Home » Basic » A Night at the Bones Museum (5×5)

A Night at the Bones Museum (5×5)

“A Night at the Bones Museum”

Written By: Queen Carla Kettner & Josh Berman

Directed by: Jeannot Szwarc

We open to find another Booth-lite is interested in our girl.

night13

Girl, I thought we had this talk about “shiny baubles” distracting you!

BRENNAN: Director Hacker wants to have sex with me.

BOOTH: Oh! He said that. Wait! And it’s Assistant Director.

BRENNAN: Well, he said dinner, but the implication was clear.

BOOTH: Okay, well, all you gotta do is just turn him down. You know, be very polite and nobody gets hurt.

BRENNAN: But he is charming, good looking. Why would I turn him down?

BOOTH: Well, because he’s my boss, ok? It’d just be awkward. I’m the guy who’s gotta report to him, Bones.

Sweets interrupts a crime scene investigation with personal concerns of his own.

night12

SWEETS: Daisy and I have been talking, and she’d like another chance to prove herself as your intern.

BRENNAN: I’m aware of your concerns, and I’ll be the first to admit that Daisy is very unique.

BOOTH: Okay, let me guess, let me guess. No sex until you give her what she wants, right? Am I right?

SWEETS: I realize she has impulse control issues…

BRENNAN: She can’t stop talking. She has no sense of personal space.

SWEETS: …but I’ve been teaching her some breathing techniques, and I’m confident…

BOOTH: Guys, I got a dead body over there.

BRENNAN: Yes, I have to work, Sweets.

SWEETS: I’d consider it a personal favor, Dr. Brennan.

BOOTH: Ouch, personal favors are kind of like penalty shots. You kind of have to take ’em. Unlike dinner requests from your boss, which you are totally open to decline.

Brennan and Daisy get giddy over finding a mummy.

BRENNAN: I love ancient remains. I really do. This could be a groundbreaking find.

DAISY: We could be honored by the American Anthropological Association.

BRENNAN: Most definitely. Our picture on the front of the journal.

Meanwhile, Booth is not doing himself any favors.

HACKER: Oh, by the way, did Temperance mention that I asked her out?

BOOTH: Uh, y-yeah, I think she may have said something like that.

HACKER: I just wanted to make sure there’s nothing going on between the two of you. I wouldn’t want to get in the middle.

BOOTH: No, nothing whatsoever, sir. Strictly professional.

HACKER: Are you sure?

BOOTH: Yeah, positive.

HACKER: All right, then.

As they investigate, they find an anthropologist working on the mummy has been murdered as well. Booth is still annoyed at the Hacker thing.

BOOTH: So, I did a little checking on Hacker, by the way; 42, never been married. Just in case you’re interested.

BRENNAN: Late marriage is often an indicator of a discerning, goal-oriented individual. Why is this a problem for you, Booth?

BOOTH: Ah, because he’s my boss. That’s all. And if you’re going to go out with Hacker, then you guys are going to talk about me.

night14

BRENNAN: Why would I talk about you?

BOOTH: Because I’m what you’ve got in common.

BRENNAN: If you’re concerned that I’d discuss any perceived shortcomings –

BOOTH: Shortcomings? What shortcomings?

BRENNAN: Honestly, Booth, Andrew and I are attracted to each other. I’m sure neither of us will think of you for a second.

Brennan and Hacker go on that date.

night1

BRENNAN: Uh, Booth likes to get the meatloaf. He has them take out the hard boiled egg, because his mother used to tell him it was a human eyeball.

HACKER: I got to say – you and Booth – it’s an unlikely partnership.

BRENNAN: I prefer not to talk about Booth, if you don’t mind.

HACKER: That’s fine by me. You’re a far more interesting topic.

BRENNAN: Oh. Sorry. I’m so sorry. They need me back at the lab.

HACKER: You’re investigating a murder. That tends to take precedence over meatloaf.

Angela needs details.

ANGELA: Spill.

BRENNAN: He’s Booth’s boss’s boss. His name is Andrew.

ANGELA: Wait. This is his boss’s boss? Was Booth upset?

BRENNAN: Yes. I don’t know why.

bnight2

ANGELA: Brennan, this could screw up the natural order of things. And Booth wishes that you were going out with him.

BRENNAN: Well, I drink with him all the time but with Andrew, there’s the potential for sex.

ANGELA: And not with Booth?

night15

Just in my dreams/books….

Brennan works on the mystery of Anok but has faith that Booth can solve the current murder at the same time.

BRENNAN: Guiltless. She didn’t think that Anok killed his brother, Meti?

BOOTH: Look, no mother wants to believe her son is guilty of murder. That hasn’t changed in 3,000 years.

BRENNAN: This could change history. We now have the ability to determine Meti’s cause of death. I can have his remains brought from the Natural History Museum in New York.

BOOTH: Whoa, whoa, how’s that gonna help us catch Kaswell’s killer?

BRENNAN: Well, it won’t, but it could exonerate Anok. There can be no time limit for justice, Booth.

BOOTH: Bones, Dr. Kaswell’s killer is out there now. We’re running out of suspects.

BRENNAN: You’ll do it, Booth. You always do. I’ll call New York.

Booth gets a call from Hacker who instantly spills the beans about Brennan/eggs/meatloaf.

night16

Booth pays Brennan an office visit.

night17

BRENNAN: Why are you so upset?

BOOTH: Because… what goes on between us is ours.

BRENNAN: Come on, Booth, you must’ve told a lot of people the meatloaf story, right?

night18night19

Wrap up time!

The anthropologist was killed over the hidden ruby in Anok’s chest. Sweets and Daisy are happy that Brennan rehires her as a squintern, and you all know about B&B’s wrap up scene!

