Home » Basic » The Parts in the Sum of the Whole (5×16)

The Parts in the Sum of the Whole (5×16)

Written by: Hart Hanson

Directed by: David Boreanaz

part10

Brennan and Booth are discussing issues with Sweets’ book about the two of them.

SWEETS: You disagree with my conclusion that the two of you are in love and the sublimating energies of that connection are responsible for the energy, vigor and rigor that you bring to your homicide investigations.

BOOTH: I just told you, it’s not what you think..and you immediately say what you think.

BRENNAN: That’s your interpretation. We recognize your right to interpret.

SWEETS: You do?

BRENNAN: That’s your right as a psychologist to get everything wrong. I have circled some typos – other than that and the fact that the Cleo Eller murder was not our first case, you’re ready to publish.

As poor Sweets tries to process this news, we go back in time to the real 1st case!

BOOTH: Her name was Gemma Arrington. The case was going nowhere, I was at an early morning Gambler’s Anonymous meeting…

BRENNAN: Booth had a gambling problem before he met me.

BOOTH: Well, since I mostly won, it really wasn’t a problem.

We discover that somehow, this was all Cam’s doing…

ele

CAM: How’s about you get another point of view.

BOOTH: Partner up. No. You know I don’t do that.

CAM: There’s a Forensic Anthropologist, at the Jeffersonian; I read that she solved how a stone aged hunter was murdered.

BOOTH: How does that help?

CAM: If she can solve a 4,000 year old homicide, maybe she can help on Gemma Arrington. I could release the remains to her.

BOOTH: Ya know what, Cam? Uh, I’ll catch up with you later, alright. Forensics don’t solve crimes; cops do.

Booth listens to Cam and goes to meet Brennan. Then we get our magical moment.

BRENNAN: All of the important indicators are written in the bone if you look carefully.

BOOTH: So that’s your thing.

BRENNAN: Yes. I am the best in the world.

BOOTH: Oh. Okay. You’re serious.

BRENNAN: (to Sweets) He thought I was being humorous.

BOOTH: It turns out to be true.

part11

Past Hodgins and Past Zack are vying for King of the Lab even back then.

HODGINS: I’m taking the clothing.

part19

ZACK: Cause of death: The sharp symmetrical traumas to both the right and left temporal bones. You can take the clothing and leave, now.

HODGINS: Yeah? You can take the femur and shove-

We learn that Brennan and Angela are very recent acquaintances!

part5

ANGELA: But why me? I mean, we’ve only known each other a month.

BRENNAN: Well, I interacted with you at your art exhibit because I was very impressed with your command of underlying structure. You will be paid.

ANGELA: I’m in. I’m saving to go back to Paris.

BRENNAN: How much do you have saved up so far?

ANGELA: Whatever you’re gonna pay me for that skull facial murder barf making monstrosity.

Past Brennan and Past Booth meet up so Brennan can share what the team has discovered.

BRENNAN: She’s (Gemma) the murder victim?

BOOTH: Yeah. I’m sorry.

BRENNAN: Sorry for the victim?

BOOTH: No. Sorry for holding back her identity.

BRENNAN: Well, even though my time and expertise are extremely valuable, I accept your decision to test my abilities. Obviously, I passed with a lot of color.

BOOTH: Pardon?

BRENNAN: It means I did very well.

BOOTH: Oh, right.

BRENNAN: It seems to me that someone like you could benefit hugely from an association with someone like me.

BOOTH: Oh…Oh. You’re being serious. You’re serious. I was just kidding. You know, having some

fun.

BRENNAN: It is fun.

Present Brennan explains to Sweets…

BRENNAN: We were feeling each other up, like, uh, a Honeymoon period.

BOOTH: Out. We were feeling each other out.

Back in the past, we get to the heart of B&B’s philosophies.

BRENNAN: Well, feeling isn’t knowing. When you know something, you can argue fact not merely make unsupportable claims in a passionate tone.

BOOTH: You said that in a passionate tone without facts. You see, what it comes down to, it’s all about what you feel.

B&B of the past are in a groove.

part16

BOOTH: The FBI, they just have a way of doing thing.

BRENNAN: Well, anthropologically speaking, para-militaristic organizations tend to constrain individuality.

BOOTH: That’s for sure.

BRENNAN: But any group, no matter how restrictive, the free thinkers, the mavericks, rebels with leadership quality, find ways to declare their distinctiveness.

BOOTH: I’m a free thinking real rebel.

BOOTH: I’d ask you out if I could.

