Home » Basic » The Pain in the Heart (3×15)

The Pain in the Heart (3×15)

“The Pain in the Heart”

Episode 3×15

Written By: Hart Hanson and Stephen Nathan

Directed by: Allan Kroker

The team is preparing for Booth’s apparent funeral.

SWEETS: It’s Agent Booth’s funeral, Dr. Brennan. Losing a loved one is –

BRENNAN: A partner, Sweets. I lost a partner.

SWEETS: Someone close to you. The funeral allows you to grieve so you can come to terms with his death.

BRENNAN: The Arunta Aboriginal tribe in Australia grieve by burning down their village and – and moving to a new one. That seems no crazier to me than gathering around a hole in the ground.

ANGELA: Brennan…a word. Look. I know how you see things, and I respect that, but I need to ask you a favor. I have to go to the funeral. I’m not going to be able to get through this alone. I’ve been crying for, like, days. I really need your shoulder here. I need my best friend.

CAROLINE: I knew Seeley Booth. He was a good man who earned my respect and affection. And I don’t like many people. Booth had a selfless commitment to his work, first in the military and then the FBI. Two weeks ago, he made the ultimate sacrifice – giving his life to save his partner. And in the brave act, he showed us what greatness we are all capable of.

BRENNAN: That woman was aiming at me and I would have happily taken that bullet.

p7

ANGELA: I know.

p13p3

The weirdest plot description ever?

BOOTH: After I got shot, the Bureau faked my death so I could finally get that guy. Look, I drove him underground. He said the only way that we would ever see him again would be at my funeral, so…

Brennan, along with us, isn’t buying it.

p1

BOOTH: Bones, I’m telling you. You were supposed to know that I wasn’t really dead. I swear! That’s why I thought you weren’t crying! I gave a list of people to the bureau to inform that I was not really dead. You know what? They didn’t tell you, it’s not my fault.

SWEETS: Dr. Brennan’s actually upset because she had to face strong emotions that she’d rather deny. Striking Agent Booth, indicated the depth of your feelings for him. It was a very passionate act.

BOOTH: Did you hear that? Passion!

BRENNAN: Yes, passion, because anger is a passion! Anger at being manipulated!

Brennan gets a very creepy package in the mail.

BOOTH: Bones, it’s Gormogon. Has to be.

CAM: Oh, god. Who has he eaten this time?

Brennan needs answers.

p10

BRENNAN: I need to talk to you!

BOOTH: What the hell, Bones! I’m in my house, in my bathroom, in my bathtub! How the hell did ya get in here anyway?

BRENNAN: Well, that fake rock by your front door wouldn’t fool anybody. Why are you wearing a hat that dispenses beer?

BOOTH: Hot tub, plus cold beer equals warm beer. Hat? Equals solution. So why are you –

BRENNAN: You should have told me that you weren’t dead.

BOOTH: I already explained this to you. The bureau has to vet everyone when there is a security issue. I was just following protocol.

BRENNAN: Protocol!?

BOOTH: Yes!

BRENNAN: We’ve been partners for three years, Booth, and you’ve broken protocol before – sometimes putting my life in danger. Which makes sense because you clearly don’t have any real concern for me. BOOTH: I took a bullet for you!

BRENNAN: Once! That only goes so far!

BOOTH: Fine. What is it that I should have done, Bones? Wha- what did you want me to do? The next time I die, I promise that I will tell you.

BRENNAN: I’ll look forward to that.

BOOTH: Me too.

p11

As Zack and Hodgins work, there is an explosion.

p2

p4

Booth finds out important info.

SWEETS: Ah, tight grip you got there.

BOOTH: And it could get tighter. So go ahead. Tell her.

SWEETS: Tell her what?

BRENNAN: Tell me what?

BOOTH: Tell her now.

SWEETS: What?

BOOTH: Fine. I’ll tell her. Okay? I sent my list to the bureau. They sent it to Sweets. You were the one who decided not to tell Dr. Brennan that I was still alive. He’s the one that you should have slugged, so do it. Go ahead and do it now.

BRENNAN: What? You choose not to tell me?

