney’s Office.  She’s the best there is.

BRENNAN:   I’ve told Detective Harding everything I know so far.

JULIAN:   She’s a fool.  You didn’t tell me she’s a fool.

BOOTH:   Look, she’s a brilliant forensic anthropologist.

BRENNAN:   Well, I have three degrees.  I’ve pioneered research in…

JULIAN:   Three degrees and still a fool. This interview is over, Rose.  I need to speak with my client alone before she gives herself a lethal injection.

man7

BOOTH: Okay, Bones, what the hell where you talking to her for?

BRENNAN:   I was just trying to help.

JULIAN:   You sew those lips together, girl, because there is no such thing as “help” in the New Orleans Police.  They just want to close the case as quickly and easily as they can.  And you are making it Christmas time for them.

BOOTH:   Okay, listen, there’s no way that Bones could’ve killed Legiere.  I mean sh…it’s…it’s just not her.  I mean look at her.

JULIAN:   I am doing you a favor taking this case, Booth.  But as the lady cop says, I’m a prosecutor.  And as it stands now, I could try this case in my p.j.’s and still get a conviction.

BRENNAN:   Well, shouldn’t you get to know your clients before you make snap judgments.

BOOTH:   Bones!

JULIAN:   Fine.  Stop me when I get something wrong.  Trained in three types of martial arts, two assault charges, registered marksman with the N.R.A., hunting licenses in four states…

BOOTH:   You hunt?

BRENNAN:   Well, only for food.

JULIAN:   Shot an unarmed man.

BRENNAN:   Well, he was trying to set me on fire.

BOOTH:   All right, just…just arrange bail for us, Carolyn, so we can get out of here.

JULIAN:   Sure.  Sure.  Don’t want to get this one mad at me.

I’d watch a spin off with just Caroline and Booth.

Later…

BRENNAN:   How’d I get away?  You know, Graham got killed.  I got away.  How’d I do that?

BOOTH:   You know, Bones, all those things that Carolyn mentioned, you know, the…the martial arts, the shooting, the…uh…the assaults…  It’s just…you’re the type of woman that fights.  Maybe they didn’t expect it.  Maybe they thought some kind of magic could hold you.

BRENNAN:   I don’t believe in magic.

BOOTH:   Exactly.  You’re a surprising woman.  Sometimes that’s enough for getting away.

BRENNAN:   Why are you nice to me?

BOOTH: Because.  Because they think they get away with it.

BRENNAN:   What?

BOOTH:   They burn their victim, they blow ’em up, they toss ’em in the ocean, they bury them in the desert, they…they throw ’em to wood chippers.  Sometimes, you know, years go by.  They relax.  And they start living their lives like they didn’t do anything wrong.  Like they didn’t spend somebody else’s life in order to get what they got.  They think they’re safe from retribution.  But, you make those bastards unsafe.  That’s why I’m nice to you.

man8

BRENNAN:   I couldn’t do that without you, Booth.

BOOTH:   Yeah.  So…uh, you should be a little nicer to me, huh?

BRENNAN: I really should.

BOOTH:   Yeah.

man9

JULIAN: I walk in on something?

man21

 

BOOTH:   Nah, I don’t care what it looks like or how you’re reading the evidence, Carolyn.  She didn’t do it.

JULIAN:   Could be that’s true, Seeley.  You vouch for her, that’s good enough for me.  But, chéri, this looks bad.

Brennan calls into the lab, and ends up scaring the squints with her update.

man10

ANGELA: You know what?  This whole state of affairs where Brennan just runs around fighting crime?  It’s stupid.  It’s nuts.  Don’t you agree?

HODGINS:   Brennan will be fine, Angela.  She got bail and the murder charge won’t stick.

ANGELA:   What is going on with her?

HODGINS:   Angela. She started to change the day she met you.

man11

ANGELA:   What?

HODGINS:   She sees how you do it.  All fun and involvement and pizzazz.  Big, you know?  Big life.  Booth came along and gave her the opportunity, but she got the idea from you.  Brennan wants a big life like yours. That’s how it looks to me anyway.  But what do I know?  I’m a bug guy.  Bug and slime.  And, you know…dirt.

