Home » Basic » The Intern in the Incinerator (3×6)

The Intern in the Incinerator (3×6)

“The Intern in the Incinerator”

Episode 3×06

Written By: Christopher Ambrose

intern4

intern2

The victim is someone who worked at the Jeffersonian, whom Angela knew. Cam weirdly wants to set up Booth as her pretend boyfriend.

BOOTH: You never told them we broke up?

CAM: You wanna’ make a man miserable on his sixtieth birthday?

BOOTH: You want me to pretend that I’m your boyfriend?

CAM: Yes, between six-thirty and ten on Thursday.

BOOTH: Camille, you’re an adult. You can’t live your life afraid of what your family thinks!

CAM: Seeley, it’s not going to be like this forever. One day he’ll die!

We get a new name with the “widow’s son” case.

TYLER: The spinner appears to be Masonic in origin: bloodstone, gold. What’s interesting is, in the center, instead of the traditional “G” for God, there’s a skull.

BRENNAN: Gormogon iconography.

TYLER: Strange, huh?

BOOTH: Gormogon? Okay, what’s that?

BRENNAN: It’s an eighteenth century . . .

TYLER: It’s an extinct group dedicated to eradicating the influence of the Free Masons and Illuminati in Europe in the eighteenth century. That could be the largest collection of Gormogon artifacts in the world.

_____________________

BRENNAN: If Gormogon killed her, then Gormogon is one of us, somebody who works at the Jeffersonian.

BOOTH: You went there.

BRENNAN: What?

BOOTH: You went there and you gave him a nickname!

B&B continue to investigate. They discuss interrogations.

BRENNAN: Why do you want me to interrogate Aldrige?

BOOTH: Because he thinks I’m stupid.

BRENNAN: You’re not!

BOOTH: Thanks, Bones, I know.

intern8intern5

BRENNAN: Well, you’re the one that told me that personalizing the victim doesn’t work with sociopathic serial killers. They lack all empathy. You told me that!

BOOTH: We are not looking for gorgonzola today!

BRENNAN: Gormogon. Gor-mo-gon.

BOOTH: We’re looking for someone who murdered one girl and tossed her down an incinerator chute. Entirely different kind of a guy, so, inside.

BRENNAN: Don’t- tell me- Don’t- You are not bossing me. Stop it.

Later, they find their suspect hung in the vault, with a “suicide note”. Cam disputes that and calls it murder.

BRENNAN: Well, he was hung up in the vault. It all circles back to the vault.

CAM: It all circles back to the authentications department who happen to be working in the vault.

BRENNAN: Why don’t you and Booth think that Gormogon is behind these murders?

CAM: Because, as far as we know, he only kills males, and snacks on them. Plus, there are far too many other reasonable suspects.

The team comes to the head honcho with their investigation so far and hit a snag.

CAM: Dr. Bancroft, it’s our professional opinion here in the forensics lab, that Dr. Aldrige was murdered.

BANCROFT: Fine. Prove it. But watch your backs. Because if I’m wrong and you’re right that means that there’s still a serial killer out there. And if I were the killer, you’d be next Ms. Montenegro.

ANGELA: Why me?

BANCROFT: Well, you identified the Reardon girl, you figured our this hologramatic impalement scenario. Be careful.

ANGELA: I feel like I was just threatened.

Booth and Brennan argue passwords.

BRENNAN: Wait, you have a password?

BOOTH: Yeah, Cam’s. What? She won’t mind.

HODGINS: Well, Kristen Reardon worked on a lot of sixteenth century Baroque wood carvings.

BOOTH: I know your password too. It’s daffodil.

BRENNAN: I never told you that!

BOOTH: What? I got eyes. I mean you guys aren’t exactly CIA material.

HODGINS: Daffodil?

BRENNAN: What? They’re pretty.

intern9

BOOTH: Daisy?

BRENNAN: How did you know?

BOOTH: It’s your second favorite flower. I know you Bones. Try a planet…..Jupiter!

They decide to set a trap for the suspect and wait in a stakeout.

intern6

BOOTH: Little game there, Bones – who shows up for the Iraqi Bambi?

BRENNAN: There are a number of possible candidates.

BOOTH: Come on, I mean, it’s a stake out. Play with me. Speculate. My money’s on Bancroft.

BRENNAN: The head of the Jeffersonian? Why?

BOOTH: He’s a doughy.

BRENNAN: You think he’s a murderer just because you don’t like him?

BOOTH: Bones, it’s a game.

BRENNAN: Well, there’s no way it’s Bancroft, he has a doctorate.

BOOTH: Dr. Kevorkian has a doctorate.

They find out it was another doctor who ran a secret smuggling ring at the Jeffersonian and wrap it up.

BOOTH: Okay, don’t take it so hard.

BRENNAN: I’m not taking anything hard. What are we, Russian?

BOOTH: Nostrovia. Yeah. I’ll tell you what else I know. What you’re taking hard is, uh, the fact that it happened in your house.

BRENNAN: It’s not my house!

BOOTH: Not where you sleep! Okay, your favorite place, the house of reason, the Jeffersonian.

BRENNAN: No. It’s not my favorite place.

BOOTH: Yes, it is.

BRENNAN: What, no it’s not- how do you know?

BOOTH: Daffodil. Daisy. Jupiter. Okay, I’ll tell you what else I know, you were hoping that it was gorgonzola.

BRENNAN: Gormogon.