SWEETS: Yes, it’s true. Technically.

BOOTH: There’s gotta be other stuff going on here, right?

SWEETS: What?

BOOTH: Come on! I mean, when I offer her a piece of pie you say it has deeper meaning.

BRENNAN: I don’t like pie, Booth.

\SWEETS: You know, I think it’s interesting, psychologically how Agent Booth’s constant efforts to persuade you to enjoy fruit pie could be interpreted as a kind of seduction.

Brennan sneaks a quick convo with Sweets.

BRENNAN: Not telling me Booth was alive? You wanted to quantify our reactions for your own research? You took advantage of us. Booth and I agreed to let you observe us. We did not agree to be used as lab rats, so you better cut it out.

SWEETS: Dr. Brennan, why are you talking so fast?

BRENNAN: Because if Booth hears why you did what you did? He’d beat you up.

B&B go to the diner.

BRENNAN: What, you’re just having coffee? Don’t you want pie?

BOOTH: I’m fine.

BRENNAN: But you always have pie.

BOOTH: Can we stop talking about pie?

BRENNAN: Is it because of what Sweets said?

BOOTH: I’m just going pie-less. Okay?

SWEETS: Can we talk for a minute? I have a profile of someone I feel could be Gormogon. No pie? You always eat pie.

BOOTH: Enough with the pie, will you just sit down?

Brennan figures it out about Zack.

BRENNAN: Zack lied.

BOOTH: Why?

BRENNAN: He – he took the teeth from bone storage and he made Gormogon’s dentures.

BOOTH: Zack has complete access to the lab. He arranged for the explosion himself.

BRENNAN: It’s Zack. He’s the killer, Booth. It’s Zack.

BOOTH: Cam. I’m gonna need the room.

p9

p6

Sweets argues that Zack should go to prison.

SWEETS: No, that won’t stand up. Zack isn’t actually insane. What?

BOOTH: Sweets? You’re gonna give this one to Bones. You understand?

SWEETS: I understand.

BOOTH: Good.

Brennan struggles with what she has given/done for Zack that was meaningful to him. Booth helps.

p8

p5

BOOTH: “Dear Mr. Addy. It is my pleasure to offer you the post of my intern in Forensic Anthropology. I choose you from hundreds of applicants because of your knowledge, your desire to learn and because I feel you will find a home here.” I think you gave him something great, Bones.

*What do you think about the whole Zack thing, especially in hindsight of the end of Bones? Did they “fix” it, are you OK with this plot point?

*What do you think about Sweets’ experiment on B&B? What do you think about Brennan pretending to agree with Sweets, then giving him a secret talking-to? Why did she protect him from Booth’s wrath? Because she actually did agree with Booth being angry at Sweets… Hm. Was she giving Sweets a second chance to keep working with them? If so, why?

3 thoughts on “The Pain in the Heart (3×15)

  1. The best thing about his weird episode is Booth looks hot in military uniform and Booth looks hot in the bathtub!
    Otherwise, this episode was obviously rushed due to the writers strike. It was hastily wrapped up and they pinned it on Zack. This never made sense to me. (And it was written by Hart & Stephen!). I never liked Zack being made to be a bad guy and mentally ill.

    -I also detested Sweets for “experimenting” with B&B’s feelings. Not telling Brennan about Booth was deceitful and just plain wrong! Wanting to study her reaction still makes my blood boil!!
    -Why did she protect him from Booth’s wrath? I think she was afraid he would shoot him, lol.
    – Haha, Booth and eating pie! In Memories, Brennan eats his pie. 🙂

    Not the best way to end the season…but on to season 4! One of my favorites.

    • I agree the end of the Gormogon arc was rushed and it was just a convenient way to write Zack off the show.

      It took me a long time to come to like Sweets. He was an entitled brat and a bully who never apologized. After thinking it over I think Brennan pretended to agree with Sweets so she could stay angry at Booth. That anger blocked any discussion of her feelings about Booth’s ‘death’.

      I agree there are several great episodes in Season 4. I tend to be hot or cold on these episodes. There are some I really did not enjoy.

Leave a comment