Home » Basic » 2/27 Random Thread

2/27 Random Thread

As requested 🙂

97 thoughts on “2/27 Random Thread

  1. So, it was the Oscars last night, which I did not watch, but got me thinking: Who amongst the cast/crew of Bones deserves all the awards? DB/ED (at least in past seasons), any of the squints, guest stars, short term characters? Music/costumes/sets?

    I think we’ve all agreed in the past that the music people deserve lots of praise for their spot on choices. To this day, I cannot hear Adele’s version of “To Make You Feel My Love” without thinking of MSVH’s birth. Well done.

  2. May I join you here? I haven’t watched new episodes since S9 but I miss having somewhere to talk about the early seasons (S1-7). If/when your threads move into that territory, I’d love to participate. I have a few posts on Sarah’s website and I write a little ‘Bones’ fanfiction (razztaztic).

    • MJ!!!!! *hugs* I have been going through old Bones Theory posts and reading our old comments and I was wondering about ya 🙂 You are welcome any time!!

      • Oh, the late, great and very lamented ‘Bones Theory.’ I probably spend an unhealthy amount of time on those posts and the ‘100 Days of Bones’ site. Good times.

        And thank you for approving me here!

      • When I get sad about Bones Season 12, I pop on Bones Theory and spend WAY too long on the Scene Studies. Specifically Passenger in the Oven. Sighhhhhh 😉

  3. Thanks for this thread bnb!!

    I did not watch the Oscars either, but what a snafu at the end! Snatch that statue out of their hands!

    Used to love the Bones music that they picked, but lately…well nothing has really stood out. And I think some episodes there is not even any. 😦

    One of my faves of course is from Woman in White “At Last”. Perfection!
    “Make You Feel My Love” I think more about Booth’s smile when Brennan tells him “I’m pregnant,..you’re the father” 🙂

    • I agree, jmg, that the music has not stood out to me in some time. I guess I should specify that mostly during the HH era is when Bones deserved the awards. 🙂

  4. Welcome MJ, The more the merrier! I remember you from the BT board! Too bad Sarah stopped it, but truthfully, what has been worthy of a scene study since Season 10 opener!
    Sighhhhh for sure!

    DB definitely deserves awards for his acting,Male in the Mail comes to mind, ED also for Doctor in the Photo.

  5. Does anyone know if Sarah plans to leave Bones Theory up and running? I love going there as well, but I have this fear that one day it will vanish. She must be paying for that site, and seeing as how she has moved on from Bones she might decide to shut it down.

    I hope not…it’s a comfort when things go bad on Bones, as is often the case in the last several season.

    • I’ll try to connect with Sarah. She responded to a Tweet of mine early in the season when I asked about BT up and running but then she never did get it up and running…but maybe I should check in with her and see if she’d be ok with that being a focus on here? Or should we just not rock the boat and go for it….What do you think?

      • “maybe I should check in with her and see if she’d be ok with that being a focus on here? ”

        Good point. I didn’t really think about how she might feel about us discussing BT posts, but that’s the kind of thing that might get the site deleted, if she isn’t ok with it.

        On the other hand, if you ask she might say no. Plus, BT is out there for public consumption, so it seems like fair game for discussions.

        I don’t know…maybe others on here will comment…lol.

      • I can ask her. We’re on FB and we’ve met a couple of times for weekends at a mutual friend’s lake house in the Yoop (Michigan Upper Peninsula). I don’t think she’ll say no, especially if the site remains open.

  6. Per Sarah, the BT/100 Days of Bones posts are available for use. She has no plans to update BT but also doesn’t plan to delete the website or otherwise close it.

  7. This is good news thanks for checking MJ ….it is a nice refuge sometimes to just go there and look at some of the threads! The new guys really don’t get the B&B characters.

  8. I love the Finder scene study “It Sure is Magicky” Love it! It is soooo a date B&B are on! And notice how sexy Brennan is dressed.

    Did Sarah say why she stopped posting on BT board? MY guess is she lost her passion for Bones and B&B lost their passion!

    Lol, I am from Michigan, so I know what a yooper is! Lol. Love the UP!!

    • She did not say specifically but she did mention that she hasn’t watched the show in a year or so. I admire her (and anyone!) who stuck past S9. I couldn’t.

