Home » Basic » “The Science in the Physicist” (4×19)

“The Science in the Physicist” (4×19)

“The Science in the Physicist”

Episode 4×19 / Production 4×13

Airdate: April 9, 2009

Written By: Karina Csolty

Directed by: Brad Turner

As they get investigating another body, Angela is still obsessed with this celibacy thing.

ANGELA: Celibacy is a lot like fasting.

BRENNAN: So you’ve become sexually anorexic?

ANGELA: At first you’re out of sorts and agitated and then you sort of push through to a kind of clarity.

BRENNAN: Have you reached clarity?

ANGELA: No. I’m still at the agitated and horny stage.

BRENNAN: Why are you fasting sexually?

ANGELA: Sweets thinks it will do me good to put sex on the back burner in order to related to people in other…

We meet Angela’s father!

dr8

ANGELA: My father is here.

HODGINS: You’re father blames me for our break-up?

ANGELA: Well he has sort of a blind spot when it comes to me so I think you should just get out of town until I can call him off.

Hodgins and Vincent experiment.

BRENNAN: What possible information could this experiment provide us that you couldn’t get mathematically?

HODGINS: Mathematics is theory. This is a real world recreation.

BRENNAN: In order to prove what exactly?

VINCENT: That a frozen person struck by a meteorite would turn into chili con carne.

BRENNAN: NASA has no record of a meteorite of the size and type striking North America at the time of death.

HODGINS: Oh.

BRENNAN: According to NASA, the meteorite matching these characteristics is right here in D.C.

VINCENT: Oh. HODGINS: I’m all set up and everything.

BRENNAN: You’re experiment is not pertinent.

HODGINS: FIRE IN THE HOLE!!

dr5

dr1

I love how they hold hands as they run 🙂

CAM: (to Hodgins and Vincent) You know you’re grounded, right?

B&B go in the field to research. Booth has the jokes.

BEAUDETTE: Uh, no, Agent Booth. I’m doing research into generating power from earthquakes.

BOOTH: Groundbreaking.

BRENNAN: That was a funny joke.

DR. COLLAR: Have you forgiven me?

BOOTH: Forgiving him?

BRENNAN: I was turned down for a fellowship here at the institute.

COLLAR: No, no. That is not true. Your anthropological research was rejected because it looked to the past, not the future. ad etierno ad glorium ad posterus.

BRENNAN: To eternity, to glory, to the future.

BOOTH: Right. Then why say your motto in a dead, ancient language?

BRENNAN: Okay, Booth.

dr2

Hodgins talks over the Angela/father situation with his bros.

VINCENT: It’s not uncommon for men to fear that a lover’s male parent.

HODGINS: You know what creeps me out? You know that way English people say lovah.

SWEETS: You know attacking Vincent like that clearly indicates that what he said is true.

HODGINS: The man is from Texas. He told me that if I messed up…uh, I don’t remember what he said exactly but he mentioned the key G-demolish and it sounded pretty bad.

VINCENT: The blues is known as the devil’s music because those most adept are thought to have made a pact with the devil and thus fear no earthly law because they’re already doomed to eternity in hell. SWEETS: Harsh.

HODGINS: Thank you, Vincent. I feel much better now.

SWEETS: I happened to have a great deal of insight into the whole blues culture. I could talk to him for you.

HODGINS: Uh thanks. But, uh, too late.

Hodgins is dismissive over the institute that rejected Brennan.

HODGINS: Yeah. Right. “To eternity. To glory. To the future”

BRENNAN: You disapprove of the Collar Institute?

dr3

BRENNAN: Thank you.

B&B have a sweet chat.

dr10

BRENNAN: It’s just sex Booth.

BOOTH: It’s not that. Look, I’m not a prude.

BRENNAN: Well…you have what they would call hang ups.

BOOTH: You know that guy Landis?

BRENNAN: Yes.

BOOTH: He’s about to make a move on you.

BRENNAN: How do you know?

BOOTH: Because it is the rational and smart thing to do and he is all about that. I see how he looks at you.

BRENNAN: How he looks at me? He’s blind.

BOOTH: It’s too literal, Bones. His fiancé was just murdered and he’s already moving on.

BRENNAN: Well she’s gone. He has accepted it.

