Home » Basic » The Devil in the Details (5×14)

The Devil in the Details (5×14)

Directed by: Ian Toynton

Written by: Michael Peterson

We interrupt this episode of Bones to give you a car commercial.

d9

BRENNAN: Notice how I’m not tailgating? Adaptive cruise control.

Back to the show. Booth is nervous.

BOOTH: Hmm-hmm. Ah, well, right now I’m more worried about a safe distance between you and me.

BRENNAN: Why?

BOOTH: Why? Because we’re going to a church and you tend to get blasphemous in churches.

BRENNAN: What, you’re afraid that if God smites me with lightning, you could get hit?

BOOTH: Yeah, I’m usually standing right beside you.

BRENNAN: The Greek god Zeus also used lightning to incinerate his enemies. Although, Zeus apparently had better aim than your God.

BOOTH: Exactly, stuff like that. Just don’t say stuff like that. All right, are we…what’s going on here? Are we going the right way?

Back to the commercial!

BRENNAN: Yes. All I had to say was, “St. Dominic’s Roman Catholic Church” into the voice activated GPS.

BOOTH: Car, could you please get us there a little faster?

BRENNAN: No, the accelerator is not voice activated. It’s foot activated, like a normal car.

BOOTH: Right.

d1

They take the body, complete with horns, back to the lab. Booth calls Sweets in.

d2

BOOTH: Well, listen, I brought Sweets along so, you know, he could sift through all the crazy-asses at the loony bin, see if any of them are homicidal.

SWEETS: I am an excellent loony bin, crazy-ass sifter.

d10

SWEETS: We’d like to ask your patients and staff if they know anything.

DR. COPELAND: Oh.

BOOTH: “Oh.” Is that a problem?

COPELAND: Staff I’m good with. The patients…these are damaged people Agent Booth. Their hold on reality is tenuous.

BRENNAN: Well that’s why we brought our own psychologist.

COPELAND: You’re Dr. Sweets?

SWEETS: Mm-hmm.

COPELAND: You sounded more experienced on the phone.

BRENNAN: He means you sounded older.

SWEETS: I know.

BOOTH: I love it.

SWEETS: It’s not that funny, Booth.

BOOTH: I think it is.

Brennan thinks she can interrogate the patients at the asylum.

d8

SWEETS: I just don’t think it’s wise to have Dr. Brennan present when we question Neviah.

BRENNAN: Well, why?

COPELAND: What if Neviah told you she was an angel, something she believes with her whole heart, how would you respond?

BRENNAN: Well, I’d tell her that angels don’t exist except, of course, in works of fiction such as the Bible and in children’s books.

SWEETS: After which all we’ll get from Neviah is argument, no answers.

BOOTH: Sweets is right, Bones, you’re out.

Brennan and the doctor have a heart-to-heart.

d3

BRENNAN: Well, so much for penetrating psychological insights.

COPELAND: Can I speak to you for a moment? I’ve listened to you take shots at my profession, and that’s okay, I’m a big boy. A tolerant man. But I want you to think about something. I spend every working hour of every day trying to help people who are living in hell. That’s an honorable way to spend a life. Perhaps more honorable than figuring out what happened to dead people who are already beyond pain and suffering.

BRENNAN: Intentions, however misguided, do count, I understand that.

COPELAND: I hope you won’t think I’m too picky when I point out that that wasn’t an actual apology. But perhaps it’s the best you can manage.

BRENNAN: I apologize, Dr. Copeland, I apologize for undervaluing your work.

Meanwhile, Hodgins gets to do a nunchuk experiment to find the murder weapon.

We get another sort of accidental death where the victim’s brother hit him with a pipe and then he got electrocuted.

d7

ERICA: But the church? The burning on the altar?

SWEETS: We all become angry at God sometimes Mrs. Lowery.

ERICA: Who could blame him? Why did God do this to my family? We were good people. And then…this.

SWEETS: I’m sorry for your pain.

ERICA: You? You can’t even imagine my pain.

de10

Sweets may have a tiny bit of an idea, Erica.

Guess what time it is? B&B wrap up!

BOOTH: You gonna ask me about God and the Devil?

BRENNAN: Yes.

BOOTH: You’re going to ask me how God could place such a burden on good people.

BRENNAN: No, I’m going to ask you how you can still believe in a kind God after a case like this.

BOOTH: Was my faith shaken? Yeah. Mm-hmm. It is.

BRENNAN: It is?

BOOTH: Yeah. I’ll go home tonight and I’ll lie in bed, and I’ll toss, and I’ll turn, and I’ll beat myself up, and uh…I’ll question everything.

BRENNAN: Will you get your faith back?

BOOTH: Always have in the past.

BRENNAN: So you have faith that you will retain your faith. Why?

BOOTH: Because, Bones, it’s…the sun will come up, and tomorrow’s a new day.

BRENNAN: I know that feeling.

BOOTH: Really?

BRENNAN: Mm-hmm.

BOOTH: You know what it feels like to get your faith back?

BRENNAN: When I see effects and I am unable to discern the cause, my faith in reason and consequences is shaken.

BOOTH: And then what happens?

BOOTH: And life is good again.

BRENNAN: Life is very good.

BOOTH: Yes it is.

de9

Well, we’re getting there! 🙂

Thoughts: I like how, in this series of episodes, Booth and Brennan are finding the commonalities between them, even though they approach things very differently. They both have faith in something– that things can be good and that people can be good.

Behind the scenes of Hodgins’ experiment! Devil in the Details: BTS

4 thoughts on “The Devil in the Details (5×14)

  1. ^ Love that pic and comment bnb- “Well, we’re getting there” THAT makes the season 5 finale and season 6 with Hannah more bearable!!

    Haha, Booth is so funny at the church.

    Booth and Brennan come to the altar-
    BOOTH: Bones, that looks like a demon. (Booth genuflects and crosses himself) Huh, you understand?
    BRENNAN: Booth, if your superstitions are getting the best of you I can continue my examination alone.
    BOOTH: I’m just saying a prayer for us to protect us from the evil, you understand? I mean, come on. Even you believe in evil…
    BOOTH: Those are real horns.
    BRENNAN: Are you okay, Booth?

    Booth is freaked out by the horns and Brennan is trying to understand.

    This case was interesting to me. Brennan also gets a new appreciation for the what tne Psychiatrist has to deal with every day at work.

    But like many Bones episodes, the real pay off is the end scene with B&B!!

    Sarah did a scene study on this ❤️😘

    Scene Study: The Devil in the Details- Life is Very Good

    ” I don’t think Booth WILL go home and toss and turn, right? At least not about his faith. I think this conversation with Brennan helps him work that out…it gives him answers instead of questions. It builds him up and he’s not beating himself up about it…they both smile, and I think Booth says “Amen”, and then Brennan laughs again. She might also be checking out how beautiful Booth looks in that black leather jacket.”

    BOOTH: “Life is good again,” he smiles.
    Brennan smiles and sort of laughs, but agrees. “Life is very good.”
    Booth smiles, “Yes it is.”

    OMG, such lovely pics!! Check it out!!!

    • “The diner (I think) is open 24 hours a day, so it’s possible B&B talk for a lot longer. I just love the idea of them doing that…spending time in ‘their’ place until they are able to have a ‘them place’. Or something like that!” Sarah writes.

      I like to wonder, how did the night end?? Did Booth get Brennan a cab and wave her goodbye, like we saw so many darn times??!! Haha, I would like to think he walked her home and kissed her goodnight, on the check probably, and said thanks for the nice evening. Maybe then gave her a “guy hug” lol.

      Life is good

Leave a comment