ANGELA:   Yeah.

HODGINS:   So…okay.

man12

ANGELA:   Hmm.

It’s the beginning, y’all. Should we tell them about MSVH??!?!??!?!

B&B find out the twisted voodoo connections and killer.

BRENNAN:   There’s your killer.  I’d really like to go home now.

BOOTH:   Yeah, me, too.

RICHARD BENOIT: Dr. Temperance Brennan, you leave here, you go home, it does not matter.  There are powers, dark powers to whom distance makes no difference.

man20

He starts to chant a spell at her but she pokes him in the eyes.

BRENNAN: I’ve noticed that very few people are scary once they’ve been poked in the eye.

They head home.

BRENNAN:   Benoit used Hurricane Katrina as a diversion to take the soul of a voodoo priest.

ANGELA:   And he killed his own daughter.

HODGINS:   Dark sorcerers suck, man.

BOOTH:   Oh, but, you know, he intended to bring her back to life.

ZACK:   There’s not really any such thing as spells and magic.

HODGINS:   What are you talking about?  He put a forgetting hex on Dr. Brennan.

BRENNAN:   But it wasn’t the spell that made me forget.  It was the drugs.  Rohypnol.

BOOTH:   Blood test didn’t find any.

BRENNAN:   Gamma hydroxybutyrate?

BOOTH:   Not a trace.

BRENNAN:   Sodium pentothal?

BOOTH:   Nope.

BRENNAN:   Severe emotional trauma.

ANGELA:   Honey, even I think you’re too strong-minded for that.

BRENNAN:   There were too many delays in doing my blood test.  That, plus the adrenaline of my escape.  The drugs were out of my system.

HODGINS: They put the voodoo on you, baby….I didn’t really mean to call you “baby.”

BRENNAN:   You guys, stop, now.  I mean it.

ZACK:   Do you believe in voodoo?  Because even if a small part of you believes in it, then it has a grip.

BRENNAN:   I do not believe.

BOOTH: Maybe just a little?

BRENNAN:   No.

BOOTH:   Good.  Because, you know, if you have any doubts, we’ll just have Benoit send you back one of those little satanic mojo pouches from prison.

BRENNAN:   Booth, objects have no intrinsic power.  A person’s future does not depend on some…thing.  Things are just things.  They do not have magical meaning or powers.

Booth reveals the earring.

man1

BRENNAN:   Where’d you get that?

BOOTH:   What does it matter?  It’s just a thing, right?

BRENNAN:   My mothers’ earring.

BOOTH:   No, uh, magical power over your future.

ANGELA:   Does that prove something?

BRENNAN:   Yeah.  It proves something.

 

Something. 🙂

mann

18 thoughts on “The Man in the Morgue (1×19)

  1. I was never a fan of this episode and the Voodoo thing. But the B&B moments are delicious!
    – Booth showing up to check on Brennan.
    “Brennan: He’s FBI. We’re sort of partners.
    HARDING: Guy flies down from D.C.? You’re more than “sort of.”
    But they refuse to admit that yet!!
    -When Booth tells her she should be nicer to him and she agrees….definitely sparks flying.

    And Caroline!!
    ” Three degrees and still a fool. This interview is over, Rose. I need to speak with my client alone before she gives herself a lethal injection.” Lol, Love classic Caroline!!
    – Brennan poking the guy in the eyes, lol! Can you imagine Brennan in season 11-12 doing that??
    -Booth with the earring, reminds me of “Oh there’s magic”

    And the end pic bnb is delicious!

    BRENNAN: Yeah. It proves something.
    Something. 🙂

    So glad it all worked out eventually!!

  2. But the B&B moments are delicious!

    This is why I love this episode! I really amazes me that it’s a season one episode for some reason. Perhaps because B&B seem so close in this one? Just love protective Booth running to the rescue and Brennan actually NOT pushing him away in any manner. She realizes she needs him and accepts that help.
    Totally love the Caroline moments. She always had the funniest lines all the way through the 12 year run!