      I love visiting the Yoop! Our friend (tantemary, not sure if anyone knows her from the old Bones-fandom) has a house right on Lake Michigan and it just gorgeous. We watched it go up via her pictures on FB and claimed privileges to visit. *lol* I’m a southern girl, though, so when we were there in October and IT SNOWED I almost went into hypothermia. 🙂

  9. Season 10 was OK, way better than what we are having now. The opening episode The Conspiracy in the Corpse had a great scene with B&B. Probably the last really romantic scene between the two of them. Plus David was shirtless ! Worth watching that scene just for that! 😍

    LOL MJ, when going to the UP you never know about the weather. Snow in October is a given. ❄️☃

  10. A local station TV 20 just showed commercial for Bones episode on Thursday. They are replaying Critic in the Cabernet followed by and in the Beginning.

    OMG I hit the record button. The only love scene of B&B in bed, Dream or not, love it! B&Bs relationship as a married couple is perfection in EitB! 😘😍❤️

  11. Didn’t DB just say yesterday no return to Buffy? I agree jmgx2, s 10 held our last really romantic scene! And we got a couple good kisses. I loved them in the closet in the 200th, I thought that was a cute call back to their ‘almost’ moments and then the final kiss. Booth kissed Brennan goodbye even after she had kicked him out. The coconut ice cream stuff AND ED was even pregnant and we got some kisses. I don’t get the new guys – zero romance and zero kisses. They are duds. Feel sorry for their spouses. LOL
    And now that they are married – we need to watch the dream love scene – they could end every episode with that and up ratings!! It’s a reality now, so why not just add it to the openings or endings once and awhile. Would have been freed up DB and ED a little. One scene they didn’t have to film a week! LOL

  12. “And now that they are married – we need to watch the dream love scene – they could end every episode with that and up ratings!! ”

    Could not agree more NWChick!!!

    • Love this. At one time I hoped we would get another one of these scene for real, but it never happened. Now we can’t even get a kiss…lol.

      • Yeah it was one thing to have it in a dream sequence (which at the time was like whoa, they went there?!?!?). You’d think that was signaling it would happen for real….and nope. Nothing else. How can that possibly be?? It’s still mind boggling. They will reference all the things they supposedly do (like Brennan about the bathtub) but we never ever ever get to see a hint of it. We don’t even need to see anything X rated, but a similar scene to the dream sequence…would be fine! And nice to see once they ACTUALLY got together! Sheesh.

  13. I am leaving for vacation tomorrow for a week! I won’t be able to watch Bones episode The Steel in the Wheels until the following Monday. I will be following this thread though from Putna Cana! Sun, sand & surf, here i come!! 🙂

  14. So according to Ted Peterson on twitter, there won’t be anything special happening for the end of Bones…no retrospective show, no interviews, zilch.

    Not really a surprise but so, so disappointing.

  15. I suppose it would be out of character for Fox to suddenly care about Bones! But I agree it’s disappointing.

  16. I wish we could force MP and JC to host a Bones Town Hall meeting like the politicians do, where we could throw questions at them and make them answer us. lol We’d have to make sure enough of us were there to counteract the Bones Bots.

    • I have SO MANY questions that I would love AN HONEST ANSWER to, and not just the usual mush-mouth gobbledegook interviews! But I want HH and SN there to face the music, too!

      I HAVE QUESTIONS.

  17. My question is why not even ONE kiss this season?? Why no romance at all between B&B? MP & JC must be adverse to any affection.

  18. Why did they kill Max? What killing Brennan’s father and the children’s grandfather/care giver bring to the story? I must have missed something…..I keep waiting, maybe this week will they tell us?
    I would have different questions for HH/SN! LOL

  19. I just have one question for the new showrunners….WHY?

    Why take a show with a proven track record of success and obsessive fans that follow it whenever it is on, and decide to change it?? If you just even keep it going the same as usual, then you get the credit for a great show! But to change something at this late date makes no sense at all.

    Oh well, at least we have 9 seasons of HH’s dream. Trying to focus on that. 🙂

  20. Except for baby Hank I can happily forget that S10-S12 ever happened. I’ll just pretend that she got pregnant with Hank shortly after the wedding.

