Home » Basic » The Man on the Fairway (1×14)

The Man on the Fairway (1×14)

fair1

Brennan:    We’ll be meeting with agents from the FAA, the NTSB, and local police.

Zach:  Usually Booth handles those people.

Brennan:   Plane crashes don’t belong to the FBI.

Zach:  Why not? FAA stands for Federal Aviation Administration. The NTSB stands for National Transportation Safety Board. That sounds Federal to me and FBI stands for Federal Bureau…

Brennan:   Zach.

Zach:  This is the third time in a row we’ve investigated without Booth. I don’t like it.

Brennan: Why? He mostly ignores you.

Zach: Ignoring me is Booth’s way of acknowledging my presence. It’s a guy thing.

 

Is that like a “guy hug” or a “partner thing”?

Zach: What makes this one of our cases?

Dyson:   I beg your pardon?

Zach: We’re kind of special. We’re elite. We don’t sort though just any set of bodies.

Dyson:  It was a state department flight with a bunch of VIP’s on board. Is that special enough?

Zach:   I apologize if I have offended you. Usually we have an FBI Agent who mediates our interpersonal encounters.

LOL!

Dr. Goodman:  The information that I’m about to tell you must not leave this room

Hodgins:    I am philosophically imposed to institutional secrecy in all its forms.

Dr. Goodman:   Fine, get out.

______________

Booth:    Okay and I’m here why?

Brennan:   Dismemberment, little bits, it’s a murder.

fair6

Booth:   Well FBI doesn’t have jurisdiction at a golf course.

Brennan:    Well who does?

Booth:  don’t know. Try the PGA. Uh huh. You know you’ve done a couple of cases without me and you miss me.

Brennan:    Zach misses you not me.

Booth:        Zach and I don’t even talk.

Brennan:    He seems to think it’s a male bonding ritual.

Booth:        Maybe he’s right?

Brennan:    No he’s not.

Booth:        Could be?

Brennan:    You told him that so you wouldn’t have to talk to him.

Booth:        Well it was nicer then shooting him.

Brennan:    Mmmm. Goodman has ordered me to investigate the other extra body.

Booth: Well then you better get on that. Next time you know, you miss me pick up the        phone call me we’ll do lunch or something.

Security Guard: Dr. Brennan, Agent Booth, you have a visitor.

Booth:        You miss me.

Brennan:    No I don’t.

Booth:        You miss me. You miss me.

fair7

____________________________

Angela:       I have a theory.

Hodgins:     Femme fatal assassin.

Zach:           Unregistered flight attendant.

Angela:       Young, beautiful girl, doesn’t appear on the in flight manifest, group of high  powered politicos.

Hodgins:     Oh.

Zach:           Wait. What? What?

Brennan:    Someone on that flight might have been doing his daughter or girl friend a favor.

Angela:       Ugh, you’re so sweet, honey. You really are.

Zach:           Oh, you think she was the in flight entertainment.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA Oh, Early Zach, you crack me up!

Zach:           You want us to defy Dr. Goodman.

Hodgins:     I’m in.

Brennan:    Not defy per say, do both jobs but keep one a secret.

Hodgins:     I’m in.

Angela:       We get it. You’re a rebel.

Hodgins:     Has anyone noticed that I was the first to offer help and apparently I’m useless.

Brennan:    Not true. You are the one that’s going to keep Goodman from finding out.

Hodgins:     I’m in.

fair2

fair10

King of the Lab

 

Meanwhile B&B are out in the field…

Brennan:   Well how much money are we talking about?

Booth:   I say we go visit  Ms. Anderson and we’ll know pretty fast if she’s a suspect.

Brennan:    How?

Booth:        How? Subtle psychological indicators, Brennan.

Brennan:    I looked those up on the internet, body language, sweat, tonal quality, shifty eyes.

Booth:   Hey you know what? I don’t go poking around your bone stuff, okay. Just leave  the human stuff to me.

__________________

Booth:        Bones, tell Jesse what happened to the victim.

Brennan:    Really?

Kane:          What?

Brennan:    It’s just that usually you tell me not to tell people.

_______________________

Brennan:    You ignore Zach to make him think that you’ve got some special bond.

Booth:        Yeah but it works doesn’t it? I’m happy. He’s happy.

Brennan:    It’s not the truth.

Booth:        But it works.

Brennan:    Zach wants to fit into the real world more then anything. You’re not helping.

________________

Booth:        I’m going off my gut. I mean what…what’s persuading you?

Brennan:    The bone fragments at the golf course, they didn’t come from Max Kane.

Booth:   That’s great. You knew that when you asked me what I thought. You testing out    my instincts, Bones?

Brennan:    Poking and prodding. I learned from the best.

fair8

Brennan, who has bonded with a suspect who’d lost his parents, has a final convo with him.

Kane:   How do you live with it?

Brennan:    What, the disappearance of my parents?

Kane:          The fact that nobody’s looking.

Brennan:    I never thought about it that way until I met you.  There’s a Zen Koan, it says that if you want to find something, you have to stop looking.