BRENNAN: Why can’t you?

BOOTH: Well, FBI rules, again. No fraternizing with other agents or consultants.

BRENNAN: That’s too bad.

BOOTH: Glad you think so.

Brennan punches the suspect and gets fired. Booth lets her know over drinks.

part3

BOOTH: You’re fired.

BRENNAN: Why am I fired?

BOOTH: You’re fired because you assaulted a Federal Judge.

BRENNAN: No, you thought that was hot.

BOOTH: I did. I did. It was very hot. Okay.

BRENNAN: If we don’t work together anymore, we can have sex.

part4

BOOTH: I’ll call a cab.

BOOTH: What I wanted to to confess was – see, I have a gambling problem but I’m dealing with it.

BRENNAN: Why did you feel you had to tell me that?

BOOTH: I don’t know. I just feel like, um, this is going somewhere…

BRENNAN: Why did you feel this is going somewhere?

BOOTH: I just – I feel like I’m gonna kiss you…

part9

Back in the present, Sweets’ (and our collective) brain exploded.

part20

SWEETS: My book is crap.

Back in the past, B&B are not working well post-smooch.

BRENNAN: Oh, please. Do you really think the best and brightest go into law enforcement? No, the best and brightest go to the Jeffersonian.

BOOTH: Oh, really? Because you know the one I met couldn’t pick his nose without instruction.

BRENNAN: The locking mechanism should be removed.

BOOTH: Okay, excuse me. You know what? You really need to learn how to speak to human beings.

BRENNAN: I speak six languages – two of which you’ve never even heard of.

part15

BOOTH: You know what? You’re a cold fish.

BRENNAN: You’re a superstitious moron.

BOOTH: Get a soul.

BRENNAN: Get a brain.

____

SWEETS: It’s like – it’s like you two missed your moment, then you punished each other for it and you know who ends up paying the price? Me. I do.

part14

Sweets tries to assimilate this new information. He has advice.

SWEETS: If you’re not in love, then how come you haven’t been in any serious relationships since you first met, huh?

BRENNAN: I don’t really do that.

SWEETS: One of you has to have the courage to break this stalemate. You. It’s gotta be you because you’re the gambler. For once, make that work for you.

“Nothing happens unless first a dream..” – Carl Sandburg

22

part8

BOOTH: I’m the gambler. I believe in giving this a chance. Look, I wanna give this a shot.

BRENNAN: You mean us? No. The FBI won’t let us work together as a couple-

BOOTH: Don’t do that. That is no reason why we can’t…

part2

BRENNAN: No. No.

BOOTH: Why? Why?

BRENNAN: You-you thought you were protecting me, but you’re the one who needs protecting.

part6

BOOTH: Protecting from what?

BRENNAN: From me! I – I don’t have your kind of open heart.

BOOTH: Just give it a chance..that’s all I’m asking..

BRENNAN: No, you said it yourself; the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different outcome.

part12part13

BRENNAN: I- I am not a gambler; I’m a scientist. I can’t change. I don’t know how. I don’t know how. Please don’t look so sad.

BOOTH: Alright. Okay. Yeah.

BRENNAN: Thank you.

BOOTH: But I gotta move on. I gotta find someone who’s – who’s gonna to love me in 30 years or 40 or 50.

BRENNAN: I know.

end

Literally so much to unpack in this episode.

*SO MUCH KISSING LIKE WHAT?!?!??

*At first, I was SO MAD at Brennan for rejecting Booth but I have since forgiven her. She was honestly trying to protect Booth and didn’t want him hurt…though he was hurt anyway. She genuinely figured that she’d mess things up if they tried to be together. And that’s why he accepts it so quickly, he knows she really thinks that, though he also knows she has a bigger heart than she knows.

*I’m also no longer mad at Sweets. I think it was decent advice in hindsight. Someone had to break their stalemate, and even though it took awhile, Booth’s actions forced them to change from the status quo. Sometimes in life, we have to gamble and take a chance on things. So, I’m ok with it now. 

*Poor Sweets. He thought it was a regular day in the office till B&B changed his whole world!

*Props as always to director Boreanaz. Fine work as usual. (My dad watches Seal Team. He, on his own accord, has noticed when David directs episodes and thinks they are good!)

8 thoughts on “The Parts in the Sum of the Whole (5×16)

  1. I am working this weekend and I will be watching this episode Sunday night and commenting Monday
    The ending!!! Waaaahh!!! 😢😢

  2. Booth just breaks my heart in this episode!!! Heartcrushing. His sad face 😢😢

    When I first started watching Bones in Season 5, I missed this episode. Probably a good thing. I saw Queen Bee after Blue line and wondered about B&B’s past when he talked about “opening a door that they didn’t want to go through.”