BOOTH: Ah! So you admit it!

BRENNAN: Accidentally! Does- does that count?

BOOTH: Yes.

intern3

BRENNAN: Nonetheless, I shall be vigilant.

BOOTH: “Nonetheless”?

BRENNAN: I’m not gonna’ have a headache tomorrow, am I?

BOOTH: Well, we’re gonna’ find out. Hodgins and Jack, they do their experiments. We do ours. To Gorgonzola.

BRENNAN: Gormogon.

BOOTH: You missed.

intern1

 

Take aways:

-“Camille” and “Seeley” are awkward

-Gormogon enters our lexicon

-So Brennan…out of all the Jeffersonian people/squints that might betray her, who she’s truly concerned about is Booth betraying her.

-Booth knows her favorite things and her passwords!!!! That is just speaks to the intimacy of their partnership and how observant Booth really is 😉

5 thoughts on “The Intern in the Incinerator (3×6)

  1. As the story line got into Gormogon, I was intrigued. It was suspenseful! Lol, Booth purposely mispronounces it. Remember GordonGordon said he does that on purpose so people will underestimate him.

    Some lovely B&B moments-

    BRENNAN: How did you know?
    BOOTH: It’s your second favorite flower. I know you Bones.
    Awww… that is so cute!

    Great take on the bnb!
    -“Booth knows her favorite things and her passwords!!!! That is just speaks to the intimacy of their partnership and how observant Booth really is 😉”

    -“So Brennan…out of all the Jeffersonian people/squints that might betray her, who she’s truly concerned about is Booth betraying her.”

    Brennan put herself out there for Booth, showing vulnerability by asking him if he would betray her. I think it just sort of popped out of her. And Booth realizing how serious she was sets her straight with his “No” and that look!

    So, in Soccer Mom we get Booth who’s been drinking and is a bit tipsy and flirty with Brennan. In this ending both of them are drinking together. Perhaps that is why Brennan is able to ask Booth about betraying her.
    Other times drinking together…
    -PitSotH when Booth fires Brennan and they end up kissing in the rain.
    -At the end of Daredevil when Brennan stays and drinks with Booth.

    From Sara Seals 100 days of Bones-
    ‘Cam…well, haha. I think at this point in my BONES fan-history, it was still too soon for me to have warmed up enough toward her to be okay with her asking Booth to her dad’s birthday dinner. In hindsight, I suppose there aren’t a lot of signs to prove they are friends, so I was still kind of like, “um…no!” But the scene where she and Felicia are arguing, but then turn on Booth; that’s pretty funny.

    Also in the funny column, and totally, so close to being the quote of the day, is the scene where Booth and Brennan see a body fall off the top of the Jeffersonian, and when they rush out, Hodgins and Zack are explaining their process. “What’s with the dummy, dummies?” Ah, one of my all time favorite lines from Booth.”

    I love how protective Booth is toward Brennan at the end of this episode. Booth knowing Brennan’s favorite flowers and planet is, in my opinion, more meaningful than just about anything else we’ve seen so far in the previous #48 episodes. It personifies Booth, and his quiet confidence regarding Brennan. I’m not saying he’s always sure of where he stands with her, but he doesn’t go around spouting off everything he knows all the time; he plays it cool.”

    She says it better than I could!

  2. This one isn’t one of my favorites because of the Cam stuff. I like that Booth knows Brennan’s passwords etc…but it was made less meaningful for me since he also knew Cam’s. So does that make Brennan equal to Cam at this point? Or does it just say that Booth can easily read some women?
    Cam always has to ruin things for me! LOL
    This made her seem so stupid in my eyes. Can’t be honest with Dad? Booth almost got her killed, why would Dad be so enamored by him? LOL

    I like the very end, but I have to endure the episode to get there! Have to agree about Booth’s Dummy/Dummies comment as being a gem! :))

  3. Cam never bothered me, as I knew she was never the endgame. I think the writers were trying to figure out her character initially, and it took some time to figure it out. It was cringey to remember how she acted in this episode but thankfully they went another direction lol and we didn’t get too much of it. I think Booth’s password knowledge spraks to that intelligence GGW told us that Booth likes to hide. He’s a good FBI agent and good people reader. To me, it just shows a skill set. But in this phase of Bones, the plot line that really bothered me is the Angela weird husband thing. I never got it, never understood it, and made Hodgins a kind of doormat. Not my favorite.

  4. Interesting episode. I remember watching it the first time I was really worried about Booth going to that party with Cam. This time knowing how everything turns out it wasn’t as awful as I remember. I kind of like Cam’s sister…too bad we never saw her again!

    Random observations:
    – Uh Booth, that outfit you wore when you were going to the party with Cam was atrocious. Yes, we know you look good in everything, but really?
    https://goo.gl/images/YBPx3R

    – I loved the whole ending scene, with Brennan asking Booth if he was going to betray her. Also, those little cups were super cute.

    – Hmmm, Brennan seems a little bit jealous when Cam mentioned that she had dinner with Booth, didn’t she?

    – Two things still make me laugh out loud in this ep….Booth with the chopsticks hanging over Hodgins’ wall, and when the body falls in front of the window and Booth ask Brennan to confirm that she saw it.

    – I think Brennan really enjoyed her solo interrogation and she did a great job!

  5. “Also, those little cups were super cute.”

    Haha, I thought it was funny they were drinking out of paper dixie cups.

Leave a comment