Kane:   I can’t do that. My dad’s watching and I don’t want to disappoint him again. Even if you don’t believe it, I know your parents are somewhere proud of what you do.

Brennan:    It’s not rational but, I love the thought of that.

fair9

Can you imagine Season 8-12 Brennan doing this? Feeling this?

 

Brennan goes to visit Booth at Wong Foo’s.

Booth: How did Jesse take it?

Brennan:    Like an orphan. What?

Booth: That’s just, that’s a little poetic for you.

Brennan:    I didn’t mean it that way… I want to ask you another favor.

Booth:        Oh geez, another favor.

Brennan:    I wonder if you wouldn’t mind taking a look at this.

Booth:        The file on your parents? Yeah okay.

Brennan:    Do you want to think about it? It’s a pretty big favor.

Booth:   You’d do it for me.

Brennan:    Yeah I would.

Booth:        I’m proud you asked, Temperance.

Brennan:    You’re back to ignoring Zach?

Booth:  Alright look, I know you don’t approve but you know, it works for us; it worked for   him so…

Brennan:    Yeah I get it and it, it’s kind of sweet.

Booth:        Hey, you know, your people are my people.

Brennan:    What I have people? Hey, I have people.

fair3

fair5

fair4

Then one of the great music people of Bones choose this song to play over the exit scene:

’There now, steady love, so few come and don’t go

Will you won’t you, be the one I always know?

When I’m losing my control, the city spins around

You’re the only one who knows, you slow it down”

16 thoughts on “The Man on the Fairway (1×14)

  1. “I apologize if I have offended you. Usually we have an FBI Agent who mediates our interpersonal encounters.”

    After they got rid of Zach, they kinda gave Brennan his qualities to get the ‘laugh’. imo

    Not my favorite episode, I never warmed up to the John Denver looking guy who was looking for his father. Him coming on to Brennan kinda creeped me out.

    I think Booth (like me) was kinda upset by the mind games that Jesse was playing on Brennan, by trying to connect with her. I guess I kinda saw it as Jesse trying to take advantage of Brennan. I’m glad Booth was there to intermediate.

    The Hodgins / Goodman exchange was great. I really liked Goodman such a good character. He was spouting stuff that would become Sweets’ contribution later…..

    Best parts is when Brennan wises up and says she asked the wrong person to help me and gets her parents file back from Jesse. Yes she understands how he feels, but she realizes they are also very different. It’s almost like the first time she was distracted by someone she thought was better than Booth (at least at finding things) then sees the error of her ways.

    I like the B&B car conversation….about poking and prodding. She’s appreciating how good he really is…..the cheek squeeze is a bonus.

    Then her giving her parents file to him is another bond. Her admitting he’s the right one to turn to for help. Their bond deepens. Them him gazing at a young Brennan…..wonder if he’s imaging his own ‘little Brennan to come’!! I know that’s what I think of now when I see that scene! :)))

  2. I wonder if the poking/prodding cheek pinch was a more ED/DB moment and they just kept it in? Either way its super fun to watch them grow into their characters over time!

  3. – This S1 re-watch has made me fall in love with Zach all over again. After all the Zach wars started I lost sight of who this character really was, and it’s nice to go back to the beginning and see him as he was then. I liked him.

    – I remember being annoyed with Jesse the first time I watched this, and I still was the second time through. I had already started to “ship” Booth and Brennan at that time and didn’t want Jesse to get together with Brennan.

    – The Hodgins/Zach woodchipper experiment is priceless

    – Brennan is not socially clueless in this episode…she gets the inner workings of the office politics going on and she gets Booth.

    – Dr. Goodman pretending to come down so hard on Hodgins was fantastic.

    – I loved it when Brennan told Jesse that she had asked the wrong person to help with her parents. Yes, Brennan, you should have asked your hunky FBI partner, right?

    – When Brennan is talking to Jess she says “There’s a Zen Koan, it says that if you want to find something, you have to stop looking.” Maybe this is a stretch but I feel like this statement was important beyond this episode. You could say that it applies to Booth at least…he had to stop searching for what he wanted (the perfect relationship) before he finally got it. I have some ideas on how this might apply to Brennan but might have to think about it a little further. Personally I’ve always felt that Hart planted statements like this along the ways as clues to where the story was ultimately going to go.

    – Love, love, love that end scene. Booth looks absolutely fantastic, and the conversation between Booth and Brennan is so sweet. The picture of her parents is amazing…it could be a young Ryan O’Neal, and Christine looks very much like the actress who played her in S8.

    – Confession — I love it when Booth calls her Temperance.

    – I agree bb, “I’ll Look After You”, by The Fray was perfection. That image of Booth looking at a young Brennan (his future wife) and then Brennan looking at him as she walks out of the restaurant is an iconic Bones scene, imo. The song is just perfect:

    “Oh, oh
    Be my baby
    I’ll look after you

    +++++

  4. “This S1 re-watch has made me fall in love with Zach all over again”

    I 100% agree with you. I guess I had falsely remembered Zach to be as robotic as they made Brennan become, but I think the same character assassination happened to both of them. Zach showed much more worldly awareness in this first season. He cracks jokes, he gets men vs women….he’s squinty but he’s not without some common sense.