    I doubt I’ll ever re-watch S10-S12 other than a few episodes here and there…no need to revisit the gambling, Aldo’s gruesome death, Max’s death, Hodgins’ paralysis, etc…

    • Same. We’ll pretend they had an actual romantic honeymoon and that’s when we got Hank. lol We’ll also have to make some head canon up as to how baby Hank got his name, since Pops has disappeared, never to be spoken of again.

  21. So, the two questions that immediately pop to mind for HH/SN.

    1. IMO, HH resented and blamed ‘Bones’ fans for the failure of his other two shows. (Opinion based on what I remember of his pissy tweets from the time period.) I’d like to know how much of that attitude influenced his decision to ditch ‘Bones’ entirely, instead of coming back when the House-ripoff failed.

    2. Whose absymal, terrible, godawful, horrible idea was it to bring a living Marianne Booth back *AND* give her a storyline where she KNOWINGLY AND WILLINGLY abandons her two young sons to an alcoholic, abusive father, just so she can save herself???? Who decided that? What discussions took place in the writers’ room that ended with that being the best possible arc? Out of every possibility supposedly creative people could come up with (flashback, kidnapped, amnesia, genuinely remorseful – hell, ANYTHING ELSE), why that one? Why? Why??? WHY??? Yes, I’m bitter. I will always be bitter. Season 7 was iffy in a lot of ways and S8 was maddening in several more (bikini calendar? Really? Could they be anymore disrespectful and sexist?) but the news about Booth’s mother was a knife to the gut. And in the back. I still (obviously) get worked up about it. I want to put on my Argus Filch hat and yell, “I want to see some punishment!”

  22. In reply to a question on twitter about whether he would write the series finale, Hart said “Alas, I cannot due to intense personal time constraints. But my more talented and smarter pal @squarechicken will do a wonderful job.”

    I thought that was a very snarky response. I’m convinced that something bad went down between Hart and Fox, or Hart and MP/JC, or perhaps between all the involved parties.

    I do agree that he was angry about the failure of both The Finder and Backstrom. I did a little bit of research and it looks like he tried with a few other shows as well:

    The Finder (2012)
    Hart Hanson/Andrew Miller – Good Thief’s Guide adaptation at ABC (2013)
    Backstrom (2015)
    Hart Hanson/Gene Hong – Comedic crime drama about a socially inept billionaire who helps the LAPD solve crimes (2015)

    So, since Bones he hasn’t found any more success in the TV industry. He wrote a book…perhaps that will be a hit and he can develop a show based on his own novel?

    As far as “why” questions go, I have a lot of them:

    1. I agree with your questions about Mama Booth. It was a terrible storyline.

    2. Why did we get a story about Booth getting a huge (and well-deserved) promotion at the FBI, but it turned out to be a set-up? Why did we never get to see any resolution with Booth & the FBI? They shoot up his house, injury him badly, and send him to prison, but then he’s just back at his old job and apparently happy? How and why?

    3. What was the point of writing a gruesome, tortured death for Aldo? Did we get to hear how difficult it was for Booth to lose his former priest and current friend? No. Did we get any true resolution to that storyline? No.

    4. What was the point of killing Max? Did we get to hear how Booth’s death affected Max? No. Did we get to see Booth and Brennan discussing how Max’s death impacted them or their kids? No. Did we get any true resolution to Max’s story? No.

    5. Why bring back Sully, an irrelevant character from 10 years ago but not bring back Parker, who is just, you know, Booth’s son? This one still burns me. We could have had a nice family scene with Booth, Brennan, Parker, Christine, Hank, and Max all together, but no, they think it’s great storytelling to kill Max and forget about Parker.

    All I see in S10-S12 are terrible storyline choices and tragic missed opportunities. It really does make you wonder what goes on in those writers’ rooms.

  23. I can’t speak to anything in S10-12 but I do know that Missing Parker is a sore spot with a lot of people. One of my reviewers counted them up and after the wedding appearance, it took 33 episodes before Parker’s name was even mentioned again. That’s…..bizarre.

  24. Well, if they wanted to kill somebody, they should have killed Rebecca and then B&B would have had to bring Parker back for good. What did Sully do for Brennan? I got nothing out of that episode. It’s like she wouldn’t have been able to complete her father’s eulogy? I mean how did he help her? She was able to have that little conversation, saying he did bad things but he was sweet? OMG – it was beyond stupid to have tried to connect the two events. Made zero sense. To say Brennan needed Sully all the sudden after 10 years was insulting to the long time viewers.
    People are dying around Booth right and left and he’s excited about Demolition Derby? GG is there and all he talks about with the B’s is Zach? WOW – missed opportunity.
    BUT – that’s MP/JC.

