Home » Basic » The Bones that Foam (4×16)

The Bones that Foam (4×16)

“The Bones that Foam”

Episode 4×16 / Production 4×10

Written By: Elizabeth Benjamin

Directed by: David Boreanaz

foam1foam14

Now, back to the show 🙂

Another totally normal conversation with your co-worker at a crime scene…

bones7

Cocky.

BOOTH: Well, my guess is that this is going to put a crimp in their wedding night.

BRENNAN: Why?

BOOTH: Oh, come on, I mean coming face-to-face with death like that, kind of kills the desire don’t you think?

BRENNAN: I work with remains every day but if I’m sexually attracted to someone I’m perfectly capable of engaging in spirited…

BOOTH: Okay. Okay. Okay, Bones, I get it.

They bring the body to the lab, but things get weird…er.

foam11

VINCENT NIGEL-MURRAY: Forgive me, Doctors, but… is his skin moving?

CAM: Ohh, God, that’s strange.

BRENNAN: Insect activity?

HODGINS: Never seen insects like that. Except in Alien.

VINCENT NIGEL-MURRAY: I’m secreting adrenaline.

CAM: I guess we should see what’s inside.

BRENNAN: We all need more samples.

CAM: I know. I would just like us all to stay alive during the process.

foam6

B&B head to a car lot to investigate the murder. Cam and crew deal with continuing foam.

foam5

VINCENT NIGEL-MURRAY: The Chinese throw away 900 billion chopsticks every year.

CAM: Any relevance whatsoever?

VINCENT NIGEL-MURRAY: No, no, none. It’s, uh… I’m just…I’m a tad disoriented.

CAM: So when you spout facts, it’s your way of maintaing focus.

VINCENT NIGEL-MURRAY: Facts are the stitches that hold the fabric of existence together.

CAM: In that case, is it individual chopsticks or pairs?

VINCENT NIGEL-MURRAY: Individual.

Brennan and Sweets observe Booth as he interrogates a suspect.

BRENNAN: I want to do that.

SWEETS: Do what?

BRENNAN: Connect to people, like Booth does. You could teach me.

SWEETS: Oh, I don’t know.

BRENNAN: In the spirit of scientific inquiry, I’d like to see if what you say about psychology is true.

SWEETS: Did you just dare me, Dr. Brennan?

foam8

Yep.

B&B must investigate a strip club due to some evidence discovered in the lab.

BOOTH: Hey, Bones, look, this is the only strip club in proximity to Alex’s home and work, all right. You know what; you didn’t have to come inside with me.

BRENNAN: No, I look forward to observing your behavior.

BOOTH: My what?

BRENNAN: Sweets says you’re manipulative. Like a salesman. I want to study your technique.

BOOTH: My technique? Wait, I’m gonna smack that guy.

BRENNAN: You put people at ease, get them to do your bidding. It’s a very useful skill. One I wish my father had passed on to me.

BOOTH: All right, look, your father is a con man, I am not a con man. Let us just remember that. Okay, just watch. Don’t say anything.

BOOTH: I could just ask you a few questions here. All right, Bones, you know what? It’s a little weird that you’re here watching. Why don’t you just go outside…

STRAWBERRY LUST: It’s not weird, baby. Lots of people like to watch.

BRENNAN: Oh, thank you. I get tremendous satisfaction out of observing a whole variety of activities.

foam3

I literally just realized David had to direct this scene! lol

Brennan struggles with Sweets’ emotion-recognition training.

foam9foam10

BRENNAN: Do you think that Booth was trained like this?

SWEETS: Some people just have a natural ability. But, hey, hey, Dr. Brennan, you’re a brilliant woman. And you’ll get there, okay?

________________________

BRENNAN: Please, Booth, I’m ready.

BOOTH: One lesson with Sweets doesn’t turn you into the master interrogator.

BRENNAN: What, is master interrogator a real thing?

SWEETS: Technically, no.

BOOTH: You got to know exactly what you want to find out when you go in there.

BRENNAN: Really, if you can do it, I can.

