Home » Basic » The Death of the Queen Bee (5×17)

The Death of the Queen Bee (5×17)

Directed by: Allan Kroeker

Written by: Mark Lisson

We are about to learn more of Brennan’s background this episode!

bee1

BOOTH: I can’t believe you grew up in this area.

BRENNAN: Yes, I am an alumna of Burtonsville High.

BOOTH: Ever bring a boy out her and uh –

BRENNAN: And what? Touch his genetalia? No.

BOOTH: Whoa. ‘Kay, I was thinking that maybe just a little smooching.

BRENNAN: I used to come out here to find animals to dissect; I didn’t have a boyfriend.

BOOTH: Maybe because you were cutting up little woodland creatures, maybe?

The sheriff on the case is also an alumni and assumes Brennan is in town for the class reunion.

bee7

BOOTH: You gotta go to your reunion, Bones. We already flew all the way out here.

BRENNAN: I’m not going. High school was not a happy time. For some reason, people didn’t seem to like me.

BOOTH: Which is exactly why you have to go now. Reunions are made for you to smear your successes in other people’s faces. Your accomplishments are gonna kill ’em.

The team finds out that Brennan’s school had a creepy superstition.

BRENNAN: My senior year, a classmate was murdered and dismembered just like this.

SHERIFF CONWAY: Ribs gone.

BRENNAN: They never found the killer.

SHERIFF CONWAY: The Butcher of Burtonsville High. He’s back.

bee25

WENDELL: The Butcher of Burtonsville?

BRENNAN: That’s what we called him.

WENDELL: And he removed his victims ribs because…

BRENNAN: He eats them. Barbecue.

CAM: You don’t actually believe that.

BRENNAN: There’s no evidence of cannibalism. It’s merely an urban legend.

HODGINS: But they never found OUT who killed the girl in your class?

BRENNAN: No. Sarah Tidwyler. Booth is getting the old case files to find links.

ANGELA: So, your high school is famous, Sweetie. The earliest reported mention of The Butcher of Burtonsville was in 1956. Young people were warned to aviod secluded locations at night, as there was a lunatic who killed and dismembered his victims, then barbecued and ate their ribs.

BRENNAN: Yet, until Sarah’s murder it was just an urban legend – society’s attempt to control behavior through a fear-based myth.

Sweets has an idea!

SWEETS: Since you’re trying to keep the town from another wave of collective hysteria, I wouldn’t suggest announcing your FBI status.

BOOTH: We go undercover!

SWEETS: Exactly. You and Dr. Brennan are in the same motel?

BOOTH: Yeah, but they are not adjoining rooms. Okay, Sweets, look. They do not adjoin. See, the bathroom and I’m, uh, closer to the ice machine.

bee22

Brennan and Booth discuss her high school experience.

BOOTH: How well do you know this, uh, custodian.

BRENNAN: Very well. He used to find dead animals for me to dissect. We used to have long discussion about death. Mr. Buxley would say that it was a natural process.

BOOTH: You were Wednesday Adams.

BRENNAN: I don’t know what you’re talking about.

BOOTH: Well, in high school you had a creepy custodian as a best friend; I bet you had a pet rat, too.

BRENNAN: No. I had a mouse and a snake and some spiders.

B&B meet Brennan’s high school alumni…

BOOTH: I’m, uh, her husband. Bobby Kent. Temperance’s lesser half.

BRAD: Ah, Brad Benson. Julie Coyle. So you guys have any kids yet?

BOOTH: Oh, no. Not yet but we want a house full, right?

BRENNAN: Yes. We have intercourse every chance we get.

BOOTH: Wow. Ah, yeah. I mean, all over the place.

bee28

..including her favorite janitor!

bee23

BRENNAN: I was just telling my husband about Sarah Tidwyler. Do you remember her?

MR. BUXLEY: Folks here thought I killed her.

BRENNAN: Well, not me.

MR. BUXLEY: No. No, not you. I could always count on you. Say, ya know. I might have me a dead rabbit around here. You like to cut it open?

BRENNAN: That is so sweet.

bee27

Booth’s face says, “That’s creepy not sweet!”

SHERIFF CONWAY: It is a miracle that you have any life whatsoever.

BRENNAN: You cheated off my tests in Chemistry.

SHERIFF CONWAY: (to Booth) I could supply you a little bit of fun while you’re here because you’re probably dying with this one.

And, just as randomly as they started, Wendell and Angela are over.

bee24

WENDELL: I really, really like you, Angela.

ANGELA: I really like you too. You’re sexy and smart and good. You’re like “saint” good.

WENDELL: Well, I’m a sexy saint.

ANGELA: Hey. Do not knock that. It’s a very rare and hot combo. You have somebody out there who isn’t a duty.

WENDELL: So do you. I think we both know who.

Meanwhile, as an undercover couple, Brennan and Booth are figuring out their new normal.

BRENNAN: Oh! Can we dance? Booth?

BOOTH: What?

BRENNAN: It’s Seal.

BOOTH: Well, it’s a slow song.

BRENNAN: Oh, I’m sorry. Is that too difficult for you?