    Hart is a different kettle of fish.
    Beyond the Marianne Booth story, there is the Hannah story. There were BIG issues there. They never did really tell us how Booth and the FBI made up after having their house blown up and being put in jail. The Pelant stuff got to be ridiculous. But concluding the big bad stories has never been Bones’ strong point.
    Maybe Hart is mad because these guys are ‘fixing’ the Zach story that Hart messed up?

    • I can personally speak to how easy it was to kill Rebecca off *and* get a lot of additional mileage from that storyline. *lol*

  25. Random topic – Grouping Bones fans by type!

    Over the years I’ve followed Bones on various platforms (twitter, tumbler, fanfiction.net, Bones boards, comments on Bones articles) I’ve discovered that Bones fans fall into some pretty distinct categories…five in particular come to mind. There might be more, but I really think all fans would fit into one of these broad categories:

    A. Fans who left the fandom

    Some folks just got fed up with one thing or another on Bones (Hannah, the broken engagement, Christine, the B&B marriage, Sweets’ death, the gambling storyline) and simply walked away. Or perhaps they finally got what they had been waiting for (most likely B&B’s marriage) and decided that that’s where they wanted the story to end. I think a lot of the most popular Bones fanfic writers fall into this category – a whole bunch of them didn’t survive “Hannah” and a whole bunch more lost their inspiration after B&B got married.

    B. Fans who don’t like how things are going but are sticking it out to the bitter end

    I think most people who were commenting on the IMDB board and those on this site fall into this category. We don’t always love the storyline choices (looking at you gambling story) but we’ve come this far so we might as well stay with it until the end.

    C. Fans who expect nothing and just accept what they get

    This group is fascinating to me. They argue that we have no right as fans to expect anything, that the story belongs to the creator (Hart) and the show runners and writers and all we can do is accept what they offer without complaint or walk away.

    D. Fans who LOVE.EVERY.SINGLE.EPISODE!!!!

    Another fascinating group. These folks think every episode is THE.BEST.EPISODE.EVER. I’ve seen some of these people twist themselves into unbelievable knots trying to find ways to explain away, and like, what the writers have done. I suppose this is a good way to live if you can manage it. I simply cannot. I guess these are the happy people in life, loving everything that comes their way. My only quibble with this group is when they tweet they show runners and writers and assure them that EVERYONE loves the show.

    E. Fans who want to control what everyone else is thinking or saying.

    This is the nastiest group out there. They not only want to state their own opinion (loudly and often) but they also want to control what everyone else is thinking and saying. It’s amazing to me that these folks actually think they can control multiple social media platforms and sites, but they give it a good go.

    Bones is the only show I’ve ever followed like this, and it will probably be my last, because it can be exhausting and draining and discouraging seeing all of these conflicting viewpoints. On the upside, I’ve “met” some wonderful folks through Bones and wouldn’t want to have missed out on that.

    • I think there’s a sizable number of us who would fit in Group A (i): we walked away from new episodes at some point but we’re still engaged with the early seasons to whatever moment constitutes our line in the sand. I.e., we still watch, still discuss, we’re still interested in meta, we’re still writing for it. I guess that’s actually an unforeseen benefit of a series that runs this long (arguably too long?) – even when it stops being something you want to watch, you always have something that you do/did want to watch.

      I always go back to ‘Santa in the Slush’ as the moment I went from casual fan to obsessed with B&B. “I love my gift, Booth.” “Merry Christmas, Bones.” The actual lines don’t say anything about the look on their faces, the expressions that neither one could actually see across the distance and through the snow and the darkness. That’s the moment that had me going to Netflix (this was in late season 5 for me) and binging everything, and then searching out fan groups so I could talk about it and read about it even more.

      I will also say, however, that the ‘Bones’ fandom is why I won’t ever get so involved in fandom again. While I’ve met some fabulous people and formed IRL friendships I wouldn’t have without ‘Bones’ and ‘Bones’ fanfiction, the ugly side of this fandom is a lesson I won’t forget. When I caught myself falling back into the same situation with ‘The Flash,’ I deliberately stepped back. Once burned, etc. etc. etc.