    ZACK: Do you believe in voodoo? Because even if a small part of you believes in it, then it has a grip.
    BRENNAN: I do not believe.
    BOOTH: (leans in) Maybe just a little?
    BRENNAN: No.
    BOOTH: Good. Because, you know, if you have any doubts, we’ll just have Benoit send you back one of those little satanic mojo pouches from prison.
    BRENNAN: Booth, objects have no intrinsic power. A person’s future does not depend on some…thing. Things are just things. They do not have magical meaning or powers.

    Booth is leaning back in his chair, head resting on his hand, listening. He opens his hand and lets the earring that he picked up in Legiere’s house dangle for her to see. Brennan stares at it a moment.
    BRENNAN: Where’d you get that?
    BOOTH: What does it matter? It’s just a thing, right? He gives her the earring.
    BRENNAN: My mothers’ earring. Booth gets up and begins to leave.
    BOOTH: No, uh, magical power over your future. Smiling at her, he exits the office.
    ANGELA: Does that prove something? Brennan stares at the earring and finally puts the pieces of the puzzle together.
    BRENNAN: Yeah. It proves something. She looks at the earring and smiles.

    The ending of this one has always perplexed me. That earring and the meaning of Booth giving it back to her. I’m guessing that it means he has faith in her (he put his reputation/job on the line)? She knows he hid evidence because he knew she would never kill anyone? Is it the first inkling to her of how close they are? Or was it simply a sign that we were gonna find out more about her mom and set us up for more story?
    Am I missing something?

    • “The ending of this one has always perplexed me. That earring and the meaning of Booth giving it back to her. I’m guessing that it means he has faith in her (he put his reputation/job on the line)? She knows he hid evidence because he knew she would never kill anyone? Is it the first inkling to her of how close they are? Or was it simply a sign that we were gonna find out more about her mom and set us up for more story?
      Am I missing something?”

      Same…the ending perplexes me. Does Brennan know that he found it at the crime scene (the house) and picked it up there? He doesn’t ever tell her that during the episode…did she just assume that’s where he found it?

  3. I think its an inside joke/moment between B&B that they don’t even tell the squints about. A true “what’s between us is ours”. The squints don’t know that Booth hid evidence to save Brennan and don’t really know what all went down while they were gone. I think its meant to show that their partnership is strong. While Brennan may protest about the meaning attached to objects, Booth knows that some things do still have meaning to her. They haven’t dug deeply into their family dramas yet, but they “get” each other on an elemental level.

    Basically, I think its written open-ended so that they can fill in all the blanks later how they want, but since we have the benefit of hindsight, we can see how it ties into the rest of the series 🙂

  4. I thought this was a strong S1 episode, the voodoo stuff isn’t on my radar, I am just focusing on some classic lines, the introduction of Caroline, the beautiful genuine scenes between B&B in the NOLA cafe that is not the Royal Diner redressed (it is but let’s ignore it 😉😉 K?) B&B were on fire this episode from Booth’s absolute faith in Brennan’s innocence, to Brennan appreciating what Booth brings to her world as a FBI agent & friend, to Booth returning her mother’s earring (+1 on bb explanation on it 👏) . And the gem that is Caroline! Still want to know how Booth & Caroline met. Guess it was through the FBI & case but still I would of liked details!!

  5. *I didn’t realize the Royal Diner had been seen before I read the transcript in preparation for this post! And I could totally see it after they mentioned it! Glad we’ve seen it since the beginning! haha
    *I didn’t mind the voodoo so much because it is a part of New Orleans culture so it made sense. Interesting tie in to actual Hurricane Katrina events. And interesting this post popped up right in the midst of another devastating real hurricane. I assume they’ve called in folks like the real Kathy Reichs to assist with victim identification and such things?
    *Loved seeing Caroline and realizing that we get to see much more of her in the series! Glad they decided to bring her back. I wonder if they meant to do that since the beginning or if they realized she had a great chemistry with the leads and asked her back?

