Home » Basic » The Verdict in the Story (3×13)

The Verdict in the Story (3×13)

“The Verdict in the Story”

Episode 3×13

Written By: Christopher Ambrose

Directed by: Jeannot Szwarc

verdict10

B&B are at another crime scene. Brennan laughs at Booth’s rolled-up carpet theory. Caroline arrives.

CAROLINE: I did not know she could laugh.

BOOTH: What are you doing at the crime scene?

CAROLINE: Dr. Brennan is suspended from all crime-related duties.

BOOTH: What?

BRENNAN: What? For laughing at Booth?

BOOTH: That really doesn’t bother me.

CAROLINE: We have a date for your father’s murder trial. Booth is the arresting officer. You can’t work together until it’s over.

BRENNAN: This is not necessary.

BOOTH: They don’t need to separate us.

BRENNAN: I’m very compartmentalized.

BOOTH: Very compartmentalized.

B&B break the news to Sweets at the diner that the partnership is splitting up.

BOOTH: Well, Sweets. I’m – I’m gonna miss you. It was a real pleasure working with you.

SWEETS: Really? You are?

BRENNAN: I, too, find him intriguing in a non-rigorous, pragmatically irrelevant kind of way.

BOOTH: I agree with what she said.

The Brennan/Keenan’s discuss the trial. Enter Clark who will testify.

BRENNAN: This is not Clark’s first trial.

MAX: Oh, he’s a full-grown scientist?

CLARK: I shave sir. I have a driver’s license. I’ve won a couple fist fights. I’ve saved a life. I’ve lain with woman. I’ve been hustled at pool. I’ve defied my father’s wishes. I have broken hearts and I have been heartbroken. So, by all the markers of this society, I am a grown man.

RUSS: Is he gonna talk like that at dad’s trial?What about that genius kid at your lab?

MAX: The oversized eyes and the toaster head? That guy?

CLARK: I’m sorry if my normal sized head and eyes diminish your confidence.

BRENNAN: Zack is working for the prosecution.

MAX: Okay. Welcome aboard, kid.

The squints talk, and Zack is very Zack.

verdict15

ANGELA: I hate this. I hate it.

CAM: What? Strangers on our forensic platform?

HODGINS: Ange doesn’t like that we’re on different sides.

ANGELA: All of us together and Brennan alone.

ZACK: Not alone. She’s with those African American people.

verdict16

____________________________________________________________________________________________

CAROLINE: I’m gonna say to you what I always say to you before a trial because this one is no different than any other trial.

ZACK: You’ve never said that before.

CAROLINE: What?

HODGINS: You’ve never told us that a trial is no different from any other trial.

ZACK: Which suggests that this one is different.

CAROLINE: Have you no control over these people?

CAM: None whatsoever.

Even a trial can’t break B&B’s connection across the aisle.

BRENNAN: Booth.

BOOTH: What?

BRENNAN: I could so be objective.

BOOTH: I know, Bones. Okay. Just shhhh.

JUDGE HADDOES: You two, please. Keep to your own sides of the aisle.

verdict13

____________________________________________________________________________________________

BOOTH: It might not be good coffee, but hey at least it’s lukewarm.

BRENNAN: We’re not supposed to talk.

BOOTH: We can’t talk about the case but we can talk about crappy coffee. Put the cup in front of your mouth when you talk.

verdict9

CAROLINE: No. No. Ya’ll cut that out.

BOOTH: Good luck, Bones. Oh, and remember I’m the one who gave you this delicious coffee.

BRENNAN: Why?

BOOTH: Why? Because I’m the first prosecution witness against your father.

Angela refuses to testify.

ANGELA: Friends don’t send friends’ fathers to the electric chair.

BRENNAN: Maryland uses lethal injection.

ANGELA: Well, the principle holds, sweetie.

B&B get back to whispering.

SWEETS: I obtained my undergraduate psych degree from the University of Toronto, Masters Degree in Abnormal Psychology from Temple University and my Doctorates in Clinical Psychology and Behavioral Analysis at Columbia University.

BOOTH: Doctorates? As in more than one?

SWEETS: I won simultaneous Fulbright and Rhodes scholarships to write my book, “The Art of Evolutional Profiling”-

BRENNAN: More than one scholarship too.

SWEETS: Which is what brought me to my current posting at the FBI.

BOOTH: No wonder Dr. Geeks can never hang on to a girlfriend.

SWEETS: There I do partners therapy and psychological profiling.

BRENNAN: It’s Dr. Sweets.

BOOTH: I know, Bones. I was just saying…Dr. Geeks as in geeks. Meet Dr. Geeks.

JUDGE HADDOES: Excuse me, Agent Booth? I would like you to switch seats with Dr. Saroyan. You, Dr. Brennan, please switch seats with your brother.

BRENNAN: Why?

JUDGE HADDOES: You don’t whisper as quietly as you think you do.

BOOTH: Yeah, you know, you do whisper a little loud.

BRENNAN: You started it.

Sweets goes full-on imprinting.

SWEETS: I’m writing a book. Taking a clinical approach to efficacy and focused outcomes. You shouldn’t work well together, but you do. I’d like to study it further.

BOOTH: I don’t get it.

BRENNAN: He wants to study us.

SWEETS: Once a week, nothing changes.

BOOTH: Now why would we want to do that?

BRENNAN: I can’t think of a good reason.

SWEETS: Okay, see. That thing you do when you talk to each other while excluding the third party, namely me, its an adaptive mechanism for, uh, disparate entities to bond together against their own individual impetuses to dissociate. It’s, um, it’s what-

BOOTH: What does that mean for us?

BRENNAN: Nothing useful.

BOOTH: Tell you what. Why don’t we make a deal with him where we allow him to study us. In return, he gives us psychological profiling on demand.