      Still, “lightning in a bottle” is a great way to describe the early part of ‘Bones.’ I’m grateful that it was captured on-screen, and that it’s still there to be enjoyed anytime we want. It reminds me of JKR’s comment about the end of the movie-verse of ‘Harry Potter.’

      “No story lives unless someone wants to listen. The stories we love best do live in us forever. So whether you come back by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

      That’s how I feel about ‘Bones.’ What I love will always be what I love, and will always be there waiting for me to enjoy it again.

      • “No story lives unless someone wants to listen. The stories we love best do live in us forever. So whether you come back by page or by the big screen, “Bones” will always be there to welcome you home.”

        I love that MJ! Thanks for sharing. That captures it perfectly 🙂

  26. Yeah I’m totally in B. The only other show I’ve ever done this with is Dancing with the Stars! Which, by the way, is starting next week lol 🙂

    I have never blogged for a show like this one. Sarah let me write a couple on BT and it was my first time doing anything like that. This is the first show I’ve created websites for 🙂

    There was something so magical about early DB and ED that just sucked me in. Almost a tangible thing. They’d look at each other singing Poco, or in a church after being buried alive, or at an Egyptian exhibit, and I couldn’t tear my eyes away. I’ve never had a show do that to me before and I haven’t found one since. Lighting in a bottle.
    _______________________
    (P.S. I have a small, fierce group of dwts fans in a fb group if y’all are interested. It’s fun, sparkly, spray tanned nonsense but it’s addicting. The world is harsh enough, watch ballroom dancing lol Also a great group is at http://www.anniebarrett.com where we live chat every episode and Annie recaps them the next day.)

  27. B. Fans who don’t like how things are going but are sticking it out to the bitter end

    Yes that is the category I am in also. I long for the B&B of past seasons but alas it is not to be and that makes me sad. As bnbailey said, early B&B were so magical that they just sucked you in. I can’t tell you how many episodes where there were scenes between them I replayed over and over and over again. Sadly the last two seasons that does not happen. There’s barely any scenes with them together much less being romantic or looking at each other in that magical way. Season ten was the last time we had any real connection with B&B. The Conspiracy in the Corpse was the last real romantic scene between B&B.

    “I couldn’t tear my eyes away. I’ve never had a show do that to me before and I haven’t found one since. Lighting in a bottle.”

    For me too, and I miss that. 😥

  28. “B. Fans who don’t like how things are going but are sticking it out to the bitter end”

    Meeeeeee me!! Am like a grapefruit that needs some B&B sugar!!

    “D. Fans who LOVE.EVERY.SINGLE.EPISODE!!!!”

    I just can’t. They don’t even discuss the narrative in critical any form. Any questions or displeasure means you are a hater!!! No.

    “E. Fans who want to control what everyone else is thinking or saying.”

    How dare you!! Rewrite this immediately. NOW *mind controls you*

    😂😂😂

  29. “There was something so magical about early DB and ED that just sucked me in. Almost a tangible thing. They’d look at each other singing Poco, or in a church after being buried alive, or at an Egyptian exhibit, and I couldn’t tear my eyes away. I’ve never had a show do that to me before and I haven’t found one since. Lighting in a bottle.”

    THIS! And when B&B are absent, the writing & plot holes are even more jarring, David & Emily’s screen chemistry & presence made everything better.

    They really are magic, I watched 100th the other day and involuntary had tears at the ending even though B&B are married with kids now it still touches me…their performance. B&B struggle is so raw & touching

  30. I’m a B – I’ll watch till the end, but I realize the best is behind and that the ‘new’ story tellers now don’t get the magic. I guess I’m still here because I respect what ED and DB have done.
    I don’t plan to ever get pulled in to internet fandoms again, but never say never! LOL I will do my best to avoid future fandoms!
    Bones is special. What ED and DB created was lightning in a bottle. And I will watch reruns and my dvd’s and still have that when I want it. I’m not bitter at this point. I can objectively look at the episodes now and compare to what it used to be and wonder wow – how new guys could have missed the target that much! LOL
    Long time fans could have done so much better! LOL
    Optimism is great, but to accept blindly what is put on air every week fascinates me; would these people just walk off a cliff if led there? LOL
    I’m enough of a Bones aficionado/historian that I feel I bring valid viewpoints to the table. So, there remains lots of questions…. I would love to get a little ‘town hall’ with HH/SN and then MP/JC.

