Home » Basic » The Doctor in the Photo (6×9)

The Doctor in the Photo (6×9)

Directed by: Ian Toynton

Written by: Carla Kettner

(aka the dream team)

A skeleton has been found in the roots of a tree. Gotta ship it all to the lab!

d3

BOOTH: Okay, that’s it! Tree back to the lab. I get it. They’re not going to like this one. Yeah, it’s Booth. Listen, I need a 24-foot flatbed. I got to transport a tree. Yeah, that’s right, a tree: T-R-E-E.

The victim appears to remind everyone of Brennan.

BRENNAN: The victim. Does she remind you of anyone?

BOOTH:…a surgeon named Dr. Lauren Eames disappeared last November. D.C. Metro missing persons investigated. The case went cold; it didn’t go anywhere. The woman was a surgeon. Single, no kids. 

As they investigate, we meet a mysterious figure.

d1

MICAH: Burning the midnight oil, Doc?

BRENNAN: Hello, Micah.

MICAH: You awake because you’re intellectually invigorated or because you’re worried?

BRENNAN: I am awake because I can’t sleep. I’m having trouble being objective regarding this case.

MICAH: I attended this lecture where this philosopher guy says that for something to be objective, it must be separate from the mind, and nothing is separate from the mind– ergo, ipso facto, Colombo, Oreo.

BRENNAN: Not all of that was real Latin, Micah.

MICAH: Maybe, for a little change, you could try solving a case without being objective.

BRENNAN: No, if there’s no such thing as objectivity, then there’s no such thing as measurement, which means that empiricism is meaningless.

MICAH: I only attended one lecture on the subject, Doc. It doesn’t make me an expert.

As Brennan continues to be affected by the case, Sweets stops in.

d27

BRENNAN: Why are you spying on me?

SWEETS: Whoa, no, Dr. Brennan, I was just waiting here so as not to startle you.

BRENNAN: Did Booth call you?

SWEETS: Would it bother you if he did?

BRENNAN: Of course. Doesn’t anybody know me at all?

SWEETS: I think we know you as much as you’ll allow. You’re a very private person and we respect that, but it has been mentioned to me several times by Booth and Dr. Saroyan and Angela that you seem to be particularly distressed by this case. Uh, would you like to discuss any of it with me? Is that the victim?

BRENNAN: What do you see?

SWEETS: What do you want me to see?

BRENNAN: Sweets, she-she’s exactly like me. I mean, look, she is me.

SWEETS: Yeah, I see.

BRENNAN: You do? Because, because Booth didn’t.

SWEETS: What I see is that you’re overidentifying with the victim. Brilliant scientist, unmarried, without children, consumed by her work. You can’t help but draw parallels to your own life.

And later…

B&B struggle to communicate as they investigate a drug connection with the case.

d25

BOOTH: Bones, why are you taking this so personally? I mean, you’re acting as though you’re the one who’s being accused of taking drugs. Temperance, are you all right?

BRENNAN: Yes, of course. I-I’m just tired. I, um… I haven’t slept in a couple of nights. Uh…I apologize.

Micah continues to consult with Brennan.

d2

BRENNAN: There’s nothing left for me to discover from the hard evidence.

MICAH: Well, that’s the whole problem with being an empiricist, right?

BRENNAN: What is?

MICAH: Eventually, you run out of things to measure and smell and count.

BRENNAN: No. There is such a thing as objective measurement, Micah. There is such a thing as actual truth.

MICAH: I heard one of these lectures about an experiment where they give guys a pair of glasses that make them see the whole world upside down. But after three days, guess what? They see everything right side up. And then they take off their glasses, and they see everything upside down again. For three days. And then, eureka! Back to normal. Yes, it takes the brain three days to adapt. Well, it seems to me you can’t trust a brain that can’t make up its mind about something as basic as which way is up.

BRENNAN: What-what else did you learn in that lecture?

MICAH: That there’s no such thing as objectivity. That we’re all just interpreting signals from the universe and trying to make sense of them. Signals from the universe. Dim, shaky, weak, staticky, little signals that only hint at the complexity of a universe that we cannot begin to comprehend. But that’s what the lecture said, anyway.

Brennan goes back to the scene of the crime and almost gets hit by a car.

a6a5a1a2a3a4

BOOTH:  Your turn.

BRENNAN: She bought the heroin for the danger of it. To feel something. She put it in her pocket. She got hit by a car. Just like I almost did. The impact explains the defensive wounds. She struck her head over there.

BOOTH: So it was the driver that buried her in the park.

BRENNAN: I can’t prove any of this. I know.

d23

BOOTH:  All right? Let me take you home. Come on.