    It’s just reemphasizes what a shame it is that they made both Zach and Brennan regress.

    • Yeah, as we have been doing this re-watch I’ve started imagining what it would have been like if Brennan had gone all the way through Bones acting like her S1-S6 character. Try to re-imagine S8-S12 scenes with S1 Brennan instead. I would have loved to have seen this tough, perceptive, with-it S1 Brennan as Christine’s mom. Sigh. So sad that we didn’t get to see that.

      I’m not saying that Brennan shouldn’t have changed at all. I get that Hart was trying to show us a Brennan who was growing and changing over the years, but by S8-S12 timeframe they had gone way beyond that into character assassination territory. Totally agree with that assessment.

  5. Well I think comparing s1 to any other season isn’t really fair. It was almost a totally different show. It was written as a serious crime drama. The subsequent seasons were much lighter. There were some heavy episodes thrown in, but nothing like season 1. Nothing was really consistent afterwards. They would hit and miss all around with story and characters. Part is that the writers all changed, the executive producers etc. AND the fact that HH really didn’t have a plan of putting B&B together. That was totally his fault, that and dragging it out too long, things got worse. I like seasons 6.5 – 9, 10 only had a couple good episodes….the gambling stuff was a HUGE downer/disappointment. The last guys just never got it. jmo

    • “Well I think comparing s1 to any other season isn’t really fair. It was almost a totally different show. It was written as a serious crime drama…Nothing was really consistent afterwards. They would hit and miss all around with story and characters.”

      Exactly, which is why I engage in a game of “what if” and imagine a show which had followed the same basic plot line but with a Booth and Brennan who acted much as they did in S1. Futile, I know, but I find it entertaining inside my own head…lol.

      For me, S6 was great after Hannah departed, S7 was hit or miss with some real duds, S8 I barely remember…I don’t think I liked it much, S9 was almost all good with lots of B&B, S10 had a few good eps but hated the gambling story, S11 and S12 were complete downers, as you say.

      “The last guys just never got it. jmo”

      Nope, they didn’t get it at all. If there really is a Bones revival I hope these guys are tied up doing something else and don’t come near it.

  6. “Her giving her parents file to him is another bond. Her admitting he’s the right one to turn to for help. Their bond deepens. Them him gazing at a young Brennan…..wonder if he’s imaging his own ‘little Brennan to come’!! I know that’s what I think of now when I see that scene! :)))”

    Yes! When I saw that ep. for the first time you could tell he had fallen in love with her. Just look how he is staring at her picture. 😘

    “– Love, love, love that end scene. Booth looks absolutely fantastic, and the conversation between Booth and Brennan is so sweet. The picture of her parents is amazing…it could be a young Ryan O’Neal, and Christine looks very much like the actress who played her in S8.

    – Confession — I love it when Booth calls her Temperance.”

    Me too Estella. Only Max & Booth could call her Temperance.

    -This makes me miss early B&B, Zach, Dr. Goodman, and going to Sids!!

    “11 and S12 were complete downers, as you say.”
    Hmm… Season 12 was the worst. Only good episode was the series finale.
    Season 11, checking the eps…
    -The Loyalty in the Lie, Brother in the Basement, Cowboy, Monster in the Closet, Movie in the Making were good. We even got a kiss in Cowboy!
    Dream come true!

  7. Then one of the great music people of Bones choose this song to play over the exit scene:

    Here is the song with the lyrics by the Fray. Enjoy! 🎵

  8. Thanks for the family picture jmg – a dream come true for sure! I wonder who DB is looking at off camera? Maybe someone peaking in their house! LOL

    “Yeah, as we have been doing this re-watch I’ve started imagining what it would have been like if Brennan had gone all the way through Bones acting like her S1-S6 character. Try to re-imagine S8-S12 scenes with S1 Brennan instead. I would have loved to have seen this tough, perceptive, with-it S1 Brennan as Christine’s mom. Sigh. So sad that we didn’t get to see that.”

    Interesting – I really need to think about this. I don’t see the s1 Brennan in the s6 Brennan at all! I have to give it some thought….but in my brain I think maybe s1 Brennan disappeared in her quest to hide her heart. Her compartmentalization required her to change over the years. Booth changing the rules (drawing his line) in s2 didn’t help matters.

    S1 Brennan so adamantly didn’t want a child. I so wish they would have addressed her change of heart. We didn’t get much at the end of s6 or the beginning of s7 – again because HH never had a plan and he was distracted and SN took over. That stupid time jump…..

  9. “Maybe someone peaking in their house! LOL”

    I always imagined Hannah was lurking in the bushes to catch a glimpse of what she could not have!!

  10. Thanks for the chuckle! Although H in the bushes kinda sounds creepy and scary! Probably trying to steal more of Brennan’s sunglasses! LOL

Leave a comment