  31. “They really are magic, I watched 100th the other day and involuntary had tears at the ending even though B&B are married with kids now it still touches me…their performance. B&B struggle is so raw & touching”

  32. That scene broke my heart. I will always believe that ED’s little shoulder bump at the end as they walked away wasn’t Brennan, it was ED and DB acknowledging the fact that they had just acted *the hell* out of that scene. Such a fabulous, emotional scene. Guh.

  33. That scene broke my heart too! The shoulder bump and her grabbing his arm and putting her head on his shoulder. I was like OMG! It was so good and emotional!

  34. Seriously!

    The next episode was heartbreaking for Booth when he danced with Brennan to Seal (kiss from a rose) at her class reunion. I don’t think Brennan knew what she was doing to him when she was holding him close during the dance.

    I also loved the scene when they were asked if they had kids yet. LOL I think Booth said “she’s had me all over the place”. If only we could see some of that now!

  35. Was a good day . #Seals

    A post shared by David Boreanaz (@dbdbo69) on

    Apparently DB *is* already filming his new show, so maybe that other photo of his arm with the American flag on his sleeve was from the set.

    This photo doesn’t look like the terrain around L.A. or anywhere in southern California, tbh. It looks like the U.S. midwest…I wonder if they are filming on location somewhere?

      • Saw some discussion of this online. Some folks seems to think that if the show gets picked up it will still be filmed in NO. I kind of agree, because there is a stark difference in appearance between NO and southern CA, and I just don’t think SEALS live/work/train in LA.

        I’m really surprised by this, tbh, because it’s obvious DB is really involved in his kid’s lives, especially hockey with his son, and I cannot imagine why he would sign on for a network series filmed outside of LA. I really expected him to go with directing or with a more limited cable series (less episodes).

        Of course, there is no guarantee it will be picked up as a series.

      • Maybe NO is were that big ass vehicle/hanger/plane was only available at the time? IDK, I honestly can’t see DB going to NO either, I guess it depends what terrain they need? Maybe interiors in LA studio, exteriors on whatever locations are required for each episode?

        I honestly thought DB would of did cable too but maybe SEALS is just 13 eps per season? Shorten seasons are more poplar these days than 22 eps

        Look at us, we have it planned and it’s not even been picked up!! 😂

  36. Ugh that’s a weird thought. DB on another show?!?!? Lol good for him!

    Thought!! What if this new show ever did a NCIS crossover, since he’s apparently in the Navy now…its possible! Then DB’s character can ask Jethro Gibbs what happened to Ralph Waite!! 🙂 🙂

  37. Interesting part of the article: “Boreanaz, coming off leading-man turns on two back-to-back hit series — Angel, which ran for five seasons on the WB, and Bones, which has aired for 12 seasons on Fox — had been on the hot list of actors sought for starring roles this broadcast pilot season. In addition to starring, Boreanaz also still serve as producer on the CBS pilot.”

    DB will “also still” be a producer. So his job was just gonna be producer only with Jim Cavieziel starring but they bumped David up into a star plus producer? Hm. I wonder what happened there?

  38. There are some JC fans that are mad, I wonder too. They say JC quit because of creative differences and he is a former seal and CBS series actor. It’s all interesting. Since there is nothing else happening.

    • Makes me wonder if DB, as producer, wanted to go a different direction than JC wanted to go. Or maybe the CBS execs were deferring too much to DB’s wishers and JC got fed up? Who knows? It’s fun to do wild speculation since there doesn’t seem to be too much Bones chatter leading up to the last episode! 🙂

  39. Yes, at least there will be something to ‘track’ as we transition to this post-bones world. Yes, one has to wonder when the drama behind the scenes in ramped up even BEFORE the filming of the pilot! Like when ABC was thinking of dropping the woman in the Castle series and just going with the guy. Sometimes drama behind the scenes doesn’t bode well and then sometimes it’s just what a project needs. Time will tell…..

    • Yeah, I am not going to get attached to the word “still” it could be just bad grammar. David was never listed as producer in the press preceding this announcement, and he would of if he was. IMO.