Brennan explains an important connection to the victim and her personal relationships.

d4

BRENNAN: Anyway, the point is, she never gave him a chance. The helicopter pilot. He offered himself to her, but she never gave him a chance. That was her regret. I got the signal, Booth. I don’t want to have any regrets.

d11]

d26

BOOTH: Um… I’m with someone. Bones. And, uh, Hannah? She’s not a consolation prize. I love her. You know, the last thing I want to do is hurt you, but those are the facts.

BRENNAN: I understand. I missed my chance. My whole world turned upside down. I can adjust.

d10

BOOTH: I did.

BRENNAN: Yes, you did.

BOOTH: Do you want me to, uh, to call someone to be with you, or…?

BRENNAN: No, I’m fine alone. Thanks.

d8

We end with the mysterious Micah.

MICAH: How’d it work out?

BRENNAN: I listened to the universe. I felt something. I’m sad.

MICAH: That’s so much better than dead. Or even dead inside.

BRENNAN: You hear that in a lecture?

MICAH: I got my own story, Dr. Brennan. Just like you. Just like everybody. I got my own sad story.

Thoughts:

*Why do you think this case got to Brennan so badly? Was it because of the Hannah/Booth relationship percolating in her mind? Was it merely because of the superficial similarities she had to the victim? Both?

*Do you think Micah was real or part of Brennan’s mind?

*Did Booth handle Brennan’s revelation correctly? Should he have done/said anything differently?

6 thoughts on “The Doctor in the Photo (6×9)

  1. I found a lot worthy of discussion in this episode.

    *Why do you think this case got to Brennan so badly? Was it because of the Hannah/Booth relationship percolating in her mind? Was it merely because of the superficial similarities she had to the victim? Both?”

    IMO both. The writers started the connection early with dolphin ring and then all the life style similarities. She had been observing Booth’s and Hannah’s life together and was reaching the point where she could finally admit to herself what she was giving up. IMO: At the season’s beginning she wanted to spend time with Booth but had not yet been willing to make any commitment.

    “Do you think Micah was real or part of Brennan’s mind?”

    I’ve spent most my life as an analytical person, so the food and cab would lead me to say “real”. With a change of focus the past few years I’m now evenly balanced between analytical and creative. Thus I can see the other. How do you see it?

    I liked Micah and wished we could have seen more of his character!

    “Did Booth handle Brennan’s revelation correctly? Should he have done/said anything differently?”

    Booth values ‘honor’. Being true to his character he could not do otherwise.

  2. Now this is an episode I can watch! I had a very busy weekend and did not yet get a chance to rewatch it. This is written by our queen Carla Kettner.
    Paul I agree with your observations and assessment!
    When reviewing this I had forgotten that Booth called Brennan, Temperance in this episode.

    More tomorrow!

  3. When I first saw this episode…heartcrushing!! Brennan has big time regrets! That is why she identified with the doctor, blurred the lines of reality. She now realizes she did not give Booth a chance and now that he is with Hannah she knows she wants to be with him. I had my fingers crossed initially that Booth would dump Hannah right then and there when Brennan told him ” I missed my chance” Again, many discussions were had about Booth telling her that Hannah is not a “consolation prize”. I don’t believe him. He is trying to convince himself of that.
    But as Paul said:
    “Booth values ‘honor’. Being true to his character he could not do otherwise.”

    I do think Micah was real…not a ghost or figment of Brennan’s imagination. I also wished we had seen more of him!!! After B&B were together I would have liked to seen him have a convo. with Brennan and Booth also. I wonder what his sad story is???

    BRENNAN: I listened to the universe. I felt something. I’m sad.
    MICAH: That’s so much better than dead. Or even dead inside.

    Love this episode!! But I remember how sad I felt when first seeing it. I lost hope for a while that B&B would be together. Booth tells her “I’m with someone” when she was pouring her heart out to him…heartcrushing!!

    Booth saved Brennan’s life

  4. It seemed to me in the car scene that Booth was conflicted. IMO he was thinking about it…being with Brennan. And he felt awful about telling Brennan he was with someone. Her tears I’m sure was heartbreaking to him.

  5. I think Micah is meant to be real, but not seeing him as a recurring character adds some mystery to him.

    I agree with Paul that duty and honor is everything to Booth, so to dump Hannah as soon as Brennan decides she wants him would not be true to his character, even though he’s conflicted.

    I thought it was an interesting way to mix up the procedural format while still sticking to the formula. I remember being confused at times when I first saw it and then the ending tying it all together. It definitely kept my attention and Emily did a great job with it.

Leave a comment