  6. I only noticed the Royal diner after several rewatchs!!! I think they realized it really worked for B&B scenes and moments and they were like S2 onwards this is B&B place!!….from what I can remember David really loved working for Patti and championed her & Caroline onwards ❤

  7. Pros:

    – I love the way this episode was filmed. Stylistically it has a movie-like quality that reminds me of “Judas on a Pole”, another favorite.

    – I also like the writing on this episode (see below for exceptions). Co-written by Noah Hawley and it shows.

    – This is where we got the “Jesus isn’t a zombie” line. Usually I don’t like it when Brennan attacks Booth’s religious beliefs but this one was pretty funny.

    – Of course, I loved Booth’s speech to Brennan about why he’s nice to her.

    – This was a very, very good episode for Booth in terms of appearance…he looked fantastic the entire time. That jacket is a good look on him.

    Cons:

    – Got a little bit annoyed when Booth keeps saying “voodoo” about everything

    – Didn’t care for Booth calling Brennan Liiy Munster and telling her to act like a normal person

    – Not a con necessarily, but have you ever noticed that David pronounces certain words like “bail” in a weird way? I guess it’s a Philly accent?

    Random…it’s funny that Booth introduces Brennan to Caroline, but we found out in the 100th that Brennan already knew Caroline.

  8. ” This was a very, very good episode for Booth in terms of appearance…he looked fantastic the entire time. That jacket is a good look on him.”
    I always loved the green jacket! We saw a lot of it in Season 1 &2.

    -“have you ever noticed that David pronounces certain words like “bail” in a weird way? I guess it’s a Philly accent?”

    Lol, I noticed it before when he says the word “trailer”. It is a little different than my midwest accent!

  9. “Random…it’s funny that Booth introduces Brennan to Caroline, but we found out in the 100th that Brennan already knew Caroline.”

    Rewatched it…I guess Booth was just being funny, but I didn’t seem that way to me at first. It sounded like he was genuinely introducing Caroline to Brennan.

    The NOLA cop already knew her as well…she said something like “nice to see you again” as she left the office.

  10. Additional thoughts….

    I love, love, love the way Booth holds Brennan’s face with such tenderness. Man is already head-over-heels in love, even if he doesn’t realize it yet.

  11. My favorite scene was when Bones said “Don’t worry, the murder charge won’t stick” without any explanation leaving squints in awe.

  12. “I love, love, love the way Booth holds Brennan’s face with such tenderness. Man is already head-over-heels in love, even if he doesn’t realize it yet.”
    😘
    Yes!

    Paul?? I wonder if that is other paul from the old IMDb site??!!

    • I was on IMDB – I was a regular reader with a few postings. I am more analytical than creative. I still watch Bones and enjoy the scene studies.

  13. This episode was a nice subtle B&B episode. Small looks and gestures that hint at their bond. Not alot of big dramatic moments but things likeBooth’s concern for her, and her sweet smiles at him in the diner, are really wonderful. It’s a good one to rewatch and remember.

  14. Same…the ending perplexes me. Does Brennan know that he found it at the crime scene (the house) and picked it up there? He doesn’t ever tell her that during the episode…did she just assume that’s where he found it?

    Good Point Estella – how does Brennan even know where Booth found it!!
    I really like this episode for all the wonderful reasons you’ve all mentioned. Very well written. As far as meeting Caroline….this is where Brennan and Caroline met. I remember HH saying they had to switch things up a bit to fit Caroline and Cam into the 100th episode.

    • Booth had told he knew she was innocent and that he had already risked his career on it. When she questioned him, he didn’t answer. When he gave her the earring, she knew where it was found.

      • “I was on IMDB – I was a regular reader with a few postings. I am more analytical than creative. I still watch Bones and enjoy the scene studies.”
        I remember otherpaul! We welcome your comments! 😘

        “When she questioned him, he didn’t answer. When he gave her the earring, she knew where it was found”

        Agreed!

Leave a Reply