      Plus executive producer has the most power not producer – there is a pecking order. Jmho

  40. Waaaahhh! “post Bones world” Even though this season has been a disappointment, big time, I don’t want it to end and always had hope it would be better next episode. But Season 12 is going to end without even one B&B kiss! EVERY season since 7 they have had multiple kisses. MP & JC must have mandated no kissing.

    BTW, last night on a local cable channel, repeat of Bones Museum & Tender Chicken was on. What struck me about those episodes is how Brennan actually spoke and acted normal!!!! Not to mention all the looks and tender moments between B&B.

    ^I miss that!!!!!!! 😦

    • Booth’s face when he realises he can’t tell if the suspect is lying 😭 Plus B&B at the bar talking about Booth’s brain tumor, brown sugar on everything…..oh Hart, why did you leave us? 😭

  41. Reading the comments on some of the articles about DB replacing Jim Caviezel in the SEALS drama, it sounds like Caviezel was training with Navy SEALS to prep for the role. Perhaps DB is doing the same and those photos he posted on Instagram are from the training site?

    Also, I didn’t get that DB was a producer on the SEALS drama before he signed on for the lead role. I just figured they threw in the producer title to get him to sign on. I do wonder if there were really were creative differences with Caviezel or if CBS just dumped him to get DB? DB does have a fantastic track record with successful TV shows. Maybe we will get the rest of the story at some point. One speculation I read is that Caviezel won’t do heavy love scenes and maybe his departure was because of that.

    Which leads to a final, sad point…seeing DB with another lead actress is going to be difficult. Can you imagine when we start seeing him on talk show discussing his new character and not Booth? Also, I will be very sad if he ever describes a new female co-star as “the best co-star he’s ever worked with…”

    • That writer is a jerk, why waste time writing an article on an actor and a show he obviously likes to ridicule….doesn’t he have better things to write about that interest him? Must be desperate for interview hits

  42. Maybe the interviewer is jealous. DB has like the best career in Hollywood. He is steadily employed, has decent creative freedoms in the jobs he takes on, isn’t a major paparazzi draw (mostly! lol) and has decent name recognition. What’s wrong with being a well-liked, non-dramatic, fun interviewee? If I was an employer, I’d much rather have a DB than a loose cannon like Charlie Sheen.

    And of course, I disagree with the abilities thing. It is vastly difficult to play “the straight man” and support your fellow actors in an ensemble cast. And I think there is something to be said for DB’s “face work”. That man can run through 1,000 emotions in 5 seconds without saying a word, and to me that is vastly better than someone throwing a big dramatic fit. Ah well, I think people don’t take him seriously because he was once on a teen vampire show. Which is unfair, but that’s the world we live in 🙂

  43. Random comment on MP/JC: Although I’m very sad about Bones ending, I’m kind of glad that MP/JC won’t be able to do any further damage. Can you imagine what they could have done in 22 episodes, or if they were given another season?

    I seriously doubt that these two will ever get their hands on another TV show in a show running capacity, although they might find work as writers.

    I also won’t be sad to part company with the Bones bots, the Best.Episode.Ever crowd…lol.

    So, is anyone up for watching DB’s pilot and discussing it on this board?

  44. It’s understandable that DB’s fans wouldn’t care for that description but objectively, it’s true. He’s not a great actor but he’s definitely improved (I still cringe at the end of ‘Soldier on the Grave’ because he’s just sooooooo cheesy-dramatic) and he’s solid if he’s got good material to work with. There’s something to be said for being dependable and professional and, cheating on a pregnant wife notwithstanding, mostly drama-free. He’s also got the benefit of a sometimes rabid fanbase. I’m not surprised he was in demand for other shows.

    Yet another military/former military, heavy-on-the-drama, drama isn’t up my alley so even if the pilot actually makes it to air, it’s not something that will make my must-see list.

    Anything TJ Thyne does next, though, I’m in.

    • He might not be a “great” actor who could succeed on Broadway or movies, but as far as American television goes I think he ranks pretty highly. But, as you said, it’s a personal opinion.

      At the end of the day, he’s been successful in TV for 20+ years, raked in a boatload of cash, and leads a pretty nice life. I think Mr. GQ was just a tad bit jealous.