BOOTH: Seriously. You think you can do anything I can do?

BRENNAN: Not the big, strong, physical things, but otherwise… yes.

BOOTH: Fine, be my guest. Be the big cheese. Fill the shoes.

BRENNAN: So, you had no reason to kill him.

MAUREEN PEROT: Nope.

BRENNAN: Thank you for your cooperation.

SWEETS: That’s it? Okay. I’m sorry. I’m sorry. You were right she wasn’t ready.

The team is unsure how to actually find evidence on the body. Cue Angela’s magic programs.

foam4

BRENNAN: Cam says you might be able to do a virtual examination of the body.

ANGELA: I’ve been working on a new program that uses Configuration-bias Monte Carlo method. Here are the bones currently left in the body. Now, there’s not much left, but by factoring in rate of decomposition and bone destruction from the hydrofluoric acid, I can attempt to virtually regrow the bone.

Angela also must help Brennan with her confusion.

BRENNAN: I have been to 74 interrogations with Booth- 42 in the room and 32 observing.

ANGELA: Uh-huh.

BRENNAN: I should be able to do it.

ANGELA: What, interrogate?

BRENNAN: Yes. I-I even engaged in a very interesting session with Sweets to improve my ability to manipulate people.

ANGELA: That wouldn’t work.

BRENNAN: Why not?

ANGELA: Because what Booth has, you can’t learn from baby boy shrink. Booth’s brilliant at pretending to be stupider than he actually is most of the time.

BRENNAN: Brilliant at stupidity?

ANGELA: Especially around you.

BRENNAN: Why would Booth do that?

ANGELA: Well, he knows that you like to be the smart one, so he lets you have that.

BRENNAN: You know I am smarter than Booth.

ANGELA: Okay, so maybe you should just let him have the people skills part of the job to himself then.

Booth figures out the convoluted motive in the case.

BOOTH: That’s how your sick husband kept his job. First his brother tried to help, then you.

VANESSA NEWCOMB: It was just one time. I told Jungle Jim I’d have sex with him just once if he wouldn’t fire Chet, and… my luck. Alex walked in looking to get his job back and… Alex wouldn’t listen to me. He said he was going to tell Chet and I… I couldn’t let that happen, so…

BRENNAN: So you killed him?

VANESSA NEWCOMB: Look, I love my husband.

BOOTH: Yeah, so did his brother.

Wrap up time!

BRENNAN: You haven’t said anything about my interrogation.

BOOTH: Okay, you know what? You did great, okay, better than I thought.

BRENNAN: I was terrible. 

foam13

foam2

Booth has a surprise from the car dealership.

foam12

BOOTH: Hey, driving a machine like this is like making love. You have to go gently.

Land

BRENNAN: I go more for passionate and uninhibited rather than gentle.

foam15
I think we can agree both are good!

Thoughts on this episode:

I again didn’t care about the murder/car dealership drama.

Lots of interesting tidbits though, Brennan wanting to be as good as Booth at interrogating, Brennan wanting to watch Booth’s striptease, Booth objecting at Brennan calling him a conman like her dad…B&B’s car drive at the end…!

PS. David as director!

 

3 thoughts on “The Bones that Foam (4×16)

  1. Silly episode!
    DB was like a kid in a candy store directing his first Bones episode! Fast cars, women at a strip joint…

    ^ Miss Lust said to Brennan “Your boyfriend’s shy, isn’t he? Sweet. That’ll be 60 bucks.”
    Haha, she did not correct him.

    -Mr. Nigel Murray and all his facts! I miss him.
    -B&B discuss their bill at the end-
    Booth: Just give me a ten. Brennan: But you had most of the potatoes.” LOL!

    Again, love this-
    “BRENNAN: I go more for passionate and uninhibited rather than gentle.”
    Let me add another pic

  2. Brennan was right to give Booth credit that he is smarter that her when it comes to people.

    Love the long blue coat in the end. Hot…we see it again in The Finder and Change in the Game.

Leave a comment