    -I love the scene when Booth says he still believes in Fate. The he says “and I still do” i and looks at Brennan…wow! Very sexy IMO.

    The heartbreak on Booth’s face in this scene also. When Brennan tells him “we’re not in love with each other” Stab in the heart!!

    BOOTH: Well, He-he still thinks that we slept together.
    BRENNAN: We’re – we’re not in love with each other. It took us a year, after we kissed, to be in the same room together, right?
    BOOTH: Oh, uh, absolutely. Right. No more kissing or anything.
    https://100daysofbones.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/74.jpg?w=510&h=288

  3. Here are two scene studies from Sarah. Great pics and insight!

    Scene Study: The Parts in the Sum of the Whole-Hear Me Out


    “I knew. Right from the beginning”

    “And right there…Booth is stuck in a conundrum he can’t solve. How do you argue a rational person’s irrationalities? She’s not seeing the truth, but she doesn’t see it that way, and there’s nothing he can do about it…
    Whatever he’s feeling, Brennan senses it. “Please don’t look so sad,” she begs.
    This kills me. There’s a flaw in her reasoning, as she might say. She doesn’t have an open heart?
    Why is she crying? Why isn’t she saying she doesn’t care about him? Why is she in tune to his emotions and expressions?
    But again…what is Booth supposed to do? I wonder if he sort of knows that if she could love anyone, it would be him.”

    For a more in depth look at the entire episode with great pics,also check out 100 days of Bones study from Sarah

    100. The Parts in the Sum of the Whole

    “Brennan doesn’t get it, and Booth explains that Sweets thinks they still slept together.
    Now…incredibly interesting response from Brennan.
    “We’re not in love with each other.”
    SO not the same thing as sleeping together, as she would normally attest. But I think that we all know, including her, that now (and maybe then), Booth and Brennan sleeping together would account for love.
    I was so intrigued by Booth’s little falter of expression there, at her words.”

    “I have never seen Booth as honest as he was when he said “thirty or forty or fifty years”
    Thirty. Forty. Fifty years. Maybe I shouldn’t have said marriage, I guess, but we all can see that Booth wants to be a one-woman man. I was so proud of him for admitting it. He says it’s always the guy who says ‘I knew’.

    And when Booth tells her “I gotta move on”

    But…take a look at Brennan’s face in that above picture. She’s not without pain here. In fact, once he says he has to move on, she doesn’t look him in the eyes again.
    She just says “I know.” That is what makes me cry the most, I think. She has kind of just been staving off the inevitable.”

    Heartcrushing!!!!!!

    All the lead up in Season 5 between B&B ends with a crashing thud!!!! This sets the stage for Hannah, UGH!!!

  4. And how hot is their kiss in the rain? I thought for sure they would end up spending the night together after that!!
    https://100daysofbones.files.wordpress.com/2010/04/49.jpg?w=510&h=281

    “This is the kind of kiss (not to get ahead of ourselves) but that 30, 40, 50 years are made of, right?
    Her closed eyes, his little boost of confidence…I loved it.”
    But I did not love Brennan driving off in that damn taxi cab by herself and Booth alone in the rain. Depressing!

    “Nothing happens unless first a dream..” – Carl Sandburg

    That is where this all began…the coma dream and Booth realizing he is in love with Brennan.

  5. *At first, I was SO MAD at Brennan for rejecting Booth but I have since forgiven her. She was honestly trying to protect Booth and didn’t want him hurt…though he was hurt anyway. She genuinely figured that she’d mess things up if they tried to be together. And that’s why he accepts it so quickly, he knows she really thinks that, though he also knows she has a bigger heart than she knows.”
    I too was very mad at Brennan for rejecting Booth! But it wasn’t the right time yet.

    https://66.media.tumblr.com/83c857265dcb13bceef0665818d14aff/tumblr_msxga1d3kH1s7ovaho6_250.gifv

    And a lot of people were mad at Sweets for pushing Booth to break the stalemate. I was never mad at him…I think he had their best interest in mind. And what we saw of B&B all of season 5 is them moving towards being a couple.

    *Props as always to director Boreanaz. Fine work as usual. (My dad watches Seal Team. He, on his own accord, has noticed when David directs episodes and thinks they are good!)

    I concur!! DB is a great director.

Leave a comment