BOOTH: Look, good people. They leave marks on each other. The least we could do is let them fade away naturally, not you know, scrape them off, or paint over them with new marks.

BRENNAN: So you’re not a prude?

BOOTH: Moi? Hey, I am a very fun and very sexy guy. That’s right.

BRENNAN: So you just think that if two people care about each other they leave metaphorical marks which should be allowed to fade naturally?

BOOTH: You heard me but you just didn’t understand me.

BRENNAN: Yeah, I wonder that about you call the time.

B&B are trapped!

dr6dr4

BRENNAN: We have to get out of here.

BOOTH: We have to get out of here or what, we’ll explode?

BRENNAN: Booth, what we have to do here is we have to try to counter…counteract the wavelengths. BOOTH: The what?

BOOTH: It’s not working.

BRENNAN: If we stop our brains will turn to pudding.

Angela talks to her dad.

ANGELA: It was a mutual break-up.

ANGELA’S DAD: Were you hurt?

ANGELA: Dad…

ANGELA’S DAD: Could he have stopped it?

ANGELA: Yeah…Yeah…But so could I.

ANGELA’S DAD: Well, his daddy can come down…and kick your ass. I can’t do everybody’s job.

B&B figure out the personal drama that led to the murder and chat again.

dr7

BOOTH: I didn’t mean to call you creepy.

BRENNAN: You said I have a creepy mode.

BOOTH: I apologize. Okay, look, I wasn’t in my element.

BRENNAN: What? Every element is your element. (Editor’s note: AWWWWWW)

BOOTH: No, that is not true. Okay, listen. We just got to stop hanging out with geniuses because you’re going to figure out that I’m really stupid.

BRENNAN: What? Don’t worry about that. I figured out a long time ago how stupid you are.

BRENNAN: What I just said is true and yet it really sounded wrong. What I should say is I don’t care how stupid you are. It’s not any better?

BOOTH: No. No. Not at all.

BRENNAN: Well, there is intelligence that I have and Mr. Nigel-Murray.

VINCENT: Oh, thank you.

BRENNAN: And…Sweets…even though his is so misdirected as to be meaningless.

BOOTH: Right.

SWEETS: Wow, back hand full of knuckles with that compliment.

BRENNAN: And Hodgins, and Angela…not so much but she’s very talented.

ANGELA: Thank you…very much.

BRENNAN: You’re welcome. But then there’s another quality which is the ability to use intelligence. That is what you have.

BOOTH: Thanks, Bones.

ANGELA: Hey, wait a minute. Speaking of Hodgins…has anybody seen Hodgins?

dr9

3 thoughts on ““The Science in the Physicist” (4×19)

  1. So here we see in this episode, IMO, B&B are moving closer in their relationship.

    -You skipped the part where Booth gets punched in the face in the interrogation room!
    here is what BT board Sara had to say about that scene-
    “Here’s what else I love…when she totally, in public, in the FBI interrogation room, cups his face to make sure he’s okay after he gets punched in the face. And he totally, in public, in the FBI interrogation room, tells her she’s the only smart person he really likes.”

    I hope this pic shows up-

    I love B&B’s convo about good people leave marks on each other. Booth is a very fun and sexy guy!

    But then there’s another quality which is the ability to use intelligence. That is what you have-

    Brennan loves Booth’s intelligence

    -Looking for a pic of this, but when B&B are knocked unconscious they are holding hands.
    -The scene where Booth throws Brennan up against the wall, then they breathlessly look at each other, is one of the best, sexiest B&B scenes ever! Again, looking for a gif of this lovely scene.
    Sara said-
    “Seriously, I could (and do) watch the scene where he protects her up against the lab wall, over and over and over again. What I think is so telling about it is Brennan’s expression. It’s hard to capture in screencaps, but…she wants him. She is like…all about him up against all of her, am I right? Her face! She gets this little thrill, and her lips are parted, and her eyes are so wide, and her hands are on his arms…”
    Yum

    Much better episode than last week!

  2. I don’t need a flashy tie or cocky belt buckle if you’re gonna ask me straight out’

    ^From the BT Board “Booth – He’s a ‘Fun and Sexy Guy’, Don’t You Know…”

Leave a comment