  45. It’s understandable that DB’s fans wouldn’t care for that description but objectively, it’s true. He’s not a great actor but he’s definitely improved (I still cringe at the end of ‘Soldier on the Grave’ because he’s just sooooooo cheesy-dramatic) and he’s solid if he’s got good material to work with. There’s something to be said for being dependable and professional and, cheating on a pregnant wife notwithstanding, mostly drama-free. He’s also got the benefit of a sometimes rabid fanbase. I’m not surprised he was in demand for other shows.

    Yet another military/former military, heavy-on-the-drama, drama isn’t up my alley so even if the pilot actually makes it to air, it’s not something that will make my must-see list.

    Anything TJ Thyne does next, though, I’m in.

    • Regardless of being a fan or not it was a mean spirited piece of writing. What is good or bad is subjective. Opinion isn’t set in stone.

      I don’t see the point of tearing down actors or piting them against other actors. But that is just me. * shrugs*

      • Eh. I didn’t read the article as ‘mean spirited.’ A bit snarky but I inwardly lol’d a time or two. Potato/potatoe, I guess.

  46. I agree with MJ here. It’s not really my kind of show and the female cast is really weak. But I may check in and read what you all think if CBS actually picks it up!

    “Anything TJ Thyne does next, though, I’m in.”
    I would check in on his next gig for sure.

  47. “So, is anyone up for watching DB’s pilot and discussing it on this board?”

    @estella I am in, maybe in it’s own thread or post where we can discuss any spoilers or tweets? And the people who aren’t interested in David or his future projects, can skip buy it, no harm no foul. Right? 😉

    • “@estella I am in, maybe in it’s own thread or post where we can discuss any spoilers or tweets? And the people who aren’t interested in David or his future projects, can skip buy it, no harm no foul. Right? 😉”

      Sounds good to me, as long as BnB will let us use her site!

  48. It’s not MY site, it’s OUR site, and we totally can do that. Does this mean that we have to watch Tamara’s show, too? Lol

    • Yes! We should watch these any/all of these shows and discuss:

      Unnamed Navy SEALS show – CBS – David Boreanaz
      Altered Carbon – Netflix – Tamara Taylor
      Lost In Space – Netflix – Ignacio Serricchio

  49. Well that’s nice, you guys could keep us up to date with ‘where’ Bones people are in other jobs. I stopped my Netflix way back…..I may have to pick it up again.
    You can’t even tell that’s DB under all that gear! LOL

  50. Can’t say that I need to watch where Fuentes ends up. I’m most curious about DBs new job and mildly interested in Tamara’s. I’d also try TJs next show. But I’m happy to start whatever threads are deemed necessary 🙂

  51. Well I’d watch most any of them in their next projects once I’m used to Bones being over! There will be an adjustment period for me! 🙂 I can’t stand one of the female’s cast in DB’s pilot. She was on Mad Men and grated on my nerves. She was like nails on a chalkboard for me (and others the complaints were many on boards so it wasn’t just me). So I just can’t bring myself to watch her. Maybe that is why JC left! LOL
    I mean I’d watch an entire show about the character of Cam before I’d watch that woman….that is how bad she is to me! 😉
    If she wasn’t in it, I could watch it….sounds more like something hubby would be into than me. But I need to adapt some before I’m ready to completely move on!

    • “I can’t stand one of the female’s cast in DB’s pilot. She was on Mad Men and grated on my nerves.”

      I never watched Mad Men so I don’t have any opinions on her, but I’ve read lots of negative comments about her from others. Since this is only a pilot, it’s always possible they could recast her role if it gets picked up as a series, especially if people react badly to her. I think Hart’s show “Backstrom” recast at least one role after the pilot. Of course it would be fabulous if ED ended up in the show, but I suspect she will take a long break from acting.

      Can’t wait to see what TJ and Michaela do next!

  52. I really hope TJ Thyne finds a great new role. He’s always seemed like a genuinely nice guy in his interviews so I hope he lands a new series soon.

  53. The only one I am interested in is David!

    That pic of him sure is Boothy. 🙂 It will be hard not to think of him as Booth in his new role. Lol, we’ll see if he gets to kiss any of his costars. I will be thinking he’s cheating on Brennan, but I would welcome any kisses!

Leave a Reply