BOOTH: Oh, I just don’t want any misunderstandings, here, that’s all, Bones. I mean, ya know, we, uh, opened a door that neither one of us wants to walk though.

BRENNAN: I know. I- I just was asking to dance. Because I remembered the song. I’m sorry.

BOOTH: Nah. You know what? Hey, it’s just a dance. It’s your reunion. Okay. Let’s do it. Let’s dance. Hey. Come on.

BRENNAN: Oh. Why are you so far away?

bee5

BOOTH: You know, just keeping room for the Holy Spirit. That’s all.

The decoration stars fall.

bee10

They find out Brennan’s classmate was killed out of jealousy…with the stars.

JULIE: Brad was mine. It was my turn to have him.

BOOTH: Beg your pardon?

JULIE: Evelyn and I made a pact in High School. We got rid of Sarah because she was sleeping with Brad. We had a pact!

BRENNAN: Evelyn and you killed Sarah?

JULIE: She was sleeping with Brad! He was ours. Evvy had him first and now it was my turn to have him. She wouldn’t give him up. Where is Brad, anyway? Someone should tell him that I’m here. He’s gonna be worried about me.

The mystique of Angela continues…???

bee21

Hodgins and Wendell have a heart-to-heart about Angela’s greatness.

HODGINS: Ange, we broke up. Ya know. You did not dump me and Wendell is fine. And I gotta tell ya, I think you left him in – in better shape than you found him.

ANGELA: I don’t know about that. I mean, I’m pretty sure he was born that way.

HODGINS: Still. He is better for having known you, Angela.

ANGELA: And how can you be sure?

HODGINS: Because I’ve been there.

The team gathers for a wrap-up. Brennan still doesn’t get her lack of popularity at school.

BOOTH: Look, they didn’t dislike you, Bones, they just didn’t understand you. That’s a big difference.

BRENNAN: It didn’t bother me. I found the reunion to be quite educational. 

bee20bee15

bee16bee17bee18bee19

*Thoughts on Booth and Brennan’s undercover adventure? Did Brennan’s backstory and experiences in school make sense with her character?

*What about B&B’s prom dance? Was Brennan being “unfair” to ask Booth to dance with her? Why did Booth agree to dance?

*How did Sweets find out about B&B’s “break up”? Did Booth tell him? Did Brennan? Did he guess?

*Thoughts on Wendell/Angela/Hodgins?

5 thoughts on “The Death of the Queen Bee (5×17)

  1. My first comment won’t post! Weird! Try without links-

    When I first saw this episode, I had missed the 100th episode and had seen only 3 previous Bones episodes. I was confused about B&B’s relationship and what had happened in the previous seasons. I had assumed at one time they were a couple.

    This-
    SWEETS: No, I’m merely asking because of your feelings for Dr. Brennan..
    BOOTH: Alright, I get it. Alright, Sweets. I respect that but you know what? I’ve moved on. I already even have a date for next week.
    SWEETS: (not believing him) Oh, really? Who might that be?
    BOOTH: Thanks. Take care. (Booth closes the laptop and connection)
    SWEETS: Who might that be, Booth? Booth? Who might that be?

    I was left wondering what had gone on between them?? Did Booth really have a date? Is he moving on so quickly? I assume that Sweets found out about “B&B’s breakup” from Booth.

    I really like this episode!! Looking at Sarah’s post on the BT Board, she did not like it. I thought it was funny, but also a little heart breaking seeing Booth pretend to be Brennan’s husband. He even was wearing a wedding ring. Talk about a stab in the heart!!
    Again, heartcrushing when Booth says they want a houseful of kids. Lol, he does not know what to say when Brennan says they have intercourse any chance they get.

    As our fearless leader bnb said on her post-
    “But again, like I said yesterday, it is hard for Booth to refuse her anything, so he does it anyway. I guess he’s thinking, “at least I get to hold her”! But honestly, that scene right there makes it hard for me to watch the episode, it hurts so badly.”

    Waaaaah!!!! agreed.Brennan tearing up over Seal…out of character, but touching. Brennan then looks so happy, content dancing with Booth, not realizing how conflicted and hurt he is.

    Another comment said-
    “I love the dance scene 🙂
    For me– its like at least she is showing how much she values him in her life. As a viewer you can still see the love from both of them which I find hopeful. That’s why the end of S5 is a little more bearable than S6. There is still scenes like this one or the hot blooded one where the connection is still there.”

    Sarah hated the ending of this episode-
    “But, what really weirded me out the most about this episode was Brennan at the end, surrounded by the rest of the team. Her smile, her pearls of wisdom about friendships. What? And as Booth is sort of off to the side? What? And her laughter at the end? What was happening???? I just do not understand it. It creeps me out.”

    That is a bit harsh, IMO! It was a different side of Brennan for sure. But when I first saw this episode, and seeing again and again, it was nice to see her acting happy and not so robotic- which the worst is yet to come with that.

    Angela & Wendell were annoying IMO. Glad they broke up. But as bnb pointed out, what is it about Angela’s “greatness” ???

    Great scene pics here bnb!!!

  2. Now it worked. It would not work with my pic links for some odd reason.

    Here what I was trying to post- Brennan looks so content with her arms around Booth

Leave a comment