(Please visit Scene Study for the full one!)

night4night6night5

BRENNAN: I have to speak. I hate these things.

BOOTH: What are you talking about, Bones? You’re great at these things. Listen, you changed history. How many people can say that?

BRENNAN: You can. Every arrest you make changes history. You make the world safer.

BOOTH: With your help. So, Andrew…I thought you were going to take him to this thing. That’s what he told me.

BRENNAN: I was, yes, but…you and I – this was our case and I guess…what goes on between us, that should just be ours. Isn’t that what you said?

BOOTH: Yeah.

night7

His face in this moment though. Dang. 

ANGELA: Come on, you two. The Ambassador is about to speak.

night8night9night10

BOOTH: Thanks.

night11

What a beautifully crafted ending scene. Sets and acting.

Thoughts on the episode itself, and how it fits within the Bones story?

(DB definitely deserves all the face acting awards in this scene. I can’t believe what he can do with no words. Wow.)

6 thoughts on “A Night at the Bones Museum (5×5)

  1. OMG I just love this episode! And I said I’ve said before, one of the best endings with B&B.
    – I love that Booth thinks that the mummy smells like Christmas
    – it is clear that Booth is jealous of Hacker, but he keeps coming up with the reason that he’s his boss is why he does not want Brennan to go out with him.
    – Brennan was hurtful telling Booth they would not discuss his shortcomings. In fact “ neither of us will think of you for a second“. Ouch!
    – The scene when Booth comes in to Brennan’s office with the egg is one that I’ve watched over and over. She is confused by this egg and then she realizes how hurt Booth is that they discussed his mothers meatloaf. “ what goes on between us is ours“ one of the best lines from Booth ever! The hurt on his face it’s so visible and Brennan is affected by it.
    Definitely go to the scene study for this ending. I also wanted to shoot the squints when they interrupted what look like a for sure kiss. 😘. The chemistry, the looks between B&B in this end scene are so hot!! Phew.

    This episode fits into season five as it continues to show B&B moving closer as a couple. Brennan echoes Booths sentiment that what goes on between them “ that should just be ours“ Booth feels special that he she went to the event with him and not Andrew. Brennan cares about his feelings and wants him to know that. ♥️
    Season five has some of the best B&B moments and endings. It is clear how they feel about each other after season four finale.

    I will comment and post more pictures later this week as I am dealing with a power outage and I’m on my phone and not my laptop doing this!

  2. Haha, after dealing with a 3 day power outage everthing is now back on line!

    More thoughts great moments-
    -Brennan looked stunning in this episode. Season 5 she wore low cut, more revealing, and yes, sleeveless shirts! Not to mention her dress at the end. Booth I’m sure had trouble focusing on just her face!

    -Yay for the shoulder holster, HOT!!

    Booth kicking in the door, then rubs his hip, lol. He wants to impress Brennan

    -The scene where Hacker talks to Booth about Brennan in his office. Booth is clearly dazzled by her as he tells Hacker-
    BOOTH: Bones doesn’t feel the pressure to act or do or say anything that she doesn’t want to and no one, no one can make her. That what makes her… Bones.

    The other great scene/scene study is when Booth visits Brennan with “an egg”
    He is so hurt that Brennan told Hacker the story “I don’t need Hacker knowing about my mother’s meatloaf” Brennan didn’t mean to talk about it, it just “popped out”. BECAUSE she loves Booth and even on a date she can’t help but think of him. Sara said
    “She doesn’t realize just how entangled (maybe not the best word, but I can’t think of another one) her life is with Booth’s. There’s this innate context in her life that IS Booth and his life. She honestly didn’t MEAN to talk about Booth, but when asked a question, her point of reference was something that happened to also involve Booth, and so she answered as such.”

    Another MUST scene study from Sara BT Board. “It just popped out”

    Scene Study: The Night at the Bones Museum- It Just…Popped Out

    ““Because.” Booth answers. “What goes on between us is ours.”
    Yeah, and that breath I was holding? Just escaped in a whoosh. Whoa. Booth. Whoa.”

    “Now she knows. Now she knows that this guy who is great with people (in her mind) and could probably date any woman he wants has chosen to tell her. She might not know exactly why, but she can see that it’s true.”

    Phew! Read that scene study!!

    This is one of the Best Bones episodes! Chemistry off the charts.

  3. From BT board “10 Times Booth & Brennan Give Themselves Permission”

    Top Five Tuesday: 10 Times Booth & Brennan Give Themselves Permission

    “Oh, please, Brennan. Booth’s tie was already perfectly straight, and you know it. And Booth…as if you really needed to run your finger through her hair then. Come on!

    Haha…but seriously, I love that they almost literally can’t help themselves. Does anyone else feel that way? The moment they had was SO intense…TOO INTENSE FOR ONLY WORDS, which is sort of new for them. Their words and smoking eyes over a plate of fries has usually been enough, but not this time! This time, literally, Brennan had to physically do something, and so did Booth. And it’s just a fraction of permission…but it’s there.”


  4. Gah! Love this from the Scene Study BT Board

    “Booth did not really need his tie straightened, but Brennan REALLY did not need her hair…fixed or whatever. But I get it. Booth was just desperate to touch her somehow, in some way. And so he sort of just touched her hair. Instead of cupping the back of her neck and pulling her in for a dark and silky kiss that would lead to there being NOTHING between them except for…well, them, if you catch my drift!

    So yeah, he settles for the hair and remembers what it was like to really be with her in the coma dream (right? He’s imagining that, right?)”

    https://bonestheory.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/museum-50.png?w=630&h=350

Leave a comment