SWEETS: Okay.

BRENNAN: No, you like that sort of thing but I don’t see the point.

verdict17

BOOTH & BRENNAN: He really likes us.

SWEETS: Alight, you know what. I’m sorry I made the offer. I take it back. Forget it.

BRENNAN: Sweets is pretty good in the interrogation room.

BOOTH: Yeah. Profiling on demand, interrogating back up…

BRENNAN: Well, and to be honest, I was impressed with his credentials.

BOOTH: I’ll tell him okay.

Booth provides support.

BOOTH: You liked the idea of him beating the murder charge.

BRENNAN: Yes. But he did it. We both know my father did it.

BOOTH: Bones, wanting your father to come home instead of going to prison, that’s- that’s okay.

BRENNAN: But what I do – what we do is put murders like him away.

BOOTH: Okay. You’re not Dr. Brennan today. You’re Temperance.

BRENNAN: I don’t know what that means.

BOOTH: The scientist part of you got sidelined, temporarily.

BRENNAN: I still don’t know what that means.

verdict14

BOOTH: Bones, just, take the brain, okay, put it in neutral. Alright? Take the heart – pop it into overdrive.

BRENNAN: Sometimes I think you’re from another planet.

BRENNAN: And sometimes I think you’re really very nice.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

BRENNAN: I have a way to lodge reasonable doubt in the jury.

BOOTH: We can’t talk about this.

BRENNAN: Please? You’re the person I talk to about things like this.

______________________________________________________________________________________

BOOTH: Brain and heart, Bones. Brain and heart.

They use Brennan to twist jurors’ thinking about Max. Booth takes the stand.

verdict-2 (1)

BOOTH: Could Bones have killed Kirby? Temperance Brennan – I’ve worked with this woman. I’ve stood over death with her, I’ve faced down death with her. And Sweets, he’s brilliant, he is, but he’s wrong. She could not have done this.

verdict3verdict4verdict5verdict6

*Man we are at the height of Bones’ greatness in these episodes. So much to unpack and so much to love. How each squint processes the situation. How Brennan has to struggle to compartmentalize. How Booth supports his partner throughout. How, at the end, they just hug with no words. How Booth steps back to allow Brennan to hug her dad, but doesn’t take his eyes off her, and she with him. All. The. Feels.

11 thoughts on “The Verdict in the Story (3×13)

  1. “How Booth supports his partner throughout. How, at the end, they just hug with no words. How Booth steps back to allow Brennan to hug her dad, but doesn’t take his eyes off her, and she with him. All. The. Feels.”

    Well said bnb! This episode is on my list as all time favorites. I watched it over and over!
    -The chemistry between B&B off the charts…
    -The whispers in court, Brennan telling Booth “sometimes I think you’re really nice.”
    -Their talk in the diner “You’re the person I talk to about things like this.”
    -“That’s a lot of heart Bones” The look on Booth’s face. One of my favorite scenes

    -Love the scene with Sweets. Baby Duck likes them & wants to spend time with them!
    -Brennan & Max their relationship growing.
    https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net/bones/images/2/2b/Bones_711.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20121021194827

    -The ending!! Booth leaves the courtroom before the verdict is announced to go outside and be with Brennan. Love the music that plays in the background. Your pics capture the scene beautifully and Brennan hugs Max and B&B lock eyes.

    “Man we are at the height of Bones’ greatness in these episodes”
    I could not agree more with that!! It is obvious the feelings B&B have for one another.
    The endings of these episodes…something that was sorely lacking in season 11 & 12!!
    Savor these.
    Love this episode!!! ❤️😘

  2. It’s the episodes of greatness such as this one that kept me watching through the episodes I choose to forget. MitM anyone? And the downright B and B character assassinations of season 10.

    BONES is still the only show in existence I’ve never missed an episode of. GOD I miss this show….and all the Bone heads from IMDb.

  3. Sunshyne298 aka RightBackAtYa. And my phone separated the word Bonehead in my post. I HATE when I leave a typo hanging out in the wind like that!!

    And how sad that I forgot my IMDb user name until after I posted. *sigh*

  4. Check out the scene study on Verdict from the BT board. The pictures!! Sara has great pics here.

    Scene Study: The Verdict in the Story- It Is So Beautiful How You Remain

    She asks the question in the last frame “It’s interesting to me that Booth literally walks away from this scene. Again, I’m not sure what to think of that. Does he feel like he doesn’t belong with Brennan when she’s with her family? Is he just giving her time?”

    I always thought Booth stepped back to allow Brennan to have this moment alone with Max. He did not want to intrude on their moment.

  5. “I always thought Booth stepped back to allow Brennan to have this moment alone with Max. He did not want to intrude on their moment.”

    This is what I always thought as well.

    • I tend to agree he did not want to intrude. I looked at the scene again I noticed as Brennan hugged Max, she looked directly at Booth with a huge smile. Booth only managed a slight smile in return. Although I’m sure he was happy for Bones, I wonder as the arresting officer he might not want to celebrate a ‘not guilty’ verdict on the courthouse steps.

      • ^ In reference to what Paul said, Sara from the BT board had the same take when Booth walked out of the courtroom before the verdict was read…

        “Perhaps Booth is just struggling also with what he would consider his part in getting Max off the hook, and he doesn’t want to physically see that unfold. Earlier in the episode, he and Brennan discussed how they knew Max was guilty, but that they couldn’t ‘know’ it perfectly. But I think we all know it, and I think Booth recognizes that side of himself, that he would (and has) killed for Brennan before. Perhaps Booth feels a slight twinge of guilt that his previous ‘put the brain in neutral in the heart in overdrive’ resulted in this scenario, and he wants to see what Brennan is thinking.”

Leave a comment