Home » Basic » The Man in the Mud (3×10)

The Man in the Mud (3×10)

**Sorry for the late posts lately guys…family/hospital times**

Without further ado, the next episode!

Episode 3×10

Written By: Janet Tamaro

Directed by: Scott Lautanen

mud5

B&B are at a muddy crime scene.

BRENNAN: I’m going to need all of the mud.

PARK RANGER: Is she serious about the mud?

mud3

BOOTH: Heart attack, Bones. Serious as a heart attack.

Another Sweets visit!

SWEETS: Dr. Brennan, Agent Booth…would it be fair to say that you use work to avoid confronting personal issues? Do you two ever discuss anything that’s not attached to work?

BRENNAN: Well, Sweets could be right; I mean, we talk a lot about work.

mud7

BOOTH: I talk about my kid.

SWEETS: Because he was almost kidnapped during a case.

BRENNAN: Ah, my father. We talk a lot about him.

SWEETS: Because Agent Booth arrested him for murder.

BOOTH: Mm…okay, what are you trying to get at here?

SWEETS: Your inability to share your personal lives. I thought that was obvious.

BOOTH: Okay, that was snotty. I don’t respond well to snotty.

BRENNAN: After a case, sometimes, we have a drink, or coffee, Booth has pie. I don’t…like pie.

BOOTH: Aw…you really should just give it a chance.

They agree to go out with Sweets and his girlfriend as a test. Meanwhile Zach and Hodgins are working on the case with mixed results.

CAM: So. We haven’t eliminated anyone from our list of suspects. Plus, we don’t know what that’s a cross-section of, and we don’t know what caused the damage to the front of the face.  What, exactly, made you two come in here crowing “King of the Lab”?

HODGINS: I’m gonna go back and look at very small things under my very large microscope.

ZACK: I can probably identify the type of tool off this cross section.

mud9

ANGELA: Boys.

CAM: Wow.

They go on the “double date”.

 mud2

BRENNAN: You’ve done this before.

BOOTH: Nah…

BRENNAN: You have.

BOOTH: You really think that’s good?

BRENNAN: Yes, very.

mud1

Do you think Booth was purposefully downplaying his skills, or truly that insecure and not thinking he was good?

Booth interrogates a suspect in his Boothy way.

BOOTH: Your friend’s name Garth Jodrey?

TIM: How’d you know that?

BOOTH: Special Agent Seeley Booth. Special.

mud8

 

Meanwhile Sweets’ girlfriend stops by to chat.

APRIL: I, uh…wanted to talk to you, woman to woman, if that’s possible.

BRENNAN: It is possible, because we are both women.

They have a suspect, but can’t prove it, officially. Booth plans on making the arrest anyway, so that everyone at least knows who did it, even if there’s no conviction.

BRENNAN: I’m okay with what you did there.

BOOTH: Mmm…yeah, thanks a million, Bones.

BRENNAN: Don’t get mad; I’m just saying that, I just like it better when we catch ’em, and they go to jail.

BOOTH: Yeah, well, sometimes it can get messy, Bones, but the point is, it gets done.

BRENNAN: This one started out in a bit of mud and ended in a bit of mud.

BOOTH: That’s very damned poetic of you.

The duck begins to imprint.

mud4

SWEETS: Oh, hey guys. I didn’t know you’d be here.

BOOTH: Whaddya think, Bones?

BRENNAN: He’s lying.

BOOTH: Hey, Sweets…Bones and I, we’re going bowling tonight.

mud10

Oops…not yet!

BRENNAN: Yes, yes, bowling. You know what, you wanna come? To go bowling with us at the bowling rink?

BOOTH: Alley.

BRENNAN: Bowling alley. The bowling alley.

SWEETS: Do you think April was pretty?

BRENNAN: Not at all.

SWEETS: You’re lying, Dr. Brennan. I appreciate the effort; thank you.

BOOTH: Come on, Sweets, whaddya say we go bowling?

mud6

 

The case didn’t stand out for me, but lots of Bones lore really starting to take shape here. Sweets is really becoming invested in B&B and is drawn to them and their unique partnership, while Zach and Hodgins are really working on King of the Lab, and through all of it, B&B are kind of figuring themselves out a little bit more. And discussing “pie”!

*Do you think Booth was “hiding his intelligence” or actually self-conscious about creating in front of people and not wanting to be vulnerable?

*What is Sweets really seeing in B&B and what is drawing him in?

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Man in the Mud (3×10)

  1. Agree bnb! This episode is not a stand out, but there are things to like and discuss!
    -I love your pics. The one of Booth at the crime scene in that lovely blue jacket

    -Haha, “The duck begins to imprint.” “What is Sweets really seeing in B&B and what is drawing him in?” Sweets is drawn to B&B and their relationship. Why?! Perhaps in some way he views them as parents and a family he never had. B&B are too young for that, but I think Sweets wants to be part of their family. Like GordonGordon said! “Sweets wants what we all want. A family” Someone he can trust.

    -“Do you think Booth was purposefully downplaying his skills, or truly that insecure and not thinking he was good?”
    When I first saw this episode, I thought Booths clay horse was amazing! He clearly had done this before as Brennan observed. I think he was trying not to be a show off and make Brennan feel bad about her less than successful attempt at pottery. So he was downplaying his skills so as not to seem like a bragger. I think he knew he was good!!
    I liked the fact that they both agreed to go on a date with Sweets and his girlfriend.

    Love the pic of B&B at the “bowling alley”
    -“Oops…not yet!” Brennan: “This is Wanda at the bowling alley”

    Thanks for that bnb! We understand if posts are late. Summer is a busy time, life happens. Hope your family is okay.

    • I have been taking a break from Bones and am trying to catch up. I enjoy your breakdown of the episodes brings out thing that I have missed. I agree this one had some great B&B scenes.

      I felt that Booth’s horse was an unrealistic writer’s ploy to start the mud fight. I have always seen Booth as analytical rather than creative. The horse was the work of someone who was both creative and experienced. I just don’t see that in Booth.

  2. “I felt that Booth’s horse was an unrealistic writer’s ploy to start the mud fight. I have always seen Booth as analytical rather than creative.”

    Hmm…perhaps you are correct Paul. I was surprised that Booth was that skilled at pottery! I figured he must have taken a class in the past.

  3. I always enjoy this episode because of the double date! Silly me focuses on B&B first and anything else in the episode second!
    I enjoy the contrast of B&B (just partners) having a better relationship than Sweets and the girl he is actually dating. Because in reality B&B WERE a couple, just not admitting it to themselves at the time!
    I agree with Paul to a point, Booth is more analytical, but it could be that he hides his creative side because he perceives it as unmanly? We know he’s supposedly good with tools and later rebuilt their first house into something really fantastic! So that is creative!
    The mud fight is cute so much so, Sweets tries to duplicate it with his girlfriend and ends up botching it up! Again, B&B on a better wavelength!
    The ending when Booth includes Brennan on the ‘bowling’ date is nice too. He could have just taken Sweets off on his own, but he wanted Brennan there too. I enjoy that.

    Agree about Summer being busy. Hope all are